We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 1st choice when staying in London”
Review of Alhambra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alhambra Hotel
Ranked #272 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

It was a joy to be welcomed back to this hotel for our recent overnight stay. The staff here are so lovely. Our requirements are: location, basic facilities with comfortable beds, clean room, good night's sleep and good breakfast. We are absolutely delighted to have found the Alhambra, which suits us in every respect, including the price. If you are looking for something a bit more 'upmarket' you could pay a lot more for rooms in London and have extra facilities & space, but for us this ticks all the boxes and is MY FIRST CHOICE.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnTour42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thanks for the positive opinion on TripAdvisor and sharing your experience.
We are happy to hear that you find us to be your FIRST CHOICE hotel in London and that you found the rooms to be very CLEAN and all staff very FRIENDLY.
We also hope to welcome you again soon at the Alhambra Hotel.
Kind Regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 2,027 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed at the Alhambra Hotel for two nights in April 2014. The check-in was quick and easy, the staff friendly. We had booked a triple room. There were one double bed and one single bed in the room. The single bed was of reasonable size, the double bed was too small! The room had it's own toilet and shower. Both were also very small.
Our room was across the street from the actual hotel, reception and breakfast room. It seems that the hotel recently expanded by adding two premises on the other side of the street. This was no problem except that the breakfast accommodation had not been expanded accordingly. Both mornings we had to wait for up to 20 minutes on the narrow stairs before we could be seated in the breakfast room which was located in the basement. Another problem was that the lady at the reception demanded that the room should be paid for while it was already paid for in advance by our travel agent.
The hotel is located close to King's Cross and St. Pancras station, while convenient this also causes some noise from the busy street.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leapfrog1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the valuable feedback.
We are sorry if you have not fully enjoyed your recent stay with us.
We take all comments seriously and we always look at ways of improving our standards.
With regards to payment and in order to facilitate the service, we normally request guest to pay on arrival.
With regards to the breakfast service, during certain periods, guests may have to wait for a table. That is why we have increased recently the breakfast service on weekends and also we advise guests that there could be some waiting time in the last 30 minutes.
Again my apologies.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I recently stayed at The Alhambra for a week. I chose it based on the price and the location, as well as positive reviews. I was NOT disappointed! It is very near the underground and train stations. The neighborhood is safe and there is shopping nearby. Although my room (a single) was tiny, it was clean and had everything I needed. Breakfasts were excellent. (I had the Continental breakfast because I generally don't eat a lot in the morning, but the English breakfast looked wonderful.) I especially appreciated the friendly service at the hotel. They were always willing to help with directions, and I could tell that they genuinely cared. I shall return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the positive feedback. It makes us happy to know that you have enjoyed staying with us, specially the FRIENDLY SERVICE.
Also that you consider the Alhambra Hotel to be of a good value with a GREAT LOCATION AND PRICE.
Hope you are able to come and stay with us in the near future.
Kind Regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here for one night after an international flight back to the UK and paid over £100 for what we were not told at the time of booking was in an annex across the road from this small-ish hotel.

The room (No2) was down a small tight staircase in the basement and we had difficulty getting suitcases through doors and into the small room where there was little space to put them, far less open them.

Outside the window of the room (which faced the street) there was a ladder lying on the ground which I took to be the means of escape in case of a fire in this annex. Hmmm, how would small children or elderly and/or obese adults be expected to negotiate this and over the top of the fence above a wall, especially in the dark and/or heavy rain, snow, sleet, hail etc - not very well I suspect.
Is that an approved means of escape?

Again, the breakfast room back across the road in the main building was small with far too many people in there. I have never experienced such a cramped breakfast or dining room.

The food was OK and the staff friendly enough though and the room was clean and I could smell fresh paint somewhere.

On booking in during the evening of the 5th March, the young man, on my enquiring, told me there were 52 rooms including the annex and that they were pretty well full that night.
At even £100 per room, this equates to somewhere between £5,000 and £6,000 and it appears from the website that many rooms are much dearer at £123, £153 and £168 so we are talking large sums of money here, even by London standards.

I know we will not be staying there again, though many will because of the location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gordon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to place a review on TripAdvisor and share your experience.
We are sorry if we have not met your expectations. As a small, independent Family Business for over 35 years, we do try hard!
With regards to the ladder found in the back yard of the hotel, may I assure you that in no way it would be a means of escape in case of a fire. All fire exits are obviously clearly visible and with signs throughout the hotel, in line with the Fire Regulations.
As we run a very succesfull family business please bear in mind that during certain times there could be a waiting time for a table, as in fact happens in many other restaurants. That is why, on check-in, we advise guests about it.
We are glad to hear that you found the LOCATION GREAT!
Again my sincere apologies.
Kind Regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed at the Alhambra Hotel for three nights in December 2013, just after Christmas. We chose Alhambra because it was about half the cost of just about any other hotel we could find on Booking.com. Yes, the toilet and shower are not in the room, but we never really had to wait on anyone to use them, the rooms are small, and there are narrow staircases and no elevators, but other than that it was clean and everything we needed for a home base for our days in London without breaking our budget. The location is great also - right near King's Cross and St. Pancras International Train Stations and their underground station as well. They serve a full English breakfast in the morning, which I would recommend (we also tried the continental breakfast, but it only had about half of the things they advertised). Even though the hotel did not feel busy, the breakfast room was always full and you may have to wait in the hall for a table, or share a table with another couple. Alhambra Hotel was everything we needed it to be for a fun London trip, and an amazing value in such an expensive city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rayland44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent feedback. It is great to hear that you found the Alhambra Hotel an amazing VALUE-FOR-MONEY hotel with CLEAN Rooms and a GREAT LOCATION. Our English Breakfast is renowned among guest reviews for being FRESH, FILLING and FAST.
Once again thank you for the positive review.
Kind Regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Was taken to London as a surprise by my wife to see a show, and we stayed in the Alhambra for one night. Lovely location, friendly staff, clean and adequate room, free wifi and a nice breakfast but we had a terrible nights sleep - we both thought that the room we were in (Room 16) was uncomfortably warm - and this was with no heating on. The windows were fully open when we checked in as well. Whether the problem came from our location in the hotel (I think we were above the kitchens) or not we don't know, but it was almost impossible to breathe in the room without having the windows fully open - and Kings Cross isn't the quietest of locations in London to have your windows open.

So, a bad nights sleep in a lovely room accompanied by police sirens and traffic noises.

Room Tip: Try to avoid room 16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoldsFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the recent feedback which means so much to us.
We are sorry if you have experienced some issues with the room temperature. There seems to be a problem with the plumbing. We are looking into it at the moment and expect to have it sorted very soon.
Kind Regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We have stayed at the Alhambra several times. It provides clean and comfortable accommodation, providing you don't have a large amount of luggage. The rooms are small but adequate for a short stay. The staff are friendly and helpful. The freshly cooked breakfast is so much better than those buffet style ones in far more expensive hotels. And, above all, the situation is great for anyone travelling to or from the Continent by train. Local transport by bus, tube or taxi is virtually on the doorstep.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hengist002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments with TripAdvisor. As a return guest it is good to know that we met your expectations once again. Great to hear that you found our staff friendly and our breakfast is generous and fresh.
We look forward to have you staying with us again soon..
Kind Regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#284 of 1,076 in London
1,768 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#562 of 1,076 in London
932 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#403 of 1,076 in London
2,027 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#137 of 1,076 in London
2,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Hotel

Address: 17-19 Argyle Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £70 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alhambra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Alhambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing