We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$342
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$291
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$336
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$367
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$212/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock(London)(Great Value!)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Langham, London(London)
US$640
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$484
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,847)
Filter reviews
2,847 results
Traveller rating
326
1,098
904
333
186
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
1,098
904
333
186
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrussell squareimperial hotelsbritish museumjacques wine bareuston stationfull english breakfastrooms are basicbudget hotelkings crossbuffet stylecovent gardenbreakfast staffsister hotelexcellent locationtea and coffeest pancrascentral london
Filter
Updating list...
1,858 - 1,863 of 2,847 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2008

Good Location, but ask for a high floor. We were given room 111 and the poorly double glazed windows did not manage to keep the noise of people talking in the street out never mind the constant police, ambulance and fire engine sirenes. There was a distinct deep fat fryer smell to the room (too near the kitchens?)When we asked for a move after the first night the staff were happy to oblige and promptly moved us to 803. Rooms are small and basic. A bit mean with the tea and coffee and complimentary toiletries consist of a couple of small bars of soap.
Breakfast was a poor continental ( no cold meat,cheese, yoghurts etc.) or a reasonable English Bufffet.
I'm not saying that I wouldn't stay there again but I would have a good look at what else there was available before booking.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flyingscot100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2008

We stayed only one night at the Tavistock but would certainly do so again. Its location is great, the room and bathroom were spotless, and the full English breakfast (included in the price) was a surprise to us. We thought we would have to venture into the chaos of the Royal National Hotel's breakfast room (the hotels are a chain), but the Tavistock has a very nice dining room with pleasant wait staff and good food. The room was quite basic, not many amenities, but it was surprisingly roomy for London. Believe me, we have stayed in MUCH worse there and paid more for the dubious privilege! The people who complain about the shabby, tired decor and furniture should remember-- after a facelift you can expect the prices to at least double. I'm more than willing to live with the decor as long as the prices are reasonable (for London). So, when we go to London again, the Tavistock will be our address.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lennyrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2008

I stayed here for one night, to attend a function close by. I booked a single room, which was at the top (8th floor) of the hotel. It was hot during the day, and very cold at night, with no extra blankets stored in the room. The room was small, with two single beds, that slid around the room as soon as you sat on them. The TV didn't work. The only items they provide in the bathroom are a small bar of soap and one of the world's oldest, scratchiest towels. Hence the feeling of prison cell...
On the plus side, it was clean enough, and it had a nice view over Tavistock Square, and the location is quite convenient.

The hotel is popular with visitors from Eastern Europe, but as an expat Brit, I found it a very depressing representation of what London has to offer. If you are visiting London for the first time, I would recommend that you try and suck up the high prices of better accommodation, in order to enhance your overall experience. It's still a great city, but the Tavistock could leave you thinking otherwise.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank eurosweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2008

This hotel is easy to get to by train and bus, so it's really easy to find and get around from. The hotel staff/reception were also very friendly.

The rooms were basic but clean and fairly cheap.The full breakfast was great & definitely worth getting! It's not a romantic getaway type of place but definitely good for tourists who just want somewhere clean, safe & comfortable to stay at.

The only thing I can say is that it's located on a main road, so it can be a tad bit noisy if you're a light sleeper. But even saying this, I'd definitely stay there again for convenience and good value.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TT81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2008

OK, so it's close to Euston Station, in a safe area and very handy for Covent Garden. BUT don't think the carpet had been cleaned recently, stains on the covers, the bathroom had some black mold in the shower (I didn't dare look under the non-slip mat in the bath..), the towels were so ancient it was hard to tell if they were clean, and the TV didn't work. The room was freezing cold, for some reason the radiator was turned off. Breakfast didn't look particularly appetizing and they water down the orange juice!!! Reception has a shabby Art Deco chic to it, but they could do with smartening up on the basics.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matildadoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews