We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Reserve
Ranked #918 of 1,089 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed on a match night so were "greeted" by surly bouncers who would not let us even drop off bags. Very rude and ferocious before we even got in the door to reception. Had to park in Fulham broadway - an extra 30 pounds for the night. Lot of road noise all night due to badly fitting windows in bedroom to front.
Would prefer to pay more for a proper hotel with parking.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chelseacarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    56
    81
    53
    82
See reviews for
59
66
23
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

PLUS points: Tidy, well decorated and well lit hotel. Off street parking available (but see below). Free fruit! (if you want it)

MINUS points: Sly £10 per day parking charge (not made clear at the time of booking); wifi is £5 per day extra too (why give me fruit I didn't ask for it, but charge me for wifi that I do actually need?); and the room was too hot for sleep (in November!) and there's no way to control the temperature except by opening a window onto the busy Fulham Road. Terse staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colemorefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We don't expect much of a cheap hotel. Our room was ok. The floors make noises when you walk. Poor choice of breakfast. Either fruitsalad or baguett with cheese. If you want english breakfast, you must pay extra. Service was allright.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dag B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I got a bargain on this (£49) via their own website. Room was fine, redecoration would have been nice but I suspect they are doing it gradually as the communal areas are very smart and I was in an older basement room. Very good location, clean, comfortable bed, and one of the finest breakfast buffets I have seen in a while, which is included in the price of the room. I'd definitely be back, perhaps not for the room rate displayed at the counter though.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Hopefully we asked for seeing the room before full payment in advance ! Room was cheap but we know why now... Finally we stayed 2 nights because no other solution, but our room was very small for 3 people, furniture are very old and needed to be renewed. Bathroom is very disappointing, there are several of joint in the bath, looks very disgusting. Overall the room was very noisy, due probably to the heating, it knocked in the wall during all the night. Our room was just opposite the elevator which door banged each time doors were closing. On top of this, the breakfast was a nightmare. On first day, we asked 2 times for toasts, whice we never get. On the second day, as we arrive in the middle of the service, there was no more bread, no more croissants and we waited 15min to get 4 poor slices toasts for 3 people ! Dishes and tea pots were not very clean. Staff is unfriendly, does not speak very well english, seems to be tired and to be fed up. So, in one word, we do NOT recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauri230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Location is brilliant, very close to tube station and buses. Breakfast was nice and quite adequate for the price we paid.
Communal areas were nicely turned out but bedroom needs thoroughly decorating!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

It was the cheapest hotel in London (70 pounds) I've found for needed days (5 days) and I can say that it worth my money. I had a room on the ground floor so it wasn't very light, but it was quite spacious with more less clean bathroom. Wifi worked well and costed 5 pounds per day. Breakfast was poor for England, but usual for Italy, also there was a possibility to order for 6 pounds big english breakfast. It is just 5 minutes walk from the subway station and 2 minutes walk from Stamford Bridge stadium, also right near the hotel there was a bus stop that was going to the center of London. Right near the subway station there were several good restaurants with quite cheap food and couple pubs. So if you don't worry about losing 25 minutes to go the center or need to be near the Stamford bridge stadium for any conference, book this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BouH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Sara Hotel
Sara Hotel
#638 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#501 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Earls Court
Ibis London Earls Court
#449 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,169 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Rue Saint Jacques Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Reserve

Property: La Reserve
Address: 422-428 Fulham Rd., London SW6 1DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #918 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Reserve 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Reserve Hotel London
La Reserve London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing