We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money, excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lancaster Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lancaster Hall Hotel
Ranked #450 of 1,087 Hotels in London
melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Value for money, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

This review relates to the 'youth wing' with shared bathrooms. I've stayed here three times all up. Excellent location near Paddington station and Hyde Park ( Lancaster gate station also close by), clean rooms and a decent breakfast. Can be a touch noisy with some of the 'youth groups' but that's not the hotel's fault. The bathrooms are shared but as there is a sink in the room it's not too bad, and I never had to wait long. Good strong hot water in the showers. Helpful staff - its great to be able to leave our bags before and after checkout too. Great value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moggyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    207
    81
    9
    7
See reviews for
94
127
58
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

as soon as you enter this hotel you have the impression that this is a very well run establishment. It's certainly not a luxury hotel but it is extremely clean and everything is well maintained. The continental breakfast offers good variety and set us up for the day. The location is perfect, being less than a five minute walk from Lancaster Gate tube station and minutes away from lots of bars and restaurants. (The Swan pub which has live music on Friday, Saturday & Sunday evenings is only three minutes from the hotel and is well worth a visit). This was my second stay at this hotel and I'd recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: rooms at the front of the hotel have good views along Craven Terrace. Street noise is minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

The Lancaster Hall is an interesting hotel. It only has smoking rooms, which is so odd, I just could not believe my ears when I heard the receptionist say it. Some of the rooms smell of smoke in a bad way, some are fine and you can barely detect it. Breakfast is buffet style and continental but with nice selection and there is plenty. It is also rather quiet and in a good location.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, København, Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

I have stayed several times at Lancaster Hall and can only recommend this hotel. Located close to Paddington, Hyde Park, and only a short walk from Oxford Street or Notting Hill Gate, you can walk from here through most of London or use the abundance of public transport at your doorstep.

A friendly, clean hotel, Lancaster Hall is value for money. Breakfast is definitely in the better category when it comes to London hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

This hotel is situated about a 5 minute walk from Paddington station. I stayed in the hotel par rather than the youth wing, and found it to be of very good standard.

Check in was quick and friendly and the public areas are clean and tidy.

The room had two single beds, which were very comfortable, with good quality pillows. They were on casters, so they moved a little, but that would only be a problem if you moved about a lot in the night! There were two bedside tables, a desk, and built in wardrobes. Everything was functional and clean, and adequate for an overnight stay. The TV was very small and fixed to the wall in such a way that it would be difficult to view from one of the beds if there were two people staying.

The bathroom was clean, lots of hot water and the shower worked well. The towels weren't very big, but there were four of them and they were clean and white.

Breakfast was a continental buffet, and everything looked fresh and there was enough to set you up for the day.

All in all, a surprisingly good hotel for £55 a night!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnabelleCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Lancaster Hall Hotel lies just 30 minutes by walking in Kensington and Hyde Park from Knightbridge London.
The price is correct, good location, clean room, good breakfast. This hotel is not modern but is offering
all you need for a weekend in London.The personnel is very friendly and helpfull.
It is an excellent solution for those who stay a few days in London on budget -
Bus stop 5 minutes from the Hotel -Bus 94 brings you in 20 minutes to Piccadelly Circus-
Tube Station - 5 minutes from the Hotel - Tube Lancaster Gate-

Room Tip: rooms on the side of the street - the street is very quiet-
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vincent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two nights, I don't know if we will return. I wasn't expecting much due to the great low price, I've been to London a dozen times before and know enough to realize a hotel at this price in this convenient location has to come with a catch. So, I was expecting zero charm and sparse amenities and I got them. What I wasn't expecting was a totally uncomfortable bed and a breakfast area so crowded and the food so picked over that we left and bought breakfast elsewhere. Also, leaving your luggage at the hotel before of after check out is a bit scary. They have a large room that you put the luggage in yourself, they give you a key. It is far away from the reception area. Since it's a large hotel, it was a bit of a concern that they hand a key to any of the 500 people staying there, and they all can go in and out of the luggage room with no one watching. We were in a bind so we left our bags there, but the whole time we were gone I was worried they wouldn't be there when we returned. Luckily, they were. You also have to pay for wifi, so I wound up using the free wifi at The Swan pub down the street by Hyde Park. On the plus side, the location of the hotel is not only convenient to sightseeing in Central London, but within walking distance of Paddington, so coming from Heathrow was totally painless with the Heathrow Express. I might stay here again only based on our friends that had stayed here before said their beds were comfortable, so maybe we just got a bad room. I would just not plan on getting breakfast and definitely make sure I don't need to leave my luggage after I check out. I also say that being a person who winds up spending minimal time at the hotel where I am staying. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to someone else if it was their first time in London. I think it would be better to stay somewhere with more local character and get a full English breakfast and pay a bit more.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenC-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Caring Hotel
#495 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#475 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#577 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitre House Hotel
#556 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#279 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
The Darlington Hyde Park
#191 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hall Hotel

Property: Lancaster Hall Hotel
Address: 35 Craven Terrace, London W2 3EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#76 Best Value Hotel in London
#346 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hall London
Hotel Lancaster Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing