We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great value hotel in a nice quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lancaster Hall Hotel
Ranked #456 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Manchester
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A great value hotel in a nice quiet location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed in a twin room with a cot bed for our 13 month old, the other reviews of this hotel are spot on with the atmosphere and friendliness of the staff. I almost thought that I was on the continent with the European feel of the hotel.
The continental breakfast (7:30 - 9:30) was very good and set you up for a busy day. High chairs available so very suitable for those with children.
The location close to local transportation links is excellent and it is also within a 3 minutes walk of Hyde park. Local shops selling groceries were useful for pick-nicks and all manner of 'baby products'.
I would defiantly stay at this hotel again! RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    209
    82
    9
    7
See reviews for
96
127
59
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed in a twin room for 5 nights at the Lancaster hall hotel. I really loved this hotel, it was not the thypical "english" hotel. It has more of a european feel to it.

Positive: It is clean, big elevator, real frieandly staff. Good breakfast. Big spacious room, clean toilet with a bathtub.
Negative: It really didnt have that many negative sides to it, if I need to list something it would perhaps be that the beds stood on wheels, so it was a little bit hard to turn without the bed moving.

I would really recomend this hotel. many + + + + + + + +

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anno0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egypt
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

This hotel was the best in my opinion, I was in London in 2010, stayed in Rhodes hotel which was very nice hotel too, but had no elevators and room was very tiny. This year, Lancaster Hall hotel was more relaxing, it has elevator, a very big breakfast hall, very nice breakfast, location is central, 5 minutes walking to Lancaster gate underground. Staff is very helpful, the hotel is managed by the YMCA Germany. I loved it.. we stayed for 12 nights bb in double room with only 1044gbp, all rooms having tea and coffee facility.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NanoSoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

I stayed with my husband and 7 year old while we were in London for a show. We had a twin room with an extra bed made up for my son. This third bed was perfect for him - not a full size bed but great for a smaller person.
It's within walking distance of Paddington Station, then within walking distance of Hyde Park for a lovely walk. Nearest tube is Lancaster Gate, which has you at the West End in a few stops. Oxford Street is walkable also.
The reception staff were excellent throughout, friendly and courteous. Our room was on the 4th Floor and was clean and bright. The bathroom had a sink, toilet and bath with shower. All nice and clean.
There was some street noise but we wore earplugs, as we do in most hotels.
Breakfast was more impressive - a great continental spread that kept us going until about 2pm! Was surprised at how good the breakfast was - well done the Lancaster!
All in all, it was fantastic value for three people - perfect for a sightseeing/west end break. I'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
3 Thank Rusty73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night.
It was very clean and the room was very good.
Only two very small grievancies. 1: you couldn't open the window to let any fresh air in not even a little bit. I know this is down to health and safety but you would think it would open a small amount. 2: All room were twin beds. Would have been nice to have had a double bed as I hate sleeping in twin bed.
Anyway this said the hotel was excellent. Qick check in and out. Helpful staff. Excellant continental breakfast and all very good for the price.
Would certainly stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank jouneysend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brazil
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

In fact I was at Lancaster in June 2002. After 4 nights on this small but clean and very well located spot, I advised reception I had an early flight next morning. What a wonderful surprise. Before 6 a.m. I was served at restaurant table in the dark, with only the kitchen lights behind with fresh bread, cheese, ham, coffee, milk and etc. Only my mother would treat me like that. I will never forget this moment and I have plans to repeat it in 2013.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrazilMarcio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

Me and a friend stayed here for one night as we were going to a festival in Hyde Park. Perfect location, only about a 5 minute walk from Paddington Station and Hyde Park.
The hotel itself was fairly basic, but perfect for a short stay. We literally used it for somewhere to sleep.
There was a big hole in the bathroom door as though someone had tried to kick it in! But other than that it was very clean. It was very noisy outside through the night which gave us both a disturbed sleep but the windows were wide open as it was such a warm night. The beds were very comfy though!
Staff were friendly enough and the continental breakfast was good. And they let us check in a few hours early and leave our bags in a luggage room as the room wasn't ready which was a bonus for us as we could just leave our bags and go straight out!
All in all was fairly impressed for such a cheap hotel in a prime location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank jayellebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Caring Hotel
#491 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#577 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#478 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#435 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#545 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#203 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hall Hotel

Property: Lancaster Hall Hotel
Address: 35 Craven Terrace, London W2 3EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#87 Best Value Hotel in London
#346 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lancaster Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hall London
Hotel Lancaster Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing