We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, Clean, Good Value Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Euro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Euro Hotel
Ranked #444 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Clean, Good Value Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

We have just spent 2 nights in the Euro. One night prior to a short Eurostar break to Lille and one when we returned. We have stayed in the Euro a couple of times previously over the past 2 years and the excellent service we have received in all our visits, coupled with the ideal location, means we have no hesitation in recommending this establishment.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcrichton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    346
    124
    23
    10
See reviews for
174
187
107
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

As a non large or hotel chain lover this hotel proved to be a gem! We booked online fron reading other reviews which turned out perfectly true. The staff are friendly, polite and helpful. The room, though not large was well equipped and had plenty of tea and coffee. The room was clean, comfortable and warm and the bed was very comfortable. Neat bathroom and loads of hat water with excellent water flow to the shower. The breafast was freshly cooked with good choice of cereals and juices. The hotel is very quiet and perfectly placed for ease of acces to main line stations and the underground. It is in a n ideal spot to walk to Covent Garden and to many theatres. It is also well placed to a huge selection of bars and resataurants.
Overall a great experience and much better that bigger, chain owned hotel! Thank for a great stay-highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jedd_hayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

Stayed here for the first time after staying in a number of the large chain hotels previously. It was a much more pleasant experience. The hotel is situated close to Euston and Kings Cross and numerous pubs and restaurants. It is very clean and provides a tasty breakfast (Full English or cereal), Free Wifi is also available. It looks like the hotel is carrying out a refurb as a new hallway carpet was laid and Wifi upgraded during our stay. Although only 3* it is good value for money compared to other similar hotels. Would I stay there again...Yes.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biggles1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

This is a fantastic little hotel located in the pleasant Bloomsbury area of London.

3 of us stayed here for one Friday in mid January and thoroughly enjoyed the limited time we spent here. Great setting, just a 5-10 mins walk from Euston station (where we arrived at and departed from) and a similar distance from Russell Sq tube station. A quiet and attractive crescent location. Plenty of shops, bars and restaurants within a 5-10 mins walk. And the London Museum only slightly further.
We arrived approx 11am and our room was already available. Very efficient check-in and friendly staff. Our room was on the 1st floor (No.12 I think) with 3 large windows overlooking Cartwright Gardens to the front of the hotel. The room was fine with a double and single bed, very clean, and a modern bathroom with excellent shower.
We were out of the majority of the day and evening but the room key comes with a front door key so no need to worry about curfews or anyone being able to wander into reception.
Breakfast was perfect for me. Help yourself cereals, tea/coffee and fruit juices. Full English cooked to order and toast with a good selection of jams and marmalade. All situated in the light and airy ground floor area close to reception.
We checked out early on the saturday morning to see the sights before heading home later on, and we were able to leave our bags safely to be collected just prior to our train journey home. I believe they also cater for people to leave their bags for a few days free of charge, which is probably aimed more at the round the world traveller types.

Great little hotel, wonderfully efficient and friendly staff and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank majp81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

Stayed here for one night in December with two family members. The entrance and communal room is nicely decorated., the room itself not so but it is clean. Our room was located on the ground floor so it was slightly noisy but for one night it did the job. Staff are friendly and helpful. Only recommendation would be for Management to purchase wine glasses, we had to use glasses to drink our wine.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claribell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

We booked this hotel by phone for a weekend break but we checked out after the first night. The problem was the room; we were given a top floor room, underneath the water boiler which went 'plunk plunk..' all night. The room was pretty awful, with the sink next to my bed - it looked like my old student digs! I was wide awake at 5am from the people leaving early in a nearby room. They were not to blame - it was the loud creaking of the floorboards and doors opening and closing that woke us up.
Breakfast was poor too - only 3 cereals. Toast and cooked food to order - no fruit. We were glad to leave early and go to the BEDFORD hotel (same price) on Southampton Row 5 minutes away. Much much better.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jes212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuroHotelManager, Owner at The Euro Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2011
Surprised to receive such an uncharacteristic review. We believe that this couple had mistakenly booked a twin room instead of a double and were unhappy that we could not give them a double room as an alternative because we were fully booked. The room occupied is at the corner of the hotel and is normally very quiet. We have not received any other complaints about it. We do all that we can reasonably do to please our guests but sometimes it is impossible. The style of The Euro Hotel does not suit everyone but luckily 91% of guests rate the hotel as "excellent".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

I really like this kind of hotel because they concentrate on the important things for the ordinary family and you don't end up subsidising "4 star" stuff you don't want, like conference facilities. It's a hotel for comfort++, not luxury. We stayed for 3 nights and had a very comfortable and clean room facing away from the street, a big window which we were able to open at night for fresh air (with no traffic noise or people - amazing in London!), great shower, good breakfast. A real bonus was the service. The manager is obviously very committed to the success of the hotel and helped us with a couple of requests with a very can-do attitude. We felt as guests we were valued.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lokiloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#534 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#553 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#243 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Harlingford Hotel
Harlingford Hotel
#548 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#368 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Bloomsbury
Avonmore Hotel
Avonmore Hotel
#882 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Euro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Euro Hotel

Property: The Euro Hotel
Address: 51/53 Cartwright Gardens | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #444 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Euro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable friendly 3* bed & breakfast hotel in the Bloomsbury area of London close to British Museum, Covent Garden, Camden Market ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your The Euro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing