We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Brilliant Brilliant!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Gaffe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Gaffe
Ranked #480 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant Brilliant Brilliant!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I went today for the food and it's truly the best Italian Restaurant I've ever been too! The service was first class and the food was beyond stunning! It's not too filling but It's just enough to satisfy you. Every part of the restaurant is first class and I cannot recommend it enough to anyone who wants a brilliant night out. The Spaghetti Bolognase and Ice Cream are the best I've ever had. A must do for anyone in London at anytime in any circumstances!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FootballFan1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    70
    25
    7
    9
See reviews for
71
63
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canberra
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

After experiencing a terrible time at other hotel in London, we returned to an old favourite, La Gaffe. Lorenzo is always welcoming and we are made to feel at home, by the test of the staff as well. After a day out in London it is refreshing to get bakc to Hampsteab, where the air is just a little bit clearer and the atmosphere calmer. Enough restaurants in the area to satisfy a number of tastes, as well as rhe great little Italian restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel. A celing fan in our room kept the temperature down, during a hot London summer. A very pleasant stay and Lorenzo always charming and willing to look after the small things.

Room Tip: Maybe a room at the back, a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frith59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

All I could have asked for as a woman travelling alone. The staff are friendly and accommodating, the first impression of my room was before I even entered: I could smell how clean it was. The room was small, but very well planned and I didn't need anything more. The bathroom was new and clean. A real treat to be in London but also away from noisy tourist districts to have a quiet night's sleep. The food was lovely, and the website very specifically indicates it is not a fancy breakfast. There was plenty to eat, and the coffees were individually made to order.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SophieJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay at La Gaffe, especially due to the nice attitude of Lorenzo (the landlord) who was very kind and caring to us. The rooms are nice though a bit small, but very clean. Only a few minutes walk from the underground station which is very convenient.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the back to avoid noise from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Efrat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Paying the low price for a double room with double occupancy, it would be unfair to be too critical, but the room really was pokey and the bathroom would be impossible for anyone above average size. Fancy siting a hair dryer on a wall with no view of a mirror! Bed was a bit hard for our taste.
We ate in the restaurant on the evening of our arrival and had a good meal at a fairly reasonable price but breakfast was not very inspiring.
Having said all that, the room/en-suite were beautifully clean and most of the staff pleasant most of the time.

Room Tip: Room 16 was in an annex at the back so was quiet and on the ground floor but very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WAC188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Lorenzo made us feel at home as soon as we walked in! What a super, quaint (originally a shepherd's home in the 1700s) hotel just a few minutes from The Heath and the Hampstead Underground stop. Lots of cute shops, pubs and restaurants all around. Fantastic neighborhood feel, just minutes from the "country" of the park and 15 minutes from downtown London on the Tube. Best of all worlds. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the food is super-delicious. Breakfast is included in the price, and the room price was easy on the wallet. I will definitely head back to La Gaffe on my next trip to London.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodFunNSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
914 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

Booked La Gaffe on ratings through Trip Advisor. We loved the place! Lorenzo runs the family owned establishment and was so friendly and accommodating. They also have a quaint restaurant that you go through to get to the stairs to our room. Very narrow stairs, small doors, but the room was nice, just large enough for two and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom has been renovated with great shower. We stayed in room 13. Free continental breakfast, standard fare, good cappuccino. About a 1/2 mile from the TUBE, same street, easy walk. Never got an opportunity to try the restaurant for dinner, but wanted to, the aroma around the place was fantastic. Would stay again if the opportunity arose.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ZumaDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.6 mi away
The Langorf Hotel
The Langorf Hotel
#546 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Hampstead Hotel
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Hampstead
Quality Hotel Hampstead
#620 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Glenlyn Hotel
Glenlyn Hotel
#492 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gaffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gaffe

Property: La Gaffe
Address: 107-111 Heath Street | Hampstead, London NW3 6SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#297 Business Hotel in London
#362 Romantic Hotel in London
#372 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Gaffe 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Gaffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gaffe London
La Gaffe Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing