We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value-priced charm and convenience”
Review of The Fielding Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fielding Hotel
Ranked #213 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The Fielding Hotel is excellently situated in Covent Garden -- close to Tube stations, theaters, restaurants and the lively Covent Garden Market. It is reasonably priced both for London standards and for the location.

We stayed for four nights in room 15, a double on the first floor (one above ground level) toward the back of the building. As other reviews note, there is no lift, so we only had to navigate up one flight of narrow, somewhat steep stairs and down one (also narrow) hallway. Not ideal for fatties!

When we arrived to our room, there was a fresh bouquet of red roses by the bed. They were so lovely and fresh, they didn't even look real! Also neatly displayed on the bed, were two pairs of eye shades and slippers.

The room was divided by a short set of stairs to create a bedroom above and a lower area with the bathroom and a desk with tea-making supplies, biscuits, and glass-bottled water (both mineral and still) that was replenished daily. These stairs were also narrow, but they were no problem to navigate; the lower area was well-lit, but it is further evidence that a certain amount of able-bodiedness is required to ensure your stay at The Fielding is an acceptable one.

The aforementioned bathroom was exceptional. It appeared to be recently modernized with a heated tile floor and a spacious shower. Water pressure in the shower's overhead rain showerhead was perfect -- a blessing after a long day of sightseeing! Additional niceties included a heated towel rack; an abundance of shampoo, conditioner and shower gels; and complimentary toothbrushes with mini Colgate toothpaste.

Room 15 was quiet, even with neighbors in room 14, though on some mornings -- usually no earlier than 8:30 a.m. -- we could hear the construction workers beginning their day at a nearby building. This should be but a temporary nuisance for lighter sleepers.

Overall, The Fielding Hotel provides oodles of charm and convenience for more budget-conscious, independent travelers. To put it at five stars, they would be well advised to add mini refrigerators and small in-room safes for optimal convenience. [Note, the hotel does offer use of their refrigerator for medications and a hotel safe for safekeeping of valuables, but I prefer to have more control over access to my valuables.]

Service was excellent -- from booking to check-out -- but if you are looking to be waited on hand-and-foot, expect to pay for it somewhere else, perhaps at one of the many luxury hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Room 15 was quiet and easy to access vs. higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kris_K_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you so much, this is a very helpful review for other guests and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I would just say that not all of our rooms are split level and rooms on low floors are also available if stairs might not suit, but we are really happy to do our best to accommodate those requests. Again, many thanks for taking the time to write this, kind regards, Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed in the Fielding Apartment, which is next to the Fielding Hotel from 23 Sept till 30 sept. We took a 4 persons apartment which is located on the ground floor.

Location
We love the location, less than 5 minutes walk from Covent Garden Station. Plenty of activities within 10 to 20 minutes walk.

Room
One room with two sofa sets that can be used as bed. Full kitchen facilities with a dinning table for 6 persons. Separate toilet and bath.

Price
Reasonable considering the location.

As we will be visiting London again from 31 Dec onwards, we were disappointed that it was fully booked.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wta222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I have been lucky enough to travel to London and have stayed in an array of places. The Fielding has just become my favorite. It has been on my radar for some time, but is always booked, and that should tell you something. The location cannot be beat. Though Covent Garden is more expensive, this hotel is reasonable compared to many. It has the advantage of being just a couple of blocks from the Covent Garden Tube station on the Piccadilly line which means no transfers on the tube from Heathrow. Our room was of nice size, clean, pretty, and it had everything - window, AC, fan, hairdryer, tea setup, nice lighting, private bath, outstanding shower, nice toiletries, enough towels, vanity area with desk, full length mirror, enough room for luggage, alarm clock, phone, tv, free wifi. You can borrow an iron and board, store your luggage securely, lock your passport up in their safe and even take a shower before check in. The staff is superb, especially Grace. They are always friendly and helpful and nothing seems to be a bother for them. The desk is manned 24 hours and you leave your key with them. There is a bit of street noise (it is Covent Garden, after all) which was remedied by shutting the window. It was warm in the room so we took out the fan. Then, we discovered the air conditioning! No breakfast but there are plenty of inexpensive good places nearby. We didn't appreciate their fancy neck pillows but found suitable alternative in the closet with the extra bedding. Only problem is no lift, and is not really a problem, just a chore. We rarely heard the neighboring rooms, usually only the doors once in a while. I can't wait to stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor if steps are difficult for you. No lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttm85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

This is such a lovely review, many thanks indeed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The Fielding was a great choice for our 3 night stay in London.

Positives:
1. Perfect location - close to Covet Garden, within walking distance of the sites we wanted to visit.
2. The bed was extremely comfortable.
3.The staff were very accommodating and friendly.
4. Spotlessly clean.

There are a few negatives:
1. No elevator and we were on the top floor.
2. You can hear everything - when your neighbors come/go/sneeze - really.
3. The rooms are very, very tight. We had no where to store our luggage - there wasn't even a bureau we could put a few outfits in so we were constantly juggling our luggage on the bed. The bed took up the entire room. Just enough room to barely open the bathroom door. Ironically, the bathroom was quite large and beautifully remodeled.

Overall, we did enjoy our stay at the Fielding. I wish it was a tad larger and a bit more quiet but we would recommend friends and family to stay without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night. Location is perfect in every sense. A 3 minute jaunt from the covent garden tube stop on the Piccadilly line straight from Heathrow. Opposite the royal Opera House so an ideal base for visitors attending performances there, also within easy walking distance to all the West End theatres. Surprisingly for its location it's very quiet .
Rooms on the small side but compact, well appointed and spotlessly clean. Air con and free wifi included. Complimentary bottles water and coffee tea making facilities . No breakfast included but one is spoilt for choice with so many breakfast options close by, whether its Patisserie Valerie, Pret a Manger or even Marks and Spencer's which takes tie fancy . Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unfrequentflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thanks so much for your lovely comments! We really appreciate you taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Have just returned from a one night stay with eleven friends and can honestly say this was the perfect hotel for us. Nearly booked a large chain hotel which suddenly put their prices up and happily stumbled across this absolute gem! In the heart of Covent Garden we couldn't have wished for a better location with every possible amenity on the doorstep. The rooms are all lovely with comfy beds, great showers and everything you need and more for the price we paid and it was so quiet. But the best thing about this hotel is the staff. Made my booking of five rooms with Grace and everything we needed was catered for and more, cars booked, extra beds made up, nothing too much trouble and you don't get that with large corporate hotels. And then there was Sam who was front of house on our visit. You could not wish to be greeted by a more lovely lady and again nothing too much trouble. All of us said we would stay here again and I personally cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karenevans2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you so much! We are delighted you had such a good time with us and are happy to hear the booking relieved a bit of the stress for the coordinator (it's not an easy job!) I have passed your lovely comments on to our staff and again a big thank you. Kind regards, Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

It gets so much right but there are a number of flaws. This is not a quiet hotel. Not even a little bit. There is a pub close by and the noise was audible every night. I had earplugs so this didn't bother me too much. The air con unit was a strange one. Worked a treat but was the loudest unit I've ever come across. Even off, it was prone to producing loud noises during the night. Again, i had ear plugs - cannot stress enough how helpful these were. The cupboard in the room (single room, 3rd floor) was a touch musty smelling but I just left the door open to keep it aired out, the walls really could have done with a paint and the carpets were a bit stained. Despite these negatives, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. It was comfortable in a bashed little way, it was clean and there were so many nice touches (slippers, sleep mask, mineral waters, loads of coffees, biscuits, shampoos, soaps, even toothbrushes and toothpastes, extra pillows - memory foam & regular fluffy - and extra towels). The staff was lovely, particularly the female members. Everyone had a smile for me and that goes a very long way, especially in London. They looked after my computer for me when i was out and about. The location was absolutely perfect and the price was great. I always end up feeling ripped off in London and this certainly did not happen this time. I think I would stay again if i was on my own like this time but I think if I was with my husband, I'd want something slightly spiffier.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueTattoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#29 of 1,077 in London
199 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#457 of 1,077 in London
10,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Travelodge London Covent Garden
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#257 of 1,077 in London
3,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fielding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fielding Hotel

Address: 4 Broad Court | Bow Street, London WC2B 5QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#138 Romantic Hotel in London
#143 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £115 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fielding Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Fielding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fielding Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing