We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough for the price ”
Review of The Fielding Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fielding Hotel
Ranked #229 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

My room here was at the top of a number of flights of stairs. The room was small and the bathroom tiny. The view was uninspiring and facilities sparse. Friendly staff means that the hotel is fine if you need to be in the area (indeed in that respect it can be very convenient) and can get a good deal, but the very basic level of the room and facilities do not make it an appealing choice at its rack rate.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Jimboblondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at the Fielding overnight for our daughter's birthday, for which we were going to see Charlie and the chocolate factory on Drury Lane. We were greeted by Grace, who made us feel very welcome and the accommodation was smart, clean and perfect for us, not too formal, but still wanting to feel we were having a treat by staying out. It's location was amazing and two minutes from Covent Garden, and the theatre. We are already looking forward to staying next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you so much, it's lovely to hear you had such a nice visit, it's much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Third time I've stayed and every time it is good. The rooms may be a little small, the shower and toilet a little cramped(room no.2), it's a single but you're in the heart of London down a passageway, pubs and restaurants all around. The staff are great, go out and on return you will always get the right room key without asking.
It's a hotel with character, my favourite London pub is a short walk away, two tube stations within five minutes, serious shopping in minutes, well worth considering staying here and booking direct with them.

Room Tip: Higher up the quieter it is, no lift so it's all stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

It was a pleasure to welcome you here again and thank you for taking time to review us so nicely. Kind regards, Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

stayed at the fielding hotel for one night with my wife. we found the hotel to be very comfortable and Situated In a fantastic location. It Is within a stones throw from the royal opera house. The hotel only offers accomodation only (so no bar or breakfast - although this is no big deal as there are plenty of Cafes nearby). booked via Booking.com. Definitely worth looking at it you want somewhere cheap to stay in London

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Happy_to_travelleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

You are right about our closeness to the Opera House! We are really glad you enjoyed your visit, thank you. kind regards, Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This small hotel with well decorated stylish rooms is perfectly placed for london's West End. No meals or bar but plenty options within a five minute walk.

Ideal for London shows or events in Covent Garden area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors as they are quieter. no real issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you! Kind regards, Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is a lovely, lovely hotel to stay at. Clean, cosy and quiet; BUT HOW. This is so close to such a busy part of London. Ok, so there's no food, but there are so many places to eat literally seconds away, it's not a problem. Nothing has gone wrong the two times we've stayed. There are bigger, flashier, better equipped and more expensive places to stay then this, but you'll be more than happy here for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank incarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

What a lovely little review, thank you so much and we are really pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Kind regards, Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

NO LIFT. And very very narrow stairs.
I wouldnt give it 4 stars.

NO WiFi: In spite we tried several times to sort it out with the person at reception (who was kind but not eficient), nobody could fix that internet problem that made indeed a huge difference for me, having couple of important-job-teleconference-to-do cancelled, as well as some easy sending-files-stuff that couldnt got done neither. (Can they understand sometimes we choose our hotels just by its WiFi??)

Good location: In the other hand, it has a great location, you are almost in Covent Garden.

We also appreciate coffee/tea/chocolate/kettle in the morning as they did not give the possibility to order your breakfast in the hotel.

I THINK I WOULDNT REPEAT THAT ACCOMODATION AGAIN, AT LEAST NOT UNTIL THEY ASSURE YOU'LL HAVE WHAT THEY SELL (in thid case that includes WiFi).
Reception staff should have done more than apologizing with a smile. I felt dissapointment.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank frequentlytravellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace L, Manager at The Fielding Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and we really appreciate all your comments. We are very sorry you were affected by the Wi fi, we called the engineer who found a faulty cable and that was replaced but unfortunately after you had left. We know how important this is to guests and we apologise for that aspect but hope we might welcome you here again some time in the future and you will enjoy our normally good service. Kind regards, Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#68 of 1,076 in London
179 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#242 of 1,076 in London
3,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
The Henrietta Hotel
The Henrietta Hotel
#460 of 1,076 in London
57 reviews
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#447 of 1,076 in London
9,737 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fielding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fielding Hotel

Address: 4 Broad Court | Bow Street, London WC2B 5QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#138 Romantic Hotel in London
#144 Business Hotel in London
#163 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £116 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fielding Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Fielding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fielding Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing