We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central Location - good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tavistock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tavistock Hotel
Ranked #579 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Central Location - good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

You can't beat this hotel for its location and price. It's a 4 minute walk from Euston Station and various tube stops. It is walking distance to Westminster, Leicester Square, Camden, Soho etc. It is clean and there is a vast choice for breakfast to prepare for your day in London. The lobby, bar and dining area have kept the original Art Deco style which is nice. Overall a great stay :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Em1980z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    943
    801
    307
    167
See reviews for
379
833
253
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here for an event nearby and weren't feeling particularly flash so booked the Tavi. Our room was basic but it was all we needed. Breakfast was chaotic but wee rent expecting much.
On the whole it was alright. We have stayed in worse places as students so didn't mind it for one night.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank freerthanyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Avoid. Pay more somewhere else and get some basic services. You are in central London, after all. It ended up being comical it was so bad. Only in for two nights, so did not spoil holiday. Had we booked for longer, it would have ruined our trip.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blanchey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I've stayed at the Tavistock several times, mainly because of its location near the British Library. The Tavistock is pretty basic. Cooked breakfast is awful, but they have good cereals. Don't forget to bring your room card -- you won't get breakfast without it. Staff is friendly and helpful. If you come in the summer make sure you specify air conditioning -- not all the rooms have it. It's about 2 blocks form the Russel Square tube, Piccadilly line.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and facing Tavistock Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gulliver1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed at the tavistock while attending a three day training. Good points were its very close to russell square tube station,the room was clean and basic. The staff were lovely and i had no problem sorting out some minor issues i had. There was plenty of hot water and the shower had great pressure.
The not so good points were mostly related to smells in the corridors. On my floor is was a smell like fish or pee i couldnt quite decide. It wasnt in the room at the lift or at reception. As you walked into the dining room for breakfast there was a stong smell of fish i was never quite sure if fish was on the breakfast menu or not.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hotel and staff all ok but had to ask for extra towels as only allocated one small one each, no shampoo or shower gel, only one small soap each. Poor breakfast both days,not much choice,hard poached/fried? eggs and very overcooked bacon, goodness knows what those on continental breakfast could choose from as not much available
Staff on reception could manage a smile occasionally but concierge staff were excellent and should be congratulated!

Room Tip: london is a noisy city but our room on 7th floor overlooking gardens in Tavistock Square were good(r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindaboisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Awful hotel no toiletries other than a bar of soap and breakfast well don't bother! We were shown to a dirty table which we refused to sit at and then found our own which wasn't much better. BREAKFAST WAS AWFUL and on our way out of the restaurant we were then advised by the manager of the restaurant that he was training staff and making a point of showing us to a dirty table! Never again will we stay here and at £150 for the night this is one of the most overpriced and shabby hotels we have ever stayed in. You would never have this standard abroad in fact for the money you would have 5 star luxury. The room was basic but clean.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginge2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#518 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,273 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#241 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#66 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#131 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavistock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavistock Hotel

Property: Tavistock Hotel
Address: Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #579 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tavistock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavistock overlooks one of Bloomsbury's prettiest garden squares. The Tavistock has a stylish Art Deco entrance, welcoming you to this popular, friendly hotel. Guests may enjoy dining on the sun terrace of Jacques Wine Bar, with its extensive wine list. Or indeed, relaxing with a pint of guest ale in the Tav Bar within the 1930s style ground floor. The Tavistock is perfectly located for the health club and American style bowling alley as well as the exciting sites of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Superbreak UK so you can book your Tavistock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavistock Hotel London
Tavistock London
Hotel London Tavistock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing