We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended and Individual; a one-off.”
Review of La Gaffe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Gaffe
Ranked #428 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Recommended and Individual; a one-off.”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

An hotel adjoined to a celebrated Italian restaurant in Hampstead.The web-site is accurate and a good picture. The rooms are smallish but wholly adequate, including good shower facilities. Breakfast is simple but again fully adequate. The Italian menu is quite restricted in the number of dishes, but not so you would notice - the quality and quantity are very much above average.The staff are affable and the proprietor pleasant. Ideal for a short stay in this affluent area.

Room Tip: Rear better due to traffic, but front is OK, as you get used to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    77
    26
    7
    9
See reviews for
79
66
38
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Located in Hampstead , this is a very nice hotel. Hampstead itself is a village which feels like a million miles away from central London , but isnt. 10 Mins on tube or 30min walk down hill to Camden. I booked late so sadly only the small front room was available but even thisw was fine , and not noisy from the traffic. The hosts were exceptionally friendly. Breakfast good , cereals , cold meets , boiled eggs , toast , juice and excellent coffee! Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornish-scrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We were really pleased that we chose La Gaffe for our annual family half term break in London, which is quite different to our usual chain hotel on the South Bank. We had room 17 which is a small double with four poster bed and ensuite plus an adjoining single room which our 15 year-old daughter slept in. Our 8 year old daughter had a pull out trundle bed which she said was very comfortable. The single room was unheated and therefore a bit cold, but to be honest, given the location close to Hampstead Heath and just a short tube ride into the city, we are not complaining. Breakfast was limited to a continental selection only, but was tasty and varied and the coffees and hot chocolates in particular we're lovely. We opted to eat at La Gaffe one evening and the four of us all enjoyed the beautiful and authentic Italian food on offer. Service was excellent and they were happy to provide food that was not listed on the menu (spaghetti carbonara for daughter no 1) and wine options also that were also not on the wine list but which were very good in terms of quality and value. A lovely gesture was when the waiters found out it was my birthday and they presented me with a huge slice of tiramisu with a lit candle whilst singing 'happy birthday to you' - I was very touched. Yes, rooms are small at La Gaffe, but the location is great and Lorenzo and his team could not be welcoming - many thanks!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle_jane1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I booked the honeymoon suite for a romantic night on Valentines day in 2012....lovely staff, small room but very warm and cosy... nice clean room... there is a jacuzzi and hot towels, the wonderful "ristorante" is very romantic. In the heart of Hampstead heath lots of beaultiful places around... a gem in London

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FaccinKarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast of Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Our recent stay here was a treat. This is a low key, friendly, small hotel with a family atmosphere without being intrusive. The hotel is very well run and Lorenzo and his staff couldn't do more to help. The restaurant serves wonderful food in an area where good food is common. Prices are reasonable for London and I would recommend this location for anyone visiting London. The tube station is only a few minutes away, as is central London. Walks on Hampstead Heath are only a few minutes away in the other direction. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. We hope to return next time were in London.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back of the building away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiketrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights within the past two weeks. Made our reservation on line, very easily, requesting a double, quiet room.

There was some miscommunication about having a car pick us up from Heathrow airport. I emailed back and forth with Lorenzo, the owner's son, and because I didn't know the terminal we were arriving at, no car was waiting for us. This was a bit of an inconvience, as I was in a wheelchair and a post operative foot boot. Luckily, we were assisted by the wheelchair attendant who put us in a Heathrow taxi cab. Not as cheap as a hired car, but, less expensive than a metered taxi. Because traffic was painfully slow going through Hampstead town (construction, school and rush hour at 1600), we finally reached La Gaffe in one hour.

When we checked in at La Gaffe. The man at he reception desk...don't know his name, he never introduced himself, tried to place us in a small room in the back, with NO WINDOWS!!! The only windows were in the loo! I refused this room and reminded the clerk that we were staying for five nights, and we needed to be comfortable. He said he might just have to put us in a room with two twin beds. I felt this was an inappropriate comment, as I had booked and paid for a double room well in advance.

We ended up in room #10. At the end of the hallway on the second floor (third floor by american standards). Very small, spartan room, double bed. No elevator. No view...just looking directly into another building with many windows. The bathroom very small, shower only. Hairdryer in room, but no place to plug it in in the bathroom. Plugged in the bedroom, but had to stretch to see a mirror to dry my hair. No room around the sink to place objects, but the medicine cabinet accommodated our toiletries just fine. No soap provided, but a combination of "body wash/shampoo" bottles provided. Our room was very clean and the housekeepers came daily around 1330.

La Gaffe is located on Hampstead's busy, main road (Heath). Our room was located in the rear, but still we heard traffic. Apparently, there is a hospital just down the road, so ambulance sirens were heard all day and night. After three nights, our backs were aching from the mattress and the pillows were much to be desired.

We paid around the equivalent of $175.00 per night. I did exhaustive research of hotels, B&Bs, and rooms for let, prior to making our reservation at La Gaffe. As my husband was here on business, we needed this location, and I felt La Gaffe was clean, somewhat comfortable and not too outrageously expensive. Included in our stay was a cold breakfast, from 0730 to 0930, including hard boiled eggs, meat, toast, yogurt, and cereal. Lorenzo was there every morning to make guests a cappucino or latte.

What made our stay most enjoyable was Lorenzo, who works so very hard and does his best with little help from family. Although the B&B adverts say "family run", Lorenzo's father and mother are now retired, and I am not sure if any other family member is involved.

What made our stay 100% better, was La Gaffe's restaurant, which serves an excellent Italian cuisine and wine for lunch and dinner. Our best meal while staying in London was at La Gaffe for dinner, and our excellent server was Danello. I will write more about this experience under the restaurant rating.

La Gaffe is a nice little place....could use an uplift with new mattresses, pillows and bedding to make guests more comfortable. (Again, I can only speak of room #10). I gave four star rating because of Lorenzo's dedication, but this is definitely an average place for accommodations.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room in the rear. And make sure you don't get the horribl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passion4travel296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

A friendly small hotel with a pleasant and very reasonably priced winebar/restaurant.Rooms are spotelsly clean quit and comforatble with lovely modern bathrooms.Bacuse the roms are in anold building they are compact but plenty big enough-I'm not sure how much spce people think thye need in a bedroom.Good area and I felt very safe going back and forth on a winter's evening on my own.Easy walk to the Tube for Northern line-I was working near Trafalgar squre every day and found it an easy commute.I think it's a real find!

Room Tip: rooms at back are very,very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiradarcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Langorf Hotel
#623 of 1,069 in London
665 reviews
Quality Hotel Hampstead
#606 of 1,069 in London
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glenlyn Hotel
#476 of 1,069 in London
531 reviews
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#393 of 1,069 in London
1,914 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#219 of 1,069 in London
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gaffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gaffe

Property: La Gaffe
Address: 107-111 Heath Street | Hampstead, London NW3 6SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#297 Business Hotel in London
#362 Romantic Hotel in London
#372 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Gaffe 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelsClick and LateRooms so you can book your La Gaffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gaffe London
La Gaffe Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing