We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fielding Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fielding Hotel
Ranked #169 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed at the Fielding on the 8th & 9th November, was made to feel welcome from the moment we entered the Hotel. We arrived at 11.30am but couldn't actually book in till 1pm but Grace told us that we could leave our luggage in a secure room, which gave us a chance to explore the surrounding area (Covent Garden etc) before settling in to our ground floor room. The trip was focused around a couple of trips to the theatre plus meeting up with my daughter's friends. The location of the hotel is 1st class, it's right in the heart of Theatreland, which made traveling to & from the shows extremely easy. A short walking distance to the Tube (Covent Garden & Leicester Square)

The staff were very friendly - especially the people on reception duty. Nothing was too much trouble for them, a special thank you to Sam for being so cheery, even though the weather on Friday & Saturday was dreadful she literally lit up the reception area. We knew there wasn't any food available in the hotel which to be honest didn't bother me or my daughter because there were a diverse number of eating places to pick from literally within spitting distance from the hotel. Sleeping wasn't a problem as the outside of the Fielding is pedestrianised plus we were in room 4 which was at the back of the Hotel.

We checked out early on the Sunday & again we were able to leave our luggage in the secure room until we were ready to leave for Euston in the evening. Thank you to Grace, Sam & the rest of the staff for making our weekend break that little bit extra special. No hesitation in booking again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bksreds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
What a delightful review, thank you so much. We are really pleased you enjoyed your time with us........despite the awful weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    244
    47
    19
    17
See reviews for
102
265
95
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Me and my mum have just had a 3 night getaway to London on the Sunday until Wednesday. We felt so welcome at the Fielding hotel from all the staff. We had a problem where our window wouldn't lock on the first night, we reported it, went out for some dinner and when we came back it had been resolved. We couldn't believe how efficient they were.

We was always greeted with a smile as we came in and out of the hotel, they even have a service where they can lend you a umbrella if its raining. Which in London is a very useful thing! Even though you have to check out at 11am/12pm they have a luggage room where you can store your belongings for the day if you wish, which we used as our train wasn't until 5pm. Fantastic service.

It's in a prime location, the beds are very comfortable and you can't hear any street noise.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and i will be returning soon.

:)

Room Tip: We was in room four and it was nice and peaceful :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HanskiFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
What a lovely review! We really appreciate your kind comments and recommendation. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Comfortable, quiet room on the back of the building. Fabulous location near Covent Garden and close to the West End. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice small hotel ambience. Downside was no in house breakfast facilities and the lack of a lift... plus the mattress and pillows were lumpy...but good restaurants and Starbucks nearby. Otherwise, a very happy stay and we will return.

Room Tip: Our room at the back of the building was amazingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScarlettViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you so much for your positive comments and if you return to stay with us let us know to make sure you have the type of pillows you prefer, we want you to be comfy! Kind regards, Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is a gem of a hotel, well, not really a hotel though - rather a collection of services luxury bedrooms. Very pleasant & polite reception staff to grett you and direct you to the room, which was fabulous. We had a family room in the basement, 2 rooms, 2 bathrooms, all of which spotless.

However, I do have a really big gripe - We booked direct with the hotel via the web site - BUT - The headline price does not include VAT, so the £200 display became £240 once I elected to proceed with the booking. I did notify the hotel that I considered that it was a little misleading (if Trading standards found out about it - they would be forced to change it) and they said they were sorry to hear I was disappointed and they would look into it - but nothing has changed!!!....just beware......or book via one of the larger hotel/accomodation search sites available.

Also note that there is NO BREAKFAST Facility - you'll need to go in search of a cafe in the morning. Lots of choice locally, as with plenty of choice for meals.

What makes this hotel worth it is the great location, just behind the Opera House in Convent Garden and walking distance of many theatres.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boc555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and for all your valued comments. As a lot of our guests are corporate visitors the owner feels it best to have the prices displayed as excluding VAT and this mentioned underneath, I am truly sorry if you felt misled, you are right that the cost displayed on Booking.com and Laterooms includes tax but there is complete parity across the board on price. We are really pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Covent Garden. Kind regards, Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We were told by friends about this lovely hotel in covent garden. So we booked directly with the hotel for our stay and they were very helpful and responded quickly over the internet. The position is perfect if you are in London to enjoy the performing arts. It is a short walk to most shows and the Royal opera house. It is a slo only a short walk from the Covent Garden underground station. We arrived at Heathrow airport and hopped on the Piccadilly line to Covent garden. It was very easy to access. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is no lift so the main difficulty is managing your suitcases up and down the stairs. The rooms were appointed well with all amenities d free WIFi

Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your positive comments, I do hope you were offered help with your bags as we are always happy to assist and hope we can do so if you come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were lucky enough to see Top Hat's last performance at the Aldwych so booked the Fielding for the location but after staying there would book this hotel for any trip to London.
We had room 43 which has 2 bathrooms sitting room and bedroom so would accomodate a family easily and also very good value for money especially in London.
Grace who i had booked with welcomed us and even remembered talking to me on the phone we were a little early but everything was ready and after unpacking went to explore Covent Garden and surrounding areas the location is just superb but although we are so near the lively Covent Garden the hotel was very peaceful.
Breakfast isnt provided but didnt matter as Grace pointed us in the direction of a great very good value cafe.
Next day Sam was on reception and again was so helpful and friendly she went that extra mile and printed us a list of how to get to Knightsbridge by bus.
The Monday was the day which was disrupted by the storm but check out was fast and efficent All in all this is a great friendly well run hotel in the heart of London a friend had stayed there and recommended it and i would also do the same.
Top Hat was also fantastic

Room Tip: had basement room so very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leoconstructions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to the Fielding very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed over the weekend of the "predicted storm' didn't hear a thing in our cosy bedroom.
Brilliant location in small pedestrian street 2 mins from Covent garden. Small hotel no public rooms or food available but beautifully run by friendly people. The rooms are on the small side but well appointed and a very good bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidandNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
How lovely.....thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#217 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#250 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#39 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#15 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fielding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fielding Hotel

Property: The Fielding Hotel
Address: 4 Broad Court | Bow Street, London WC2B 5QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#138 Romantic Hotel in London
#144 Business Hotel in London
#163 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fielding Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your The Fielding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fielding Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing