We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for St Pancras”
Review of Alhambra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alhambra Hotel
Ranked #253 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good location for St Pancras”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel at the end of April as a last minute decision to avoid a lot of hassle getting to St Pancras for a early morning Eurostar trip while the Tube Strike was on.

The staff are friendly and the room, although basic, was spotlessly clean and tidy. For the price you don't get a lot for your money - we have stayed in boutique London hotels for the same money and got a lot more frills - but they are not a few mins walk from St Pancras. So for the location the Alhambra is ideal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyC1976_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for placing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
It really means a lot to us as a small family business.
We are delighted to hear that you found the ROOM CLEAN and TIDY and that we offer a great LOCATION just next to ST.PANCRAS.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    772
    899
    231
    58
    27
See reviews for
484
703
225
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed as a couple for a 4 nights stay in early April 2014. We had a pleasant stay and were really glad to see how central the hotel was located. Just across the road from King's Cross St. Pancras St - brilliant.
The rooms were a bit tiny for fitting two persons and a couple of suitcases but it was manageable. Comfy bed with a nice and fresh bathroom.

We stayed in #22 on the top floor with a window facing a preschool schoolyard - so if you're intending to stay in your hotelroom during the day, make sure to ask for a room that is facing somewhere else.
Breakfast was decent, nothing special but served its purpose.

Friendly staff that were very helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: We stayed in #22 on the top floor with a window facing a preschool schoolyard - so if you're int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WilleFajers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to hear you found your stay satisfactory. In general rooms tend to be small in Central London Hotels but we offer a GREAT LOCATION, CLEAN ROOM AND FRIENDLY SERVICE.
Many thanks again for sharing your feedback.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Recently stayed 9 nights in a triple, ensuite room with my wife and adult child. The desk staff were friendly and helpful. The accommodations were very comfortable, though the room was small by American hotel standards. The beds were very comfortable, and the room was neat, clean, and well-maintained. We made use of the daily breakfast, and the service was prompt, friendly, and very accommodating of requests to take food away to be eaten in our room. Our room was located across a narrow and lightly traveled road from the office and breakfast room, and the walk was not a problem; I have walked farther at many other hotels in the States.

Internet service was sluggish, but adequate for Google searches for restaurants, attractions, etc., but a bit too slow to Skype with any video quality. We had trouble getting on the internet one day, but the desk staff resolved the issue immediately once notified.

The location is very convenient to the underground service, and there is a good mix of restaurants and pubs nearby.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, be sure to let them know when booking. Our room was on the basement lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgt60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us. As an independent family business for over 40 years, we try to offer a CLEAN accommodation, filling BREAKFAST together with a friendly service. We are really glad you had such a positive experience.
Again thank you for your comments.
Kind Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed here with my mom last year. I don't even know where to start. When we arrived the receptionist was unfriendly and unhelpful. We were in a building across the street separate from the main building, and far from the reception. In the evenings it just didn't feel safe. Our room was on the top floor and my mom almost fell on a few occasions while trying to drag her suitcase up the narrow stairs. The room was absolutely tiny. The bathroom was filthy and the shower screen actually was a death trap. I got stuck inside the shower as I couldn't open the screen door. The room was VERY noisy, which is understandable as we stayed in London, but there were some guests who were extremely loud, we complained but the staff didn't care. The breakfast was an absolute joke. Poor quality and the coffee made me ill. I would overlook all these negatives if the price would have been acceptable. but it was really expensive. I wish that we had stayed in the Premiere Inn a few minutes away instead. AVOID this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the feedback eventhough as you say it was a year ago in May 2013.
We are not sure if you actually stayed at the Alhambra Hotel as we have investigated this matter further and could not find any information supporting your comments.
As posted by many previous guests, we are a small independent family run B&B Hotel with CLEAN ROOMS and a filling and freshly cooked Breakfast.
Customer Service has always been our greatest success and our staff is considered FRIENDLY, HELPFUL and EFFICIENT.
We take all comments seriously and we will of course look into the issues raised with more detail.
Kind Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Whilst on a short trip to London in April 2014 I stayed two nights at Alhambra Hotel. Location to rail services was ideal. I had a single room which I was quite happy with. The bed was comfortable, although the pillows were a little on the soft side, the linen, room and en suite were all clean. The windows opened and closed easily and the hot water was hot. Breakfast was an adequate amount and this was served quickly and hot. I was particularly impressed with the receptionist who, after sorting out my problem logging onto the WiFi made the effort to come over to my room to check that it was working well. I will certainly put this establishment at the top of my list when returning to this part of London.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for the constructive commentsposted recently on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you will place us at the top of your list when coming next time to London.
We are also happy to hear that our staff was very FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL when you had issues with the WI-FI and that he came later to ensure everything was working well.
We only use FEATHER FREE pillows and therefore they tend to be a bit softer than the standard ones but we are looking at an alternative for the future.
Again many thanks for posting your comments. It really means a lot to us!
Kind Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in April 2014. Unfortunately we were give a room in the basement. The sounds from the trains was there till after midnight. Sounds from adjoining rooms were also too obvious. On a positive note,the location is very central. Breakfast was also good.

Room Tip: Do not choose rooms at the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Param2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,
As a family business for over 35 years, we welcome all comments and take them seriously.
We are glad that you are satisfied with your stay.
We offer a great LOCATION and a CLEAN ROOM, although rooms are on the small side in most central London hotels.
Again many thanks for the feedback.
Kind Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England's Green & Pleasant Locations
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

It was a joy to be welcomed back to this hotel for our recent overnight stay. The staff here are so lovely. Our requirements are: location, basic facilities with comfortable beds, clean room, good night's sleep and good breakfast. We are absolutely delighted to have found the Alhambra, which suits us in every respect, including the price. If you are looking for something a bit more 'upmarket' you could pay a lot more for rooms in London and have extra facilities & space, but for us this ticks all the boxes and is MY FIRST CHOICE.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTour42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alham1974, Manager at Alhambra Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for the positive opinion on TripAdvisor and sharing your experience.
We are happy to hear that you find us to be your FIRST CHOICE hotel in London and that you found the rooms to be very CLEAN and all staff very FRIENDLY.
We also hope to welcome you again soon at the Alhambra Hotel.
Kind Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#259 of 1,068 in London
1,746 reviews
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#383 of 1,068 in London
1,869 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#564 of 1,068 in London
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#128 of 1,068 in London
2,416 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Hotel

Property: Alhambra Hotel
Address: 17-19 Argyle Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alhambra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Alhambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing