We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,884)
Filter reviews
2,884 results
Traveller rating
337
1,115
908
337
187
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
1,115
908
337
187
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrussell squareimperial hotelsbritish museumjacques wine bareuston stationfull english breakfastrooms are basicbudget hotelkings crossbuffet stylecovent gardenbreakfast staffsister hotelexcellent locationtea and coffeest pancrasbeans
Filter
Updating list...
1,884 - 1,889 of 2,884 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2008

This hotel is easy to get to by train and bus, so it's really easy to find and get around from. The hotel staff/reception were also very friendly.

The rooms were basic but clean and fairly cheap.The full breakfast was great & definitely worth getting! It's not a romantic getaway type of place but definitely good for tourists who just want somewhere clean, safe & comfortable to stay at.

The only thing I can say is that it's located on a main road, so it can be a tad bit noisy if you're a light sleeper. But even saying this, I'd definitely stay there again for convenience and good value.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TT81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2008

OK, so it's close to Euston Station, in a safe area and very handy for Covent Garden. BUT don't think the carpet had been cleaned recently, stains on the covers, the bathroom had some black mold in the shower (I didn't dare look under the non-slip mat in the bath..), the towels were so ancient it was hard to tell if they were clean, and the TV didn't work. The room was freezing cold, for some reason the radiator was turned off. Breakfast didn't look particularly appetizing and they water down the orange juice!!! Reception has a shabby Art Deco chic to it, but they could do with smartening up on the basics.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matildadoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2008

What a strange hotel! Before the advent of Travel Inn, Ibis, and other cheap-and-cheerful hotels, this is what such hotels were like.

And what a bargain! The price is excellent, the location is superb - a few minutes from Euston and Russell Square. The view out over Tavistock Square is really pleasant too. The public areas of the hotel (entrance, bar, restaurant) are glorious Art Deco. Really splendid, reminiscent of a bygone age.

The breakfast itself is chaotic - a big room, grab your buffet food and table as quickly as you can. But it's simple, quick, and sufficient for most needs. Service - both front desk, and breakfast - was friendly and efficient.

The room, though, is basic in the extreme. Simple desk, bed, TV, cheap fluorescent lighting, cheap ancient wallpaper. Paper-thin walls (luckily my neighbours weren't too noisy), only one power socket, and VERY VERY HOT. I dread to think what the place is like in the summer - there's no air conditioning or anything fancy like that. Despite this, and the clearly old bed, I actually slept very well, so was willing to overlook some of this!

Bathroom is very basic too - fixed shower above bath, but with good water pressure and temperature. Bit of mildew around the place, but nothing too bad. Only soap is provided - so remember to bring your own shampoo!

Despite all the negatives, this is perfect for a quick overnight stay, and I'd be very likely to use it again. I wouldn't want to stay here for more than a couple of nights, though.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank unspecified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2008

I was looking for a comfortable, not too expensive hotel in London for one night and a friend recommended the Tavistock. It was £87 for a double room for the night with full English breakfast - and this turned out to be very good value for money. The hotel, a five minute walk to Euston Station and close to Russell Square Underground Station, is an ideal base for someone just looking for a clean and tidy unpretentious hotel to explore the capital without paying a king's ransom. Our room was on the smallish side but it was clean and free from traffic noise. There was a pleasant bar to enjoy a beer in the evening and a nice restaurant, which was open until 10pm and the food was excellent. The hot and cold buffet breakfast was fine with plenty of choice. What particularly impressed me were the staff - everyone I came into contact with was pleasant and helpful. If you do not want to pay well over £100 a night for a typical London hotel then I would recommend you opt for the Tavistock. I will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Cardi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2008

I stayed at Tavistock with my wife for a week in February 2008. I bought it through travel agency with three months in advance and it cost 84 Euros for a double room.
First of all, very, very good location, 2 minutes to the tube and buses right in the front of hotel. Because the flight, we arrived at 11 a.m. at the hotel and they gave us a double room, at 8-th floor, which was clean, they changed every day the bedding. In the room is the hairdryer and british socket, but no problem, an adaptor costs 5 pounds at the shop. I can't understand the british system for the washbasin in the bathroom, where was separate pipes for cold and hot water and also immobile shower.
The breakfast was very poor, I had continental breakfast by the voucher, so i have to pay four pounds for person every morning to upgrade at british breakfast, but still poor.
Close to the hotel is the London pub, where we eat each evening, the prices aren't expansive.
I recommand the hotel for who wants to have a clean room in a very good position and without much pretences.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank CristianBordei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews