We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Tavistock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tavistock Hotel
Ranked #571 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Room was ok by London standards but staff were at best indifferent. I needed to check out before breakfast started and there was absolutely no way they would consider providing even a bread roll from the restaurant the night before so I could have at least something in the morning. Staff were totally disinterested in helping me and I felt very let down. "British" customer service at it's very worst.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

879 - 885 of 2,717 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

The hotel is simple and in a good location. Although some of the staff were quite rude and unhelpful. Breakfast was ok however more variety is needed. Rooms are satisfactory although they need updating. I would recommend this hotel only if you are looking for a short stay in London :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MShahid24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I visited London and the Tavistock Hotel for 4 days.
After reading the reviews I was a bit worried.

On arrival check in was efficient
Our room was ready even though we arrived earlier than the check in time.

Room 614 straight across from the elevator, small bathroom, separate loo both clean and well kept.
Only had 2 small hand style towels for use in the bathroom but they were changed daily.

Had to pay £20 deposit for a basic hair dryer loan ( never been to hotel without a wall one in 20 years)

One bed was comfy the other was too soft.
The room was roasting hot so kept the windows open the inch that was allowed.

Breakfast was really good and the selection was excellent.

I would return to this hotel for a short break as it's in a good location close to Russell square tube station on bus stop.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Sammi-Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

So I stay here on business, and I do not enjoy my stay truthfully but it is convenient.
Food... Breakfast has improved but still very poor,and I agree coffee is truly awful.
Room... Ask for a updated room firstly, still not great BUT better than others. You can hear everything and it is not up to my standards with regards to cleanliness, so always have flip flops but bedding is clean.
Location... Perfect vey close to everything and the price for London is reasonable.
All in all they need to renovate fully, would of been great in the 60,s / 70 s.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nyree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

excellent stay, the hotel was clean and tidy, staff very helpfull,great location booked throu superbreak fantastic deal only 1 little problem the tea and coffee was awfull just take our own next time haha

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 414tracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Old building, rooms tired and don't feel clean. Very noisy when window is open. Good location. Close to museums and central London. Wouldn't recommend or go back. Breakfast - table was dirty, food not nice.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rezanicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I got a weekend deal for this hotel. Good location, room reasonable size, bathroom small & yes the smallest size bath towels ever - my friend commented 'no bigger than a hankie'. The staff were on the not so friendly side but it is a big hotel. Breakfast was okay, food was better in one of the group's other hotels. The square across the road made for a pleasant stroll & looking back at the art deco grand hotel it once was!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#877 of 1,076 in London
8,336 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#503 of 1,076 in London
3,688 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#563 of 1,076 in London
2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#130 of 1,076 in London
1,281 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#308 of 1,076 in London
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavistock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavistock Hotel

Address: Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #571 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £74 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tavistock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Tavistock Square Gardens the hotel offers stunning views as well as offering remarkable value for a historic Bloomsbury hotel. A great choice for business or leisure guests. You will find the Woolf & Whistle - a friendly bar nestled in the Art Deco ground floor of the Tavistock Hotel. Retaining the hotel's original 1920's features with a modern and elegant twist, Woolf & Whistle takes its inspiration from the famous 20th century writer Virginia Woolf, who once lived and worked in the neighbourhood. Providing a welcoming haven to our guests, locals and visitors to the area; our pub serves classic cocktails alongside traditional pub favourites in a relaxed yet sophisticated atmosphere. After all, a wise woman once wrote, ‘’One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.’’ The Tavistock is perfectly located for the health club and American style bowling alley as well as the exciting sites of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tavistock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavistock Hotel London
Tavistock London
Hotel London Tavistock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing