We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only stay here if you want a smelly room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lancaster Hall Hotel
Ranked #466 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Only stay here if you want a smelly room”
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I'm fairly unfussy, so i looked for a cheap hotel with very few facilites. What i didn't expect was for the rooms to be damp and smelly, which is what i got at this hotel. To be honest, the rest of it was OK (breakfast, reception, noise, facilities etc). But "not stinky" is a must have, as i'm sure you'll agree

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank welant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    215
    85
    10
    7
See reviews for
99
132
60
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

I chose this hotel based on price and location. I was attending the Proms inculding the last night in Hyde Park. It was a great find and I would want to stay when I return to London. The room was huge compared to hotels in other cities and even another in which I stayed one other night in London. I have been use to poky little rooms in London and was pleasantly surprised and Paddington is such a great location even if you are not travelling to Heathrow, Some may find the breakfast, not to their liking but I only eat a continental so have no need of eggs and the works often provided in the UK.. I think there were boiled eggs available. However the breakfast room can become crowded as it also provides breakfast for the YMCA next door. I had to pay for Wifi but the weekly rate was reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicily
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2010

I had a real confortable stay by the Lancaster Hotel, I stayed there for 9 days with my two sons to study in a school of English. Breakfast was continental and abundant. In particular staff is friendly and efficient. The hotel is not far from tube station and is situated in an elegant and quiet area.
Comfort and cleaning are basic, but relating to the price I can say I'm satisfied and I hope I'll return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alejandraSicily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Great location, a few minutes walk from Paddington Station and Hyde Park. Add a few more minutes and you are at Oxford Street. The hotel is clean and simple. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is nothing special but there is still coffe and som buns. This is a cheap hotel, but if you don't intend to stay at your room a lot it's OK.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlisanStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

This was the best find of my trip as arriving in or departing from London you take the Heathrow Express to or from Paddington Station which is 5 minutes walk...This Hotel is also part of the German YMCA and as all other Hotels were full due to a concert in Hyde Park....I tried it out of desperation...the elevator was out...but let me give readers a tip....if you go to England or Europe in general and cant carry what you have with you up several flights of stairs....you should stay home because you are either packed too heavy or not fit enough to travel...They charged me $US 98.00 or $65 pounds, a steal in this part of London which is close to the subway, busses and Hyde Park. It was YMCA plain vanilla but GREAT location and value....

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

I stayed there for 5 nights. Excellent location and breakfast. Very convenient with lots of small restaurants and local pubs around. Avoid the street facing rooms. I could not sleep at all. Much better after changing to a room at the other side. The hotel does not have air conditioning. You have to open the windows at summer nights. So all the noise from the street will disturb you. Another major disadvantage of this hotel is its internet system. Very lousy and not convenient for business traveller.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamamui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

This hotel is clearly not a charming building, but it is very well located in a charming area, just few steps to Hyde Park.
It is very central, close to the Tube (central line Lancaster Gate, or Circle line Paddington), bus stops, and from here, it is also possible to go visiting London by walk.

The room was clean, the bathroom is small but recently renovated. They only have twin beds, and do not expect a big TV, but we don't go in London for TV watching...
The included breakfast is ok, not great but you will not be hungry.

Internet but it is not free: wifi or computer in the lobby.

Very good value for this price in London. We will probably go back there.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Caring Hotel
#513 of 1,069 in London
782 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#215 of 1,069 in London
1,004 reviews
The Darlington Hyde Park
#221 of 1,069 in London
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elysee Hotel
#607 of 1,069 in London
635 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#219 of 1,069 in London
624 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#498 of 1,069 in London
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hall Hotel

Property: Lancaster Hall Hotel
Address: 35 Craven Terrace, London W2 3EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#74 Best Value Hotel in London
#346 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lancaster Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hall London
Hotel Lancaster Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing