We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good Service at a reasonable price!”
Review of Tavistock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tavistock Hotel
Ranked #561 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location only a few minutes walk from Euston station, and 5mins from Kings cross and st Pancreas as well, Tube stations at all 3 Train stations give you access to all parts of London as the hotel resides in Zone 1 of the tube network, The Hotel itself is great value for money, the staff are friendly and helpful check in and check out are quick and hassle free, the rooms themselves vary but are quite basic, but well maintained for their age, the rooms are quite small but really unless you plan on spending a lot of time in your room there's no need for a large room you have to remember you get what you pay for, if you want 5star you have to pay 5star prices. I've stayed here a few times now and have had no problems i really would recommend you choose this hotel i've yet to find a better one for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

932 - 938 of 2,735 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

My daughter and I were very pleased with the hotel and breakfast. However, I had money stolen from my room and have been fobbed off somewhat with an email address that doesn't work and a promise to speak to housekeeping. I don't expect the money back, but I do expect more care and attention over this very serious situation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CairoLez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I've stayed at the hotel for 8 nights, and they were wonderful.

Pluses: very clean, excellent location (located in zone 1 and only 5 minutes walk from Russell Square underground station on the Piccadilly Line), breakfast included, friendly staff.

Minuses: Wi-Fi only in lobby and bar area, early check-out with nearly impossible chance to extend stay spontaneously since the hotel is usually fully booked, safe deposits are key based and located in reception area.

Location: the hotel is located in the same building block as the National Hotel, and is a 5 minute walk from Russell Square underground station. The station is one station away from King's Cross St. Pancras in which you can change to almost all other lines as well as the national rail. In the five minute vicinity to the hotel there are several useful stores including Pret which sells natural food for a reasonable price, Food&Wine which is a local small supermarket that sells the cheapest water bottles that I've seen (aqua water for £0.49), and Blooms Pizza & Coffee which has the cheapest coffee around, as far as I've seen (£2.10 for a large cappuccino, which is cheaper than Starbucks).

Check-in: check-in starts after 14:00 pm, and it is nearly impossible to enter the room before that. However, the hotel does have a storage room in which customers awaiting check-in can store their luggage for free. Once you check-in you receive a magnetic room key and a permit paper to eat breakfast. The check-in went very smoothly and I was up in my room in no time. (If you wish to store your luggage after you've checked out it costs 50 pence per bag for a day.)

Room: the room was very clean. There is an old T.V which makes watching it a bit irritating, but not terrible. There is also a kettle with tea and two cups. The window is rather big and opens outward. My view was of the building next door, but the street could also be seen. There is also a big curtain that provides full coverage from outside when needed.

Bathroom: the bathroom was very clean and spacious enough for me (I'm not little). IMPORTANT: the tub is heightened from the floor for some reason, and getting out of it takes a bit of getting used to. Be careful not to break your neck when you attempt this. Also, the towels are on the short and un-fluffy side of the scale. They are not impossible to use, but if you find this annoying, better bring your own. The hotel provides soap bars which they replace every day, but no more than that, so bring your own shampoo and conditioners.
Cleaning: The room is cleaned every day. The open soap bars are changed as well as the towels. The bed is made and the linen is changed (I know because I've somehow managed to get make up on my pillow and it was gone when I returned.)

Breakfast: breakfast is between 7:00 – 10:00 every day except Sunday (7:30 – 10:30). It is a full English breakfast with beans, bacon, sausages and eggs, as well as toast. There are also cereals. The staff serves coffee and tea. There is orange and apple juice. I usually came very late and there was never a time in which something was missing or over. The food is good and filling, and an excellent way to start the day.

Safe-deposit: the hotel provides a safe deposit at a price of 50 pence per day and £20 deposit. You receive a key and told that losing it will result in a £150 charge in order to drill the safe open since it is the only key. The safe was useful since I've kept my valuables in it, and therefore didn't have to walk around with them. But keeping the key safe was a bit stressful.

Staff: the staff was very friendly and helpful. They've answered every question I had – from directions to checking the T.V at ten pm at night. Great people!

Adapter + Wi-Fi: in case you've forgotten an adapter, the hotel will provide you one at a £2 deposit which you'll get back once you return it. Wi-Fi, however, is only available at the lobby and bar area which results in people loitering there all day long. It was a bit of a hassle but not impossible.

All in all, I've had a wonderful time at the hotel. I felt relaxed and welcome and slept like a baby every single night, including the first one which is always the hardest. If I ever visit London again, I will defiantly return to the Tavistock! 

Room Tip: Book in advance and bring your own shampoo/conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 130edenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hotel is excellently located for Euston Station (5 mins), tube stations and bus routes. Also pleasant small park outside in the square. Easy to reach many attractions, restaurants, shops and pubs on foot. Rather dated inside and rooms and some areas could do with some TLC.however very happy to stay here .Rooms have tea/coffee facilities, hairdrier and tv, however only soap in the bathroom, no shampoo!! Surely it can not cost that much to provide it. Free Wi-Fi only available on the ground floor (massed numbers of users can be seen around the large reception area and in the bar).The bar, thank goodness, has two real ales on at any time.
Breakfast is not the best, but gives you a good selection of hot or continental items. I only wish they had hot drink dispensers instead of being served by the staff cup by cup. Anyway I felt the breakfast quite adequate before heading off into town.Remember it is included with your room. For the price this is a very good deal. Of course you can pay more than twice the price at many of the hotels in the area if you want to but for a short stay I will be back here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cramra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Good location but rooms are small, no air, no wash clothes, no facial tissues, no hair dryers, and bathroom sink has 2 faucets for hot and cold so you have to fill the basin to get warm water. Hotel definitely needs updating. The breakfast was ok but offers no sweet rolls or muffins. I would look elsewhere if staying in London again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjllbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here end of June. Price wise, it's good value. Position wise, it's in a great (yet quiet) location.

The hotel really needs a lick up paint inside, some cleaning and an upgrade in the bar area where the seating is uncomfortable. Having arrived after a trans Atlantic flight, I also wanted to iron a shirt and change, only to find that there is just one ironing room for what is an enormous hotel; no iron in the rooms. The ironing room is on Floor 1; we were on Floor 6!

The bar area is in dire need of new and more comfortable furniture, and you could clearly see dust in the Reception area. The staff were very polite and helpful. Full English breakfast had a £5 supplement which was fine; Continental breakfast is included.

There is also a Wine Bar which appears to be fairly new, and which has an outside terrace area which is great for summer evenings and that bottle of wine.

There are three great selling points for this hotel. (1) the hotel sits in Tavistock Square and opposite the hotel is a haven of tranquility and beauty in the form of a very large enclosed garden developed in the 1820's. (2) the location is excellent, with easy walking access to either Euston Station or Russell Square Tube station. (3) there is a large Starbucks opposite the hotel, that doesn't suffer from the queue's you normally associate with Starbucks!

There is no AC in the rooms, so our internal room with the windows open exposes you to noise from fans, and I suspect an room on the street side will give you street noise.

Overall, it's satisfactory.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onion2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location in Russell Square, about one block away from the tube (subway) station (5 minute walk) making it very easy to visit all of London's main tourist attractions. There are also hop on hop off tour buses right outside the hotel. There are restaurants and a bar in the area. Around the block there is a small shopping area. The rooms are basic, but very clean. It is good value for a hotel in a nice and safe area of London. Lovely little park across the street from the hotel. Staff are very courteous. Breakfast was included with my room and consisted of a full English breakfast with other choices like beans, fish, porridge, cereal and fruit. It was great! Dining room staff are very friendly, courteous and provide top notch service. The dining area is very clean and I noticed an award on the door for cleanliness. There is a lobby bar and reception area that welcomes travellers who would like to sit and use the free lobby wifi. There is another restuarant connected to the hotel lobby that is excellent. Overall I would highly recommend this place if you want a basic clean room in a great area!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#504 of 1,081 in London
3,708 reviews
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#884 of 1,081 in London
8,398 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#563 of 1,081 in London
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#135 of 1,081 in London
1,296 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#455 of 1,081 in London
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavistock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavistock Hotel

Address: Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #561 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £85 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tavistock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Tavistock Square Gardens the hotel offers stunning views as well as offering remarkable value for a historic Bloomsbury hotel. A great choice for business or leisure guests. You will find the Woolf & Whistle - a friendly bar nestled in the Art Deco ground floor of the Tavistock Hotel. Retaining the hotel's original 1920's features with a modern and elegant twist, Woolf & Whistle takes its inspiration from the famous 20th century writer Virginia Woolf, who once lived and worked in the neighbourhood. Providing a welcoming haven to our guests, locals and visitors to the area; our pub serves classic cocktails alongside traditional pub favourites in a relaxed yet sophisticated atmosphere. After all, a wise woman once wrote, ‘’One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.’’ The Tavistock is perfectly located for the health club and American style bowling alley as well as the exciting sites of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Stayforlong S.L., 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tavistock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavistock Hotel London
Tavistock London
Hotel London Tavistock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing