We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Field good”
Review of The Fielding Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fielding Hotel
Ranked #213 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Field good”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is a lovely, lovely hotel to stay at. Clean, cosy and quiet; BUT HOW. This is so close to such a busy part of London. Ok, so there's no food, but there are so many places to eat literally seconds away, it's not a problem. Nothing has gone wrong the two times we've stayed. There are bigger, flashier, better equipped and more expensive places to stay then this, but you'll be more than happy here for a long weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank incarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
What a lovely little review, thank you so much and we are really pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Kind regards, Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    248
    50
    19
    18
See reviews for
104
270
95
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

NO LIFT. And very very narrow stairs.
I wouldnt give it 4 stars.

NO WiFi: In spite we tried several times to sort it out with the person at reception (who was kind but not eficient), nobody could fix that internet problem that made indeed a huge difference for me, having couple of important-job-teleconference-to-do cancelled, as well as some easy sending-files-stuff that couldnt got done neither. (Can they understand sometimes we choose our hotels just by its WiFi??)

Good location: In the other hand, it has a great location, you are almost in Covent Garden.

We also appreciate coffee/tea/chocolate/kettle in the morning as they did not give the possibility to order your breakfast in the hotel.

I THINK I WOULDNT REPEAT THAT ACCOMODATION AGAIN, AT LEAST NOT UNTIL THEY ASSURE YOU'LL HAVE WHAT THEY SELL (in thid case that includes WiFi).
Reception staff should have done more than apologizing with a smile. I felt dissapointment.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank frequentlytravellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and we really appreciate all your comments. We are very sorry you were affected by the Wi fi, we called the engineer who found a faulty cable and that was replaced but unfortunately after you had left. We know how important this is to guests and we apologise for that aspect but hope we might welcome you here again some time in the future and you will enjoy our normally good service. Kind regards, Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is run on a room only basis. There is no bar or lounge and no lift. If you are happy with this, the hotel is in an amazing position very close to the Covent Garden Opera House. Our room, room 15, was charming. The staff are friendly and helpful and I couldn't have asked for anything else for the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
How lovely, thank you! Kind regards, Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I wanted to find somewhere central in London for the weekend of my wife's 70th birthday, and absolutely didn't want somewhere that might as well have been in Montreal or Melbourne. The Fielding (apparently, and usefully for Googlers, the only hotel of that name on the planet), fitted the bill perfectly, and I need add little to the many advantages already listed by other contributors - the wonderfully convenient situation, the amazing quietness of this small hotel, the comfortable but quirky rooms, and the delightful staff.

On the last point, we mentioned as we went out for the day that it was a big birthday, and were greeted on our return by a card and a box of chocolates! Things like that make all the difference, don't they, and if you're looking for somewhere with personality that ticks just about all the boxes, look no further that The Fielding.

Room Tip: We had Room 4 on the ground floor, with the bathroom and what can best be described as a small study...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sixfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and Birthday treat and thank you for your lovely review. Kind regards, Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Whenever we are in London, for business or pleasure, we book at The Fielding. It has a marvellous location: a quiet court just off Bow Street, in Covent Garden. Covent Garden markets and tube station are only a short walk away. There are restaurants, cafes and bars of every description all around. But Broad Court itself is a peaceful little oasis.

Everyone at the Fielding is immensely helpful. Being an old building, the rooms are all different: Most recently we had No. 25, a split-level twin with the bathroom down quite a steep staircase. I enjoyed it, but was glad I didn't have to get up during the night! We seem to be working our way round the hotel, and have never had a bad room. And they are all spotlessly clean, with masses of towels, soaps, shampoos and the rest. And a good tea and coffee tray and bottles of water. All at a very reasonable price by London standards.

The Fielding has no dining room, and therefore you have to forage for breakfast. See my review of 'Wings', a splendid little sandwich shop with an excellent café at the rear - it's just round the corner in Drury Lane.

Room Tip: Just be absolutely clear what you want. We always go for a twin, as we have learned over the years n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanonEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are so pleased you enjoy your time with us. Kind regards, Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here overnight with my daughter as we were visiting the West End. We booked purely due to location,being so close to theatre land. The hotel really made our trip so special as the whole experience far exceeded any expectations. Beautiful split-level twin room,tastefully decorated,comfy beds,peaceful setting and friendly staff. A big 'thankyou' to everyone at The Fielding for all the hard work, which is obviously put in behind the scenes, to present such a polished service.

Room Tip: Room 25 is two flights up..but SO worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire212013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
How lovely........thank you so much! Kind Regards, Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed at the Fielding on the 8th & 9th November, was made to feel welcome from the moment we entered the Hotel. We arrived at 11.30am but couldn't actually book in till 1pm but Grace told us that we could leave our luggage in a secure room, which gave us a chance to explore the surrounding area (Covent Garden etc) before settling in to our ground floor room. The trip was focused around a couple of trips to the theatre plus meeting up with my daughter's friends. The location of the hotel is 1st class, it's right in the heart of Theatreland, which made traveling to & from the shows extremely easy. A short walking distance to the Tube (Covent Garden & Leicester Square)

The staff were very friendly - especially the people on reception duty. Nothing was too much trouble for them, a special thank you to Sam for being so cheery, even though the weather on Friday & Saturday was dreadful she literally lit up the reception area. We knew there wasn't any food available in the hotel which to be honest didn't bother me or my daughter because there were a diverse number of eating places to pick from literally within spitting distance from the hotel. Sleeping wasn't a problem as the outside of the Fielding is pedestrianised plus we were in room 4 which was at the back of the Hotel.

We checked out early on the Sunday & again we were able to leave our luggage in the secure room until we were ready to leave for Euston in the evening. Thank you to Grace, Sam & the rest of the staff for making our weekend break that little bit extra special. No hesitation in booking again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bksreds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
What a delightful review, thank you so much. We are really pleased you enjoyed your time with us........despite the awful weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#175 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#253 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#39 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fielding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fielding Hotel

Property: The Fielding Hotel
Address: 4 Broad Court | Bow Street, London WC2B 5QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#138 Romantic Hotel in London
#144 Business Hotel in London
#163 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fielding Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Fielding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fielding Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing