We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay in Hampstead”
Review of La Gaffe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Gaffe
Ranked #452 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay in Hampstead”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

La Gaffe Hotel & Restaurant is a gem of a find in London, Hampstead is an oasis of beautiful architecture, good pubs, and the Heath. Lorenzo Stella and the staff at La Gaffe do a great job of welcoming you and attending to your needs. The room we had was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet and comfortable. We got to know the Edgeware branch of the Northern Tube line as the station is only a couple minutes from La Gaffe and you can be in central London quickly.
We'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigdaddeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    73
    25
    7
    9
See reviews for
75
65
37
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

La Gaffe is primarily an Italian restaurant and adjoining wine bar with a few rooms above it, and seems to have a loyal following of Italian expats who come to dine, as well as locals who linger over a glass in the wine bar. Though situated on busy Heath Street, its dining facilities seem to be a favorite with locals, and the accommodations are more like a country B&B (perhaps the adjoining tiny Hampstead streets filled with old trees and grand houses contribute to this pastoral quality). This B&B quality is manifested most clearly by the charming, gracious, and very personable attention of Lorenzo Stella, the proprietor, manager, son of the founders, and general factotum for the property. Lorenzo will take your reservation, take your order for the dinner special, call you a taxi, help you with your bags, take your payment, and smile and joke all through it. The rooms are smallish (though too much so by London standards. Storage space is minimal but there is a tiny desk for working/writing and wi-fi included. Though missing a classic English hot breakfast option, there is a cold buffet breakfast until 9:30, and the room prices are incredibly reasonable for super-expensive London. Hampstead is an easy cab, Tube, or bus ride from the West End, and merits a visit as a destination in its own right, as it is one of London's most perfectly preserved historic "villages". have family living locally, and they have turned it into our go-to accommodation in their neighborhood. Highly recommended for a short getaway from the frenzy of central London or a place to stay if you need to be in NW London.

Room Tip: Sizes vary widely - be sure to be specific about what you are looking for. Also, watch for exposure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

An hotel adjoined to a celebrated Italian restaurant in Hampstead.The web-site is accurate and a good picture. The rooms are smallish but wholly adequate, including good shower facilities. Breakfast is simple but again fully adequate. The Italian menu is quite restricted in the number of dishes, but not so you would notice - the quality and quantity are very much above average.The staff are affable and the proprietor pleasant. Ideal for a short stay in this affluent area.

Room Tip: Rear better due to traffic, but front is OK, as you get used to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Located in Hampstead , this is a very nice hotel. Hampstead itself is a village which feels like a million miles away from central London , but isnt. 10 Mins on tube or 30min walk down hill to Camden. I booked late so sadly only the small front room was available but even thisw was fine , and not noisy from the traffic. The hosts were exceptionally friendly. Breakfast good , cereals , cold meets , boiled eggs , toast , juice and excellent coffee! Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornish-scrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We were really pleased that we chose La Gaffe for our annual family half term break in London, which is quite different to our usual chain hotel on the South Bank. We had room 17 which is a small double with four poster bed and ensuite plus an adjoining single room which our 15 year-old daughter slept in. Our 8 year old daughter had a pull out trundle bed which she said was very comfortable. The single room was unheated and therefore a bit cold, but to be honest, given the location close to Hampstead Heath and just a short tube ride into the city, we are not complaining. Breakfast was limited to a continental selection only, but was tasty and varied and the coffees and hot chocolates in particular we're lovely. We opted to eat at La Gaffe one evening and the four of us all enjoyed the beautiful and authentic Italian food on offer. Service was excellent and they were happy to provide food that was not listed on the menu (spaghetti carbonara for daughter no 1) and wine options also that were also not on the wine list but which were very good in terms of quality and value. A lovely gesture was when the waiters found out it was my birthday and they presented me with a huge slice of tiramisu with a lit candle whilst singing 'happy birthday to you' - I was very touched. Yes, rooms are small at La Gaffe, but the location is great and Lorenzo and his team could not be welcoming - many thanks!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle_jane1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I booked the honeymoon suite for a romantic night on Valentines day in 2012....lovely staff, small room but very warm and cosy... nice clean room... there is a jacuzzi and hot towels, the wonderful "ristorante" is very romantic. In the heart of Hampstead heath lots of beaultiful places around... a gem in London

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FaccinKarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast of Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Our recent stay here was a treat. This is a low key, friendly, small hotel with a family atmosphere without being intrusive. The hotel is very well run and Lorenzo and his staff couldn't do more to help. The restaurant serves wonderful food in an area where good food is common. Prices are reasonable for London and I would recommend this location for anyone visiting London. The tube station is only a few minutes away, as is central London. Walks on Hampstead Heath are only a few minutes away in the other direction. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. We hope to return next time were in London.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back of the building away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiketrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.6 mi away
The Langorf Hotel
The Langorf Hotel
#608 of 1,067 in London
659 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Hampstead Hotel
1.1 mi away
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Hampstead
Quality Hotel Hampstead
#626 of 1,067 in London
199 reviews
4.0 mi away
Glenlyn Hotel
Glenlyn Hotel
#493 of 1,067 in London
523 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gaffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gaffe

Property: La Gaffe
Address: 107-111 Heath Street | Hampstead, London NW3 6SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#297 Business Hotel in London
#362 Romantic Hotel in London
#372 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Gaffe 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Gaffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gaffe London
La Gaffe Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing