We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London weekend”
Review of Tavistock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tavistock Hotel
Ranked #605 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“London weekend”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Hotel is in great location, easy walk to Kings cross, Piccadilly circus, Covent Garden,20-30minutes
The room was clean,
Hotel lacked atmosphere although staff were freindly.
Breakfast was average
all in all OK for weekend break but could be so much more if it had a little TLC.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Philthebantamman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    983
    844
    322
    178
See reviews for
410
879
263
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This hotel while not fancy was good. It was convenient to the tube as well as buses. Rooms were smaller but clean. The full breakfast which was included in my stay was better than the usual. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I arrived late at night, while raining after a long trip . Although I showed them NY booking from my mobile (confirmation mail) they insisted on printing it. Of course I didn't carry a printer with me... I asked then if I could use it the printer they had in the desk besides me. They declined for no reason and they sent me with my luggage to print it an Internet store a few meters away.
The room was fine and the breakfast mediocre

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Georgios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Connah's Quay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

just spent 4 day break herethursady to monday, friendly service, very clean & great english breakfast. close to euston station & 20 mins walk to picaddily. ideal for short city break ,will use again!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is the third time we have used this hotel. The check in is simple, the staff are friendly the hotel is clean and food is ok. The location is brilliant for Kings Cross, Euston or St. Pancras. My only moan is the towels. There are not enough if you wish to bathe and wash your hair and they are very very thin. They have been dried in too hot an atmosphere and consequently smell of burning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great location near by the centre.
Great staff attitude.
Clean warm rooms
Wifi available only at the entrance foyer and not available in the rooms.
Poor breakfast - you must pay extra for having the english breakfast.
No face towels in the bathroom bring your own. Bring also your shampoo and conditioner. Shower column annoying.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Marina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We only stayed one night - out of necessity - as all the trains to the North West (where we live) had been cancelled owing to storms. We had travelled from New Delhi to Heathrow, and had arrived at Euston in time for our cancelled train. We were pleased to find vacencies at the Tavistock, where we'd stayed many times before, and had a pleasant but brief stay there. It's nothing speaial but good value for money and well situated for Euston and for museums, art galleries and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#259 of 1,068 in London
1,746 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#127 of 1,068 in London
1,221 reviews
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#64 of 1,068 in London
357 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
#475 of 1,068 in London
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavistock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavistock Hotel

Property: Tavistock Hotel
Address: Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #605 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tavistock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Tavistock Square Gardens the hotel offers stunning views as well as offering remarkable value for a historic Bloomsbury hotel. A great choice for business or leisure guests. You will find the Woolf & Whistle - a friendly bar nestled in the Art Deco ground floor of the Tavistock Hotel. Retaining the hotel's original 1920's features with a modern and elegant twist, Woolf & Whistle takes its inspiration from the famous 20th century writer Virginia Woolf, who once lived and worked in the neighbourhood. Providing a welcoming haven to our guests, locals and visitors to the area; our pub serves classic cocktails alongside traditional pub favourites in a relaxed yet sophisticated atmosphere. After all, a wise woman once wrote, ‘’One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.’’ The Tavistock is perfectly located for the health club and American style bowling alley as well as the exciting sites of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Nozio Netplan srl, Superbreak UK, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tavistock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavistock Hotel London
Tavistock London
Hotel London Tavistock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing