We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a spoiler especially after a 13hr flight!!!”
Review of Admiral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Admiral Hotel
Ranked #886 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 11 December 2012

With a jet lag and arrived at an early morning we just want a comfortable room to relax and recover our energy To our surprise we got to carry our 2 large bags through staircase to level 3!!! Maybe I had a wrong perception that all hotels in London have lift...our first day in London ended with back spasm and cramps!!! The room can hardly fit three pax.. I am sure glad that Malaysian budget hotels are world class!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FarikG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2012

The hotel looks excellent from the outside but beware. The hotel is narrow & in no way spacious. The rooms are small and on six levels with no lift. The on-suite we had was very small and the only toiletries supplied for 4 people were one small bar of soap & two shampoos. The window in our room was exceedingly dirty but at least the beds were clean. The breakfast was fine but not a breakfast to remember.
Their plus point was that the owners & staff were pleasant & helpful.
So for one night's stay it was OK but any longer it would have been a problem.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcbIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Very good service and friendly welcome from senior managers Mr KIN and Mr SO

Very good location close to paddington station and hyde park area

Very good value for money and attention to detail with good range of information for tourists

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

My husband and i recently stayed here for 5 nights. The hotel which we booked thinking it was a quaint b&b as it was advertised was clearly not the case. Although it does have a fabulous location with a quick walk to Hyde park and paddington train station. The room was clean and comfortable but have had better for the price we paid. The front desk staff are not very friendly or helpful unless your a female travelling alone and it seemed you got undivided attention. Breakfasts included in our price and was very very simple and the breakfast lady is quite rude. As it is a 3 star hotel i didn't expect anything flash but was over priced for what it was.

Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 October 2012

My friends and I made A RESERVATION THOUGH BOOKING.COM quite in advance before our arrival (it was the beginning of September and we were supposed to stay in this hotel at the beginning of October). Just to be sure the reservation ended well, I ALSO WROTE AN EMAIL TO THE HOTEL. The owner, Mr. So, reassured me that everything was fine and he was looking forward for our arrival.
Before flying to London, I wrote a new email to Mr. So to let him know we will be arriving to his hotel at 11 pm. He replied to me that the rooms were ready and, again, he was warmly waiting for us. So warmly that WHEN WE ARRIVED THE ROOMS WERE NOT AVAILABLE!!! Only the doorman and another couple experiencing our same mess. Of course, the "poor" doorman could not explain what was going on...he tried clumsily to find us another accomodation. In his opinion we should have paid for the price difference. While the couple agreed, we spent more than an hour fighting on the phone with booking.com: at the end, they find us a hotel in the neighbourhood (the pleasant and perfectly-managed Tudor Court Hotel) without paying any extra.
The owner of the Admiral hotel was unreacheble when we arrived; when I wrote to him to ask what happend and to look for some kind of excuses he replied to me "No I am not going to say any excuses"! NO COMMENT!!!

Room Tip: Go to another place!!!
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
5  Thank Eleosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Admiral hotel 18-21st Oct '12 in triple room - which was small but adequate for our requirements and good for the price we paid. It was much better than the 3 of us expected
Its a well located hotel if you wish to enjoy London for a few days
Rooms/sheets v clean. Comfy beds and breakfast good. Helpful courteous staff - what more can you ask for Got a great rate for 3 night stay
Thanks to Kin, one of the management staff who was very courteous, friendly and helpful
Sadly not enough people give positive reviews - usually people only write complaints, which is a shame for some hotels.
If you want to visit London on a budget but still have the benefit of a good clean B and B - visit the Admiral

Can Recommend ASK Rest. 5 mins walk nearby for Italian meals/ Really nice Rest /Meal at reasonable price
CAROL BAILLIE.
LESMAHAGOW
SCOTLAND

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotlandCarolanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Well equipped room, spotless and comfortable. Quiet yet minutes from Paddington. Staff were extremely polite and helpful, in particular Kin. Would definitely recommend - good value for money for a London hotel. Keep up the good work!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kingsway Park Hotel
#864 of 1,077 in London
294 reviews
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#699 of 1,077 in London
382 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#287 of 1,077 in London
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Royal Cambridge Hotel
#642 of 1,077 in London
381 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#521 of 1,077 in London
540 reviews
Albro House Hotel
#675 of 1,077 in London
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Hotel

Address: 143 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #886 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £64 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Admiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing