We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!”
Review of Tavistock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tavistock Hotel
Ranked #591 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This was a brilliant very central hotel, I came not expecting much and was nicely surprised. Decor little outdated but staff were lovely and we were very rarely actually there. 10 minute walk from euston and a 5 minute walk from the nearest tube station. Breakfast was lovely and worth including when you book. Also the hotel bar has very cheap drinks for Central London and very comfy. Will definitely stay here when I next visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexL91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    994
    848
    323
    178
See reviews for
418
884
264
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The hotel was nice and clean. Room was pretty small but we only slept there. Free breakfast wasn't that great and wait staff wasn't friendly but the concierge was extremely helpful and friendly. Excellent location! That made it worth staying there!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Great position very colse to subway, bus and walking distance. Room clean but very small a bit noisy. Poor breakfast. Overall good value for money, when you consider we payed 40 euros per person per night

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepeeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my girlfriend for just under a week last August (2012). I made the reservation based on a suggestion from a friend to check out this branch of the Imperial Hotels chain. I was told that the hotels are clean, safe and well located. We came into London on the Eurostar so the Tavistock was only a short walk from the station which was done easily with our roller-board luggage. Upon checking in we went up to our room and found a clean, well updated room that had multiple windows and a fairly newly renovated bathroom. During our stay, we found the hotel itself to be reasonably quiet and well attended. The add on breakfast was a good value with all your staples including bacon, eggs, fruit and cereal. The hotel is located right across from a small park and is a quick walk to the Tube. Upon checkout, the front desk can arrange a car service to transport you to Heathrow, we did this and found it to be hugely convenient based on traffic in the city and not much more than taking a cab. If I was headed back to London again and wanted a hotel that had a good value for it's services and was well located to access various activities I would look again to the Tavistock.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I did not have a good experience staying at this place however I would still say that the hotel is good value for money for Central London. The staff is anything but courteous and the breakfast is best avoided. The room I stayed in had an issue with the lock also!

All in all, I would rather stay uptown on my next visit rather than at this place, but in case you have to put up downtown, then this really isn't that bad an option.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gugnani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

As a hotel this place is pretty good. It's hard finding a reasonably priced hotel in central London and this place is fine. (It is ideal for anyone visiting Great Ormond Street Hospital, which is very close by.) I would stay here again because it ticks the price, cleanliness and location boxes. However having had the breakfast on my first morning of my two night stay I could not contemplate eating there again. The scrambled eggs were execrable and I felt rather sad for the pigs who gave their lives up for those sausages. (Having said that, the food might do if you just wanted to load up for the day to save money and weren't too picky about taste/quality.)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandMonkey1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Good location and the rooms ok. The wireless worked bad, specially in the morning and evening when everyone was trying to go online. The breakfast was a disappointment. You travel to England and have to pay extra for a English breakfast. And the breakfast that was included was small and the coffe and tea came late too us. If you pointed that out you got a bad replay back...

Helpful?
Thank Erik J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#511 of 1,069 in London
3,512 reviews
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#877 of 1,069 in London
8,011 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#573 of 1,069 in London
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#257 of 1,069 in London
1,750 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#128 of 1,069 in London
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavistock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavistock Hotel

Property: Tavistock Hotel
Address: Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #591 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tavistock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Tavistock Square Gardens the hotel offers stunning views as well as offering remarkable value for a historic Bloomsbury hotel. A great choice for business or leisure guests. You will find the Woolf & Whistle - a friendly bar nestled in the Art Deco ground floor of the Tavistock Hotel. Retaining the hotel's original 1920's features with a modern and elegant twist, Woolf & Whistle takes its inspiration from the famous 20th century writer Virginia Woolf, who once lived and worked in the neighbourhood. Providing a welcoming haven to our guests, locals and visitors to the area; our pub serves classic cocktails alongside traditional pub favourites in a relaxed yet sophisticated atmosphere. After all, a wise woman once wrote, ‘’One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.’’ The Tavistock is perfectly located for the health club and American style bowling alley as well as the exciting sites of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Nozio Netplan srl, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tavistock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavistock Hotel London
Tavistock London
Hotel London Tavistock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing