We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cleanliness clearly not a priority”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Admiral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Admiral Hotel
Ranked #886 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cleanliness clearly not a priority”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

On arrival we were told we had been upgraded to a larger room and upon entering the room we realized why!somebody else had obviously asked for a new room!!straight away we noticed that you could hear every footstep on the hardwood flooring above us from the bar/dining room and as u can imagine this is a busy area in the hotel.this made for a very disruptive sleep and then first thing in the morning when they started to serve breakfast!but this was not our main concern,they hygiene in this hotel is very poor and our room and in particular the bathroom was horrendous,so bad in fact we never showered the next morning as the smell coming from the shower cubicle was disgusting.the whole hotel is very grubby and in need of a paint job and the carpets steam cleaning!if we needed to stay more than the one night then we would have cancelled but luckily we literally just neede a place to sleep.the FULL English breakfast is also something of a phenomenon,u get 1 very tiny slim sausage,1egg,1bacon and some beans it wasn't quite ur typical full English....all in all if you want a place to stay for a period of time and enjoy your stay then look for something better as u will not enjoy ur stay here.if u just need to get ur head down for a night then I guess it's ok

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wezh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    32
    30
    42
    44
See reviews for
49
37
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel. First We arrived we needed to wait for our room 15minutes after 1.pm. The hotel reception is in an other hotel which is 2 doors away so it's close to Admiral. As soon as we got the room we went there wich was at the 3rd floor and had no elevator so we carried our heavy bags to the 3rd floor, where the stairs were so tiny. At the first night there was no heating out there was only 5 degree. I got cold. The second and third night the heating was repaired but than it was so hot that even the cleaning lady (during tha day) opened the room window. The room was so small that we couldn't move. The room is not that clean as I can read from the rewievs.
We were told that there was free wifi included at the price. We got the password but at our room we hardly could use the internet. When we went down to have breakfast we could catch the wifi. The breakfast is quite good. The english breakfast is served by a waitress and there is continental breakfest too.
The location is excellent. The Paddington undergraund station is 4 min. walk, there are 3lines there and there is also a railway station. Around the underground there are many restaurants. There are steak houses and fast food restaurants as well. Once we walked throw the Hyde Park to the center of the city it took 20 minutes.
I did not expect a five star accomodation but a clean and nice room with a good service which we unfortunately did not get.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rekszi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Fáskrúðsfjörður, Sudur-Mulasysla, Iceland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

The staff at admiral hotel are so nice! the made my stay. The were always so polite and the manager, which is not a typical manager told us about all things we should see and do, and on our last evening he took us out to a thai restaurant, Oh my lord, I still dream about that food, we all do.. and then took us out for drinks. We actually never woke up early enough to have breakfast, but the timing of it was still good, we just wanted to sleep in for once haha.. The only thing i have to comment on the hotel, which isn't really a problem because all the houses in london are so close to each other and aren't that wide, so they cant fit an elevator.. oh yeah it was the stairs, but at least we burned all those mcdonalds off by walking up and down 5-6 times a day! but we were on the top floor or the second highest so, not everyone had that problem. But we loved our stay, and the beds were amazing, the shower didn't have to much power though but still it was great!


If you are planing on staying there, take a few minuted to chat with the hotel guys, mr. kin and mr.so and another guy that i didn't catch the name off, they are so lovely and they will give you great advice for your stay in london and also give you company while you wait for your taxi!

Thanks again for our stay ! Malen, Sonja and Katla ( also called katy perry at the hotel haha)

Room Tip: ask for a room on the first floor haha! hate those damn stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

No air conditioning. Our room was small and we had to carry all of our luggage up four flights of stairs. The breakfast however was good and good service for breakfast. There was a step up to the bathroom that was NOT fun to negotiate in the middle of the night. Also, our shower drain took about 20 minutes to drain. The area the hotel is in in great though.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelNC111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wels, Austria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. It has a good location but it the rooms were very small and the charged us for a extension night much more as we paid the other nights. We were to lazy to look for a new hotel thatswhy we stayed. But we had the feeling we got ripped off.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Great B&B ,Stayed there for 7 Days and that was acutally my 2nd stay at Admiral in 8 Months , Staff there never cease to amaze me as they really were the Most Polite,attentative and helpful i've ever dealt with in London, The room was great.. not that big but yet again that's how all the B&B in the area are. I'll book there for my next stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohamed_Samy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

First trip to the city for many years and very pleased with our hotel choice . The hotel was as advertised ..room was comfy very clean,great breakfast each morning served by pleasant staff.
Great area, just a few mins from paddington , local shops,cafe,restaurants. each day we walked through Hyde Park to our destinations. We enjoyed our few days, felt safe and well looked after by all the staff we met .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank away576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Kingsway Park Hotel
Kingsway Park Hotel
#835 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#477 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queensway Hotel
Queensway Hotel
#844 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#672 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#619 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#659 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Hotel

Property: Admiral Hotel
Address: 143 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #886 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Admiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing