We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No elevator and A/C!!!”
Review of The Euro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Euro Hotel
Ranked #450 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“No elevator and A/C!!!”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Room on the third floor. A couple of flies were buzzing in the room and it was hot with no a/c!!! Thankfully we had our luggage hauled up as there was no elevator! Very basic hostel type hotel and the attached bathroom was very cramped. The shower stall was so tiny that one could not move, except to raise one's arms once the doors are pulled closed.

Breakfast was very good as it was a la carte. Happy with the service at the front desk and restaurant staff.

Location is pretty good as it is near to the tube and there are lots of small qualtiy restaurants around:)

Room Tip: In summer, choose a ground floor room to combat the heat. Be prepared to haul your own luggage as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuroHotelManager, Manager at The Euro Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Delighted to hear that the service was very good and that you enjoyed your cooked to order breakfast. Sorry that you hit one of the very few hot nights this year and found the lack of air con a problem. We do make clear on our website that there is no lift.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    353
    126
    23
    10
See reviews for
179
190
109
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Good average hotel with good breakfast and pleasant staff. Clean room and bathroom. Not the biggest room but quite adequate for the price. Free WiFi. Handy location for Kings Cross station and easy walk to nearest underground at Russell Square.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally503975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

The only negative is that like many old hotels in London the sound proofing isn't too good and there are steep stairs. But the area is nice with handy restaurants shops and tube/rail nearby. I would stay again if visiting london

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed here for four nights in May'12. we had a three bedded room, But the room was quite small with a even smaller bathroom. However the room had a good view, very clean, good wi-fi. The real let down in the room was the wash basin which was beside the bed. The room though had a nice small AC which was very convenient during the last week of May.

However the great advantage of this hotel is the location. Just ten minutes leisurely walk from Euston, Kings Cross or Russel Square. All very central and very convenient to move around. There are number of restaurant nearby and British Museum is also in a walking distance.

One more thing, the service was excellent. The breakfast , though made to order, was nothing exceptional. one can drop luggage the whole day after checking out before cathcing a train in the evening.

Overall nice budget hotel in a very central london location. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virtualtouristIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Recently stayed here for one night, beautiful location and the rooms are very clean with lovely bathrooms and spacious shower. However we felt that the breakfast let it down. There were no tables free for breakfast and we had to wait at least ten minutes to be seated. The breakfast was not freshly cooked and both the sausage and bacon had seen better days, being one of the last to be seated for breakfast should no affect the quality of what you are served and I never find it great to be served tinned mushrooms in any hostelry.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My wife and I quite enjoyed this hotel, having stayed here for 4 nights.
The location is fabulous, 10 minute (slow) walk from St Pancras. From here you can get anywhere in the city via the tube, but my wife did her daily walk to Oxford and Regent Streets without a problem while I was at work. And being close to St Pancras there are countless pubs, restaurants and cafes.
I'm not sure who runs the hotel, but you could not ask for more. Incredibly courteous, helpful and gracious. We went for breakfast each morning - the first morning we found the breakfast room quite full and figured we would be having multiple coffees before our custom ordered "English breakfast" arrived. We weren't even done our first coffee and we were being served. Plenty of young staff who work incredibly hard - and coincidentally clean the rooms once they have finished with breakfast. Must be a long day.
The rooms were absolutely spotless (and my wife knows clean). Yes, rooms are a tad small (like most places in London) and having a room on the top floor - with no elevator - was challenging after a night of "curry" and pubs. So be forewarned and book a room on a lower floor if climbing is an issue.
I don't believe there is any airco, but the hotel is in a very quiet court and we slept with the windows wide open with no problems.
In short, we would definately go back to this hotel if for nothing else but the fabulous service.

Room Tip: Pre-book a room on a lower floor if climbing is an issue as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vilvoorde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I recently stayed for 3 nights and was thoroughly impressed. The hotel is spotlessly clean in every respect. I stayed in a basic single room (£63 PN), meaning there was no en suite, but the toilets and showers (which were decent power-wise, and the water was always hot) were as spotlessly clean as my room and the rest of the hotel. My room, albeit small, was comfortable and had all the space I needed for someone who was only needed a roof at night more than anything. Rooms were cleaned, beds changed and towels replaced every morning. Breakfast was served in a lovely dining area, with most tastes catered for.

Location-wise, the hotel is situated 5 minutes from Euston Station, is also within walking distance of St. Pancras/King's Cross, so is well connected public transport-wise, and is a 20-30 minute walk from many main streets in Central London.

If I had to pick a gripe or two, firstly: there is no lift, so if stairs aren't your thing then you may have trouble here. Secondly, I was situated on the top floor (3rd), and it was very warm. Although fans are provided in rooms, I had to keep my window open overnight. The street outside wasn't too noisy, but it may be an idea to bring some earplugs all the same given the hotel is near the busy Euston Road.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again due to the location and price. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#563 of 1,067 in London
559 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#550 of 1,067 in London
251 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#249 of 1,067 in London
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#243 of 1,067 in London
1,727 reviews
Bloomsbury
Avonmore Hotel
Avonmore Hotel
#893 of 1,067 in London
148 reviews
Bloomsbury
Harlingford Hotel
Harlingford Hotel
#559 of 1,067 in London
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Euro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Euro Hotel

Property: The Euro Hotel
Address: 51-53 Cartwright Gardens | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #450 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Euro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable friendly 3* bed & breakfast hotel in the Bloomsbury area of London close to British Museum, Covent Garden, Camden Market ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Euro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing