We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gate Hotel newly refurbished”
Review of The Gate

The Gate
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gate
Ranked #795 of 1,063 Hotels in London
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gate Hotel newly refurbished”
Reviewed 18 July 2008

Stayed at the Gate Hotel for the second time now Once last year and once this year. I have to say the new owner has done a lot of work and renovation to the hotel and it looks great, a real fresh look to the rooms. A very warm feel to the place. Very close to the station and the location on Portobello Road itself is great. Breakfast is served to your room and it was fine, all you could ask for in a continental breakfast and it is included in the room rate, so makes it very reasonable. Would definitely recommend the Gate Hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and warm feel of hotel
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank uksmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    10
    4
    5
    12
See reviews for
5
7
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2007

Clean, easy Tube access, plentiful breakfast, great host/owner. Best location: Street market , restaurant and stores nearby, nice, upscale neighborhood. Cant beat the rate! Jasmine, the owner/host is very helpful, personable and accomodating to your needs. I will stay there again!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank RZPhyxit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2007

I stayed at the Gate Hotel for the w-e and I think it's ok if you don't expect so much from an accommodation.

The location is great (2 minutes fro the Tube and in Portobello Road) but the room is awfully small and old !

Moreover, the towels are not changed everyday !!!!

Having the breakfast served into the room is relaxing and romantic but a little bit scanty...

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mikieema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2007

I booked this hotel mainly because of the convenient location and value for money. But to be honest I would have rather paid more and stayed somewhere pleasant than the horrible room we were given.
The exterior of the hotel is lovely and is opposite a great pub. It's also 2 minutes from the tube so access to all the London sights is quick and easy.
However, the room itself was cramped and smelled stale. The curtains looked very grubby and didn't even fit correctly. The en suite bathroom door barely closed and the shower head attachment was broken. Also, when our neighbours went into their bathroom it sounded like they were in ours!!!!
The breakfast was, to say the very least, disappointing. We were expecting bread rolls or croissants. Instead we receieved 2 slices of toast each, cornflakes, a pot of yoghurt and a pot of hot water!! When we asked what the choice of cereal was we were told there was none. Added to this we got only one portion of butter each.
All in all this hotel is quite simply a base. You really don't want to spend any time there at all. My advice is just to stay away.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank champagnebev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2007

Great location on Portabello Road. Quiet at night. The luxury Double was fairly small, and basic but adequate. Tea and coffe in room, and a comfy bed. Owners quite helpful. You pay for the location, and the size of the room is probably a fair reflection of what you'd get in other hotels in London. Less than 5 minutes walk to Tube Station and
a great range of reasonably priced restaurants and pubs.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank Sally-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2007

I stayed here for a week in June 2005. I was a female travelling solo, and felt very safe in the area, even coming back late after a show. Very tiny room, and tiny bath, but at least it was private. Decor was kind of run down, but seemed pretty clean. My mini fridge did not work when I checked in, and they had someone by to fix it right away. (they might have even replaced it, it was working when I got back later that evening.) Walking distance to all kinds of shops and food, and of course, it's on Portobello Road, so you have the market right there. I would definately stay again. Cold breakfasts were very filling, always delivered promptly after ordering. Also very nice about requests for early wakeup calls, which they do themselves, not an automatic machine. I agree with another person who said the "taxi" they arranged for them was indeed a private firm, not a London cab, therefore more expensive. Call your own cab and save money!

  • Liked — Location Location Location
  • Disliked — narrow staircase, hard with luggage
  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2007

Me and my partner recently stayed at the Gate Hotel. It is now under new management and I have to say the new owner was great. She helped us with local information and made our stay very comfortable. Room sizes are ok, what do you expect for a small hotel in Notting Hill. Breakfast was delivered to our room at the time requested. It was a continental breakfast which was fine with us. The location is great, right in the heart of Portobello Road. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Size of rooms
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
The Abbey Court Notting Hill
#608 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Notting Hill
Portobello Hotel
Portobello Hotel
#567 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#344 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Bowden Court
Bowden Court
#790 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Notting Hill
Westland Hotel
Westland Hotel
#761 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Notting Hill
6 Portobello Road
6 Portobello Road
#363 of 555 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gate

Property: The Gate
Address: 6 Portobello Road | Pembridge Road End, London W11 3DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #795 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Gate Hotel London
Gate Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing