We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,214)
Filter reviews
3,214 results
Traveller rating
400
1,252
984
363
215
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
400
1,252
984
363
215
Show reviews that mention
All reviews russell square british museum euston station full english breakfast kings cross sister hotel excellent location breakfast staff tea and coffee making facilities central london west end tube pancras heathrow
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,092 - 1,097 of 3,214 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2014

We visited this hotel with friends and we did not book it, we were a party of 18 and the hotel was chosen for location and price. Personally I would have paid more for somewhere nicer like The Russell over the road.

Walked in and seemed nice, close to Euston station and main amenities though when we went to our room it was old fashioned, twin beds and a very dated look with scratched wallpaper and a very tired looking bathroom though the shower itself looked great.

The whole place is in need of a refurb, the bar is good and very well priced but feel that this is the only positive.

The breakfast was buffet style with loads of choice though very cheap.

Another thing, I had to pay a deposit to borrow a hairdryer from the hotel that a) should have been in the room and b) needs updating.

This hotel could be so much better, lovely art deco appearance to it but needs a few thousand spending on it desparately.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tracieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 November 2014

The hotel is full of contrasts. On the one hand the hotel management tries to present classical hotel culture with all the standard hotel services, but in fact it is illusion.
First of all, the hotel is inappropriate for business and sightseeing purposes, too. Why? Because of absent wifi service in the rooms and not reliable internet connection in the lobby. Even not for additional charge. Not mention the business agenda, but you need the working internet for planning of the trips, too. Crowds of people are gathering in the lobby for this, it is really absurd, when taking into consideration, that you are in the heart of London in the 21st century...
Breakfast is the weak point, too. You can eat porridge or the English breakfast. Unfortunately we stayed for one week and we felt desperate every morning. No common selection.
Rooms are spacious for the central London, equipment is o.k., cleaning service, too. Only the soap provided.
It is a budget hotel mostly for elderly clients. I am visiting central London every year and up to the moment it was the worst selection from my side and surely will not return.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ondrej K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 November 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel for a short break following our daughters November wedding. One of the reasons was the proximity to Kings Cross, it's an easy 10 min walk from the station. Checking in was simple and fast, we were given a voucher for a free evening meal in one of several restaurants, affiliated to Imperial Hotels, the chain that run the Tavistock. This was a nice gesture, and unexpected.
Our room on the 7th floor was easy enough to find, the lay out was good, I particularly liked the idea of the loo and the bathroom being separate. Linen was clean and changed every day, as were the towels. The bed was very much firmer than I am used to but hotel beds tend to be firm. Our room overlooked Woburn Place, and opposite a huge student residency, don't let that put you off though. The Tavistock is in Bloomsbury, a lot of which seems to be associated with the campus for the Uni of London, this makes this whole area feel young and vibrant.

Breakfast included a pretty limited continental selection, 4 different cereals , tinned fruit, toast, rolls, jam, unlimited tea and coffee. There was a full English option with a good range of typical choices, but be aware there is a supplement for this, but it was included in the package we had booked, much to my husbands delight. Coffee is a bit naff. Staff could be quite inflexible at times, not experienced personally but noted with some other more demanding customers.
There is no shortage of reasonably priced eateries around here, in every cuisine you might fancy and I would recommend a visit to the Bloomsbury Lanes, a privately run 5 lane bowling alley and pizza parlour in the basement of the hotel, it's like stepping back in time and Rays pizzas are fantastic!

The only complaint we had really, was that the room was very warm, no fault of the hotel that the weather was unseasonably warm for November and London is always a few degrees warmer than where we live any way. But, even with the windows open wide it was very hot.

So to sum up, the Tavistock is an ideal base to explore London. Ideally situated for Kings Cross, Euston, St Pancras and several tube stations, a short walk to the British Library and the British Museum. The facilities are more than adequate, we found staff pleasant and helpful. I'd go back.

Date of stay: November 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Deirdre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 November 2014

Recently spent a weekend at the Tavistock hotel, a lovely old hotel with bags of character and loads of lovely art deco features. The lobby and dining room especially which are lovely. The staff are really nice and very helpful. The breakfast was a buffet self service, and had everything you would expect from full English breakfast all of a good quality. Only grumble was the bedrooms too hot, even though no heating on, and the bed very soft and bouncy. The hotel is located in a great position and easy to find with ample parking at the sister hotel the Royal National just around the corner. This was only £17 per 24 hours. The Russell square tube station is just down the road with easy access on the Piccadilly line to the center of London, which is a couple of stops away. Overall great stay and will defiantly recommend and will return next year.

Room tip: Wifi available in reception and bar area.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyW_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 November 2014

The Tavistock Hotel is situated in a good area of London for tourists.My wife and I stayed for two nights this week while we went to see two shows.Checking in was swift and easy our room was neat and tidy.the towels in the bathroom were thin and small,the shower head was fixed and when the shower was turned on the spray hit the bathroom door.The bottom of the bathroom door was damp due to the bad positioning of the shower head.Draughts came through the bedroom window caused by bad fittings plus the noise from the street traffic would make us ask for another room which was not on the main road should we use this hotel again.Breakfast was self service in a large room this was well organised by the hotel staff who found seats for guests.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Howardst
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews