We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely Quality”
Review of The Levin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Levin
Ranked #283 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Homely Quality”
Reviewed 12 February 2011

This wasn’t my first visit to the Levin but it was the best. Conveniently just a gentle stroll away from Knightsbridge Tube it makes a great base for business in the city. Having quality shops and museums offers plenty to help take a break.
The homely welcome, the stylish and spacious rooms, and the quality personal service throughout the stay all go to make this a small and very welcome oasis.
I would like a kettle and some decent coffee so that I can maintain my privacy through the night hours. However, this won’t keep me away!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynetom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    57
    15
    1
    5
See reviews for
85
214
39
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We stayed at the Levin for 2 nights, the rooms were Ok but in need of a litle TLC. Reception staff were friendly although ignored you totally if they were on the telephone - a smile would have been nice. Breakfast is not what you expect for the price you pay, although what we had was very good quality. Our rate included continental breakfast which was more expensive than the advertised price for English. I asked to change my breakfast to scrambled eggs + juice (no other food from the buffet) the waitress rang to reception to check, came back to me and said that it was'nt possible to switch breakfasts and that I would have to pay a supplement of £5.95 for two eggs...... I could'nt understand their reasoning when the chef was stood there doing nothing behind his counter.. The other thing you need to watch out for is the advertized Health Club concession - they only have 2 passes so if you are a larger party you will not be able to go together.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank VALXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLevinHotel, Manager at The Levin, responded to this review, 10 February 2011
We appreciate your feedback and are very sorry that you felt we underperformed. The personal touch is important to us and we do like to be as flexible as possible for our guests and their requests. I will certainly discuss your comments with our team and see where any improvements can be made.

Ava Batay-an
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

have been staying here for more than 10 years since it was a small B&B called "L'Hotel".
They upgraded with renovation some years ago and became "The Levin".
The location is really an ideal for a business woman who is traveling on her own, Harrod's is "Croissant-Throwing distance" as they say,
the room is very well decorated and very comfortable.
The restaurant "Capital" at the sister hotel Capital is also very nice, there are many other nice options for eating around the area.

The price I found to be reasonable for this quality in London, but looking back the cheaper price with "L'Hotel" where it used to be, it is unfortunately a little high for staying longer...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

I have stayed at The Levin Hotel on a number of occasions - mainly for work. The hotel is a small and initmate boutique hotel with excellent staff, rooms and service that you would expect from a high end and well reviewed hotel in London.

The rooms are spacious (for London), furnished to a high standard and well proportioned. Front desk, Concierge, Room Service and Cleaning are of the highest standard.

I would thoroughly recommend the hotel to both business and leisure travellers. It is highly regarded for a reason.

I am staying again soon and will continue to use this excellent establishment.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C_Stubing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Small hotel, nice rooms, friendly staff & great location. I recommand it

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolas c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerusalem
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Stayed at the Levin with my wife for 2 nights.
Great location just 1 minute walk to the tube station in the heart of one of London most fasionable areas.
Stayed in the basic standart room-no need for more-big and spasious,the most comfortable big bed great bathroom and above all SPOTLEES.
The MOST IMPORTANT point however is the GREAT SERVICE-the minute we walked in we felt like comming we were comming home. A warm hearty welcome ,altough there are no tea/coffee facilites in the room when ever we asked for it was braught to the room without a delay on a nice tray(including one night when we got back to our room after midnight).
I would recommend this hotel without a second tought-try it -you will never regrat.
I can only hope that on my future trips to London I will bw able to come back home and stay at The Levin

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyes1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brescia, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2011

High quality hotel with outsatnding services. Rooms are comfortable and romantic. The position is great, well served by buses and subway and with a walking ditanco to many turistic sites.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Knightsbridge
The Beaufort Hotel
The Beaufort Hotel
#274 of 1,067 in London
738 reviews
Knightsbridge
The Capital Hotel
The Capital Hotel
#41 of 1,067 in London
727 reviews
Knightsbridge
Millennium Hotel London Knightsbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
The Park Tower Knightsbridge, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London
Knightsbridge
Knightsbridge Hotel
Knightsbridge Hotel
#362 of 1,067 in London
398 reviews
Knightsbridge
Searcy's Roof Garden Rooms
Searcy's Roof Garden Rooms
#676 of 1,067 in London
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Levin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Levin

Property: The Levin
Address: 28 Basil Street | Knightsbridge, London SW3 1AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in London
#120 Family Hotel in London
#124 Business Hotel in London
#206 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Levin 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated boutique hotel offers all the comforts of home to London's most discerning travelers who crave a hotel with personality and charm. The 12 bedrooms are designed to please customers with an eye for detail and a love of beautiful things. Comfort and style delivered by a team of hotel professionals will ensure a relaxing and rewarding experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Levin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Levin Hotel London
Levin Hotel London
Levin London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing