We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and Clean Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gate

The Gate
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gate
Ranked #805 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely and Clean Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

I stay with my daughter for a couple of days at the Gate, location is perfect and our Luxury room have exceed our expectations, continental breakfast served in your room each morning.
I heard that the staff was coming from East Europe but only French people was there, dedication and attention to detail was the best for us.

Thank you Again

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DANIELLE N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    10
    4
    5
    12
See reviews for
5
7
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Small and a bit cramped, but a fantastic location and value. Nice breakfast prepared for me each morning. Key/Lock to my room door pretty fussy -- could be frustrating at times! Charging for WiFi = boo.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cleophus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

location is good but themhotel is in a pityful state. most of the bulbs in the room were burnt and not replaced, towels and shampoos not replaced in the morning, room very small and pretty dirty, etc

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

The hotel is located on a very nice part of London near Portobello market, underground and busstops. It was quiet in the hotel.The hotel is ok but poor. The room was very dirty and very small. There were a few things broken: the curtains almost felt off and the fan didn't work. Also three of the six lights did't work. The people at the desk were friendly but served on one day our breakfast barefeet and wearing sportswear.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 125vos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, uk
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

I booked this hotel for my father who was in London for a night and had an early-morning meeting in Notting Hill. The lady at the desk was friendly and helpful, but I'm afraid it wasn't a very nice hotel in general. They have a snappy, barking dog, the room was a bit smelly, as was the en suite toilet and overall the room and furniture was grotty and tired looking.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jodyodea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

We LOVED our stay at the Gate Hotel right in Notting Hill Gate. It is the perfect location, near bus stops, the tube, Portobello Road (a Starbucks!!) - everything you need just outside your door. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and made our stay easy and seamless! Of course small rooms - that's what you get at a B&B like this but it had everything we needed as we were hardly in the room! I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tgraves88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston,ma.
Level Contributor
285 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

My wife and I just spent 3 days at the Gate and enjoyed our stay there. The room was very small, but very clean, and so reasonable for a Portobello Road B&B. I stayed around the corner 2 years ago and payed almost the same amount for a total dump! The room was decorated nicely, the bathroom looked almost new and there was plenty of hot water in the shower.our fridge worked fine and was a nice addition to the room. The breakfast was served to our room and was simple but enough. Toast, coffee/tea, cereal,juice, and bananas(one day). And if you want a more substantial breakfast, well walk a few yards in any direction and you're in the middle of a number of restaurants. The location is fantastic and the owner was kind and helpful. I would definately stay there again. For a little more money you can get an upper floor room with windows. We don't spend a lot of time in the room anyway, so the fact that it was small didn't matter all that much. A nice find for the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ricka..
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
The Lennox Hotel
The Lennox Hotel
#715 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#598 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Notting Hill
Portobello Hotel
Portobello Hotel
#545 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#365 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Notting Hill
Bowden Court
Bowden Court
#777 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gate

Property: The Gate
Address: 6 Portobello Road | Pembridge Road End, London W11 3DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #805 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Gate Hotel London
Gate Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing