We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Rest”
Review of Tavistock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tavistock Hotel
Ranked #602 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Welcome Rest”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Found this hotel in the internet, good priced London hotel close to three main line train stations. A little tired in bedroom decor, but query lobby in 1920's style. A fabulous included breakfast with lots to choose from including fish. If you are looking for a respectable, reasonable London hotel then this has to be a contender, will certainly stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PamAnneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    983
    843
    322
    178
See reviews for
410
879
263
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This hotel is a very good choice for the solo budget-conscious traveller or visiting academic researcher as the location is nearby many of the major names in London University’s college network as well as key tourist sites of interest. In fact, the global subscription-only Eduroam wireless service actually worked fine from my room because of the nearby proximity of university buildings, despite there being no formal in-room wireless available via the hotel itself (which is par for London’s cheaper places, even now unfortunately). One of the things I like about this place is the 1930’s style art deco features that still form a part of the lobby and public rooms which add some atmosphere to what is otherwise a fairly ordinary budget class hotel in central London. Nevertheless, being in central London means its value for money is first rate. Breakfast can be included in the room rate - mine was – and offers solid but unexciting fuel for the day, although I would not pay extra for it but there is plenty of it on offer from the hot buffet. The main gripe I had was with the quality of the beds which was awful, offering no real back support at all. This didn’t bother me that much but would have done if I had stayed for longer than a couple of nights whilst working nearby, and nor would I rush back to this hotel for a romantic break with the other half. Nevertheless, for what it sets out to do at a price point that is attractive, it hits the spot.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cantabflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

After a promising, charming art deco design in the lobby, the hotel got progressively worse as I approached my room. Dated, shabby interiors and fittings. I think the lift has transported me, TARDIS-like, to around 1982! The room was quite large, the bathroom had no room to swing a cat, and only provided a couple of bars of soap. Tea and coffee in the room which was fine and the beds were comfortable enough and clean.

Thin walls was the worst aspect. The Chinese people in the room next to me started having a party about 2245, and had I understood Mandarin, I'd have been able to hear every word and possibly joined in the conversation (!) - luckily it didn't go on for too long.

Although my room looked onto Russell Square, it was not as noisy as I was expecting, and it was a lovely view.

The cooked breakfast looked cheap and nasty. I didn't eat much.

This type of hotel is a relic of a bygone age. The national budget chains like Premier Inn, Travelodge etc have taken the baton of this type of place and left it behind.

This is the kind of hotel that only survives in places like London, where ordinary folk are still desperate to visit, but won't or cannot pay extortionate prices the capital commands for half decent accommodation. Anywhere else, competition would have seen it run out of business most likely.

Not terrible, but average at best - I think most people expect better these days.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Distant_Cousin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I found this Hotel very good value for central London. Good location, the staff were polite and the room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was good too. Would definately return or recommend. Art Deco feel was very nice.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and was given room 641. No view but it was quiet as requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mart_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

we just returned from our 2nd trip to this hotel , if you want a base for a central London based break this is ideal . Tube station Just around the corner and a short walk if you are more in to walking . we stayed 2 nights to visit a family member and go to afternoon tea / show that was given as a present from our kids.
the art deco decoration in the communal areas is nice but not every ones taste but we like it.
we didn't sleep to good but we live in the country side so being in the hustle and bustle of the city with the noises that go with it wasn't the hotels fault . so take your ear plugs.
The room was clean and looked newly decorated and the bed comfy . breakfast was good but could have been hotter for my personal taste, but when catering for lots of guests we understand that its impossible to have it mega hot all the time.
we would stay here again as we are in London for the sights and this hotel has a warm friendly environment and a clean nice room that is all you need after a busy day of sightseeing

Room Tip: maybe an internal room would have been quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianek19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Clean, basic room but excellent value for money surprised at how much space we had for central London. Good selection at breakfast, continental & cooked - buffet style - cheap and cheerful. Would go back and would recommend to others. Really well located, just a short walk to Tube.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Tavistock hotel for 3 nights. Great location. 5 min walk from euston station and pretty good for getting to most attractions. We never got a good night sleep in the 3 nights, the beds were solid but the main reason was the constant noise from the lifts. It sounded like giants were moving furniture around. This was very regular from early morning till very late. I suppose we could have asked to change rooms but I couldn't see this being a remedy as we were already 5 rooms from the lift anyway. The breakfasts were pretty average with some chaotic goings on. We actually missed the last breakfast we paid for because of this. I personally would recommend elsewhere.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank robmc1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#254 of 1,069 in London
1,744 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#127 of 1,069 in London
1,220 reviews
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#72 of 1,069 in London
356 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
#470 of 1,069 in London
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavistock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavistock Hotel

Property: Tavistock Hotel
Address: Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #602 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tavistock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Tavistock Square Gardens the hotel offers stunning views as well as offering remarkable value for a historic Bloomsbury hotel. A great choice for business or leisure guests. You will find the Woolf & Whistle - a friendly bar nestled in the Art Deco ground floor of the Tavistock Hotel. Retaining the hotel's original 1920's features with a modern and elegant twist, Woolf & Whistle takes its inspiration from the famous 20th century writer Virginia Woolf, who once lived and worked in the neighbourhood. Providing a welcoming haven to our guests, locals and visitors to the area; our pub serves classic cocktails alongside traditional pub favourites in a relaxed yet sophisticated atmosphere. After all, a wise woman once wrote, ‘’One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.’’ The Tavistock is perfectly located for the health club and American style bowling alley as well as the exciting sites of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Nozio Netplan srl, Superbreak UK, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tavistock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavistock Hotel London
Tavistock London
Hotel London Tavistock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing