We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very average hotel convenient to Paddington Station.”
Review of Admiral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Admiral Hotel
Ranked #889 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A very average hotel convenient to Paddington Station.”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

The hotel looks excellent from the outside but beware. The hotel is narrow & in no way spacious. The rooms are small and on six levels with no lift. The on-suite we had was very small and the only toiletries supplied for 4 people were one small bar of soap & two shampoos. The window in our room was exceedingly dirty but at least the beds were clean. The breakfast was fine but not a breakfast to remember.
Their plus point was that the owners & staff were pleasant & helpful.
So for one night's stay it was OK but any longer it would have been a problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcbIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    32
    31
    42
    45
See reviews for
49
37
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Very good service and friendly welcome from senior managers Mr KIN and Mr SO

Very good location close to paddington station and hyde park area

Very good value for money and attention to detail with good range of information for tourists

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

My husband and i recently stayed here for 5 nights. The hotel which we booked thinking it was a quaint b&b as it was advertised was clearly not the case. Although it does have a fabulous location with a quick walk to Hyde park and paddington train station. The room was clean and comfortable but have had better for the price we paid. The front desk staff are not very friendly or helpful unless your a female travelling alone and it seemed you got undivided attention. Breakfasts included in our price and was very very simple and the breakfast lady is quite rude. As it is a 3 star hotel i didn't expect anything flash but was over priced for what it was.

Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

My friends and I made A RESERVATION THOUGH BOOKING.COM quite in advance before our arrival (it was the beginning of September and we were supposed to stay in this hotel at the beginning of October). Just to be sure the reservation ended well, I ALSO WROTE AN EMAIL TO THE HOTEL. The owner, Mr. So, reassured me that everything was fine and he was looking forward for our arrival.
Before flying to London, I wrote a new email to Mr. So to let him know we will be arriving to his hotel at 11 pm. He replied to me that the rooms were ready and, again, he was warmly waiting for us. So warmly that WHEN WE ARRIVED THE ROOMS WERE NOT AVAILABLE!!! Only the doorman and another couple experiencing our same mess. Of course, the "poor" doorman could not explain what was going on...he tried clumsily to find us another accomodation. In his opinion we should have paid for the price difference. While the couple agreed, we spent more than an hour fighting on the phone with booking.com: at the end, they find us a hotel in the neighbourhood (the pleasant and perfectly-managed Tudor Court Hotel) without paying any extra.
The owner of the Admiral hotel was unreacheble when we arrived; when I wrote to him to ask what happend and to look for some kind of excuses he replied to me "No I am not going to say any excuses"! NO COMMENT!!!

Room Tip: Go to another place!!!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Eleosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Admiral hotel 18-21st Oct '12 in triple room - which was small but adequate for our requirements and good for the price we paid. It was much better than the 3 of us expected
Its a well located hotel if you wish to enjoy London for a few days
Rooms/sheets v clean. Comfy beds and breakfast good. Helpful courteous staff - what more can you ask for Got a great rate for 3 night stay
Thanks to Kin, one of the management staff who was very courteous, friendly and helpful
Sadly not enough people give positive reviews - usually people only write complaints, which is a shame for some hotels.
If you want to visit London on a budget but still have the benefit of a good clean B and B - visit the Admiral

Can Recommend ASK Rest. 5 mins walk nearby for Italian meals/ Really nice Rest /Meal at reasonable price
CAROL BAILLIE.
LESMAHAGOW
SCOTLAND

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandCarolanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Well equipped room, spotless and comfortable. Quiet yet minutes from Paddington. Staff were extremely polite and helpful, in particular Kin. Would definitely recommend - good value for money for a London hotel. Keep up the good work!

Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Had a 2 night stay. Room very clean, comfortable and quiet. Nice breakfast. Excellent service. Great location for exploring London. Mr Kin was very hospitable and helpful. Would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drayton O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Kingsway Park Hotel
Kingsway Park Hotel
#866 of 1,068 in London
287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castleton Hotel
Castleton Hotel
#907 of 1,068 in London
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chrysos Hotel
Chrysos Hotel
#665 of 1,068 in London
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#698 of 1,068 in London
348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stylotel
Stylotel
#562 of 1,068 in London
759 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albro House Hotel
Albro House Hotel
#654 of 1,068 in London
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Hotel

Property: Admiral Hotel
Address: 143 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #889 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Admiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing