We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good tourist hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lancaster Hall Hotel
Ranked #452 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 8 April 2013

London hotels are expensive ... that is a given ... but we have just stayed at the Lancaster Hall hotel and found it to be very good value with a very good location.
We like Bayswater ... and Hyde Park ... and Paddington Station ... and use the Tube.
The breakfast was continental plus ... with a good selection of rolls, cold meat, cheese etc.
The room was a good size ... we like one where you have room to spread out to re-pack ... ready for the flight home.
We also like lights to read by ... these were there.
The front desk staff were friendly and helpful ... and there was 24 hour access.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

I've stayed with the Lancaster Hall twice, once on my own whilst I studied down in London and once with my husband and baby when we organised an event there. The hotel couldn't be better for the price and it's proximity to Lancaster Gate tube and Kensington Gardens is ace.

Both times I have stayed in the youth wing which are basic furnished rooms with shared toilets, showers and bathrooms. These are in abundance and I've never had to wait, they have always been spotlessly clean.

The second stay they provided an excellent wooden foldaway cot, complete with a decent mattress, a little towel and soap for our baby. We really appreciated their care for her needs.

Breakfast is a continental buffet and is very varied, decent coffee too.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsCrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This hotel does exactly what it says in the tin. Clean, comfortable rooms, basic but good quality buffet breakfast. Staff friendly and efficient. Walking distance of Paddington station, Lancaster Gate tube, Hyde Park, local pubs, restaurants, etc. If you dont want to pay £150 per night but still need somewhere clean, tidy and central, then this is for you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasonh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My son Robert and I stayed in this hotel last weekend and were extremely satisfied with the service. This is a hotel frequented mostly be Germans. Breakfast was simple and good. Double room was ample - especially for such a central location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarneyCarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This is my second stay at the Lancaster Hall Hotel and on both occasions found it to offer exactly what it advertises on their website. It might not be the most stylish of hotels but for the price you pay what more can you expect, it a clean well kept and run hotel with a good choice in the continental breakfast, The only negative would be the poor coffee served at breakfast.

I recomend the Mitre pub across the road.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrHappyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

In the youth wing, so giving review as a hostel. Stayed in basic twin (booked and paid for a single} really big room , desk, wardrobe, large sink, Showers and toilets plus bath just along corridor. Bath iowel, and soap supplied. Bed big and comfy, very clean room. When i travel with out my wife i usully use backpackers lodges {all ages can stay in the youth wing} this hotel is much ,much better than any hostel that i have stayed in and money wise not to different, bearing in mind it was not a dormotry.The staff where well up to scratch, eat as much as you like continental breakfast, with far more choice than you would expect. Only stayed two nights, but this 74 year old was only to pleased to give the youth wing, mindful of what is offered,full marks.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hillhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

This review relates to the 'youth wing' with shared bathrooms. I've stayed here three times all up. Excellent location near Paddington station and Hyde Park ( Lancaster gate station also close by), clean rooms and a decent breakfast. Can be a touch noisy with some of the 'youth groups' but that's not the hotel's fault. The bathrooms are shared but as there is a sink in the room it's not too bad, and I never had to wait long. Good strong hot water in the showers. Helpful staff - its great to be able to leave our bags before and after checkout too. Great value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moggyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#554 of 1,076 in London
321 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#167 of 1,076 in London
1,220 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#606 of 1,076 in London
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#443 of 1,076 in London
285 reviews
Falcon Hotel
#651 of 1,076 in London
440 reviews
St. David's Hotels
#655 of 1,076 in London
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hall Hotel

Address: 35 Craven Terrace, London W2 3EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#90 Best Value Hotel in London
#167 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £67 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Atrapalo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lancaster Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hall London
Hotel Lancaster Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing