We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A neat little spot”
Review of The Euro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Euro Hotel
Ranked #444 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

My friends and I were here for a midweek trip to London for a mixture of business and pleasure. 

The hotel was literally a 5 minute walk from the tube station. On our way we were encouraged by the myriad of eateries and coffee establishments available in the Russell Square area and allowed us to choose a nice place to eat lunch.

On arrival we were told we were a little early and to come back at 1pm for checkin. We were able to leave our bags in the reception area until then. It suited us as we grabbed that lunch and then came back.

Checkin was smooth and we were conveniently given the opportunity to pay at that point which we took. The room was clean, smelled good, and was warm and bright. There were pictures associated with the recent Olympics on the wall adding to the atmosphere of the room. The bathroom was clean and everything functioned well in it. We were given clean folded towels and a soap and small bottle of shower gel. There was a nice well sized flat screen television in the wall which worked well too. Tea/coffee facilities were there too. 

Full English breakfast was served as well as the options of toast and cereal. Everything was to our satisfaction and no problems encountered. The dining area was well sized and good availability of seats to choose from.

Internet available as wireless (free but little slow) and as a desktop computer in the dining area and both worked well enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Medixine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

We recently had a three-day stay at The Euro Hotel and were rather pleasantly surprised. The hotel is very conveniently located, only a little more than a block away from the Russell Square and Kings Cross tube stations and close enough to walk to many of the areas we wished to see--albeit longish walks. Like any number of other hotels, it is located on a relatively quiet crescent, facing a small park with tennis courts. Our room--number 1 on the ground floor--was actually quite spacious by London standards and had an up to date bathroom that was a reasonable size. The bed was comfortable although the sheets and pillows were just okay. Unfortunately our room had no view, which would have been nice, but view rooms may be much smaller. The hotel has little or no style, but is perfectly decent and well maintained, with no obvious shabby corners. The breakfast room is quite pleasant and the hot breakfast okay. Unlike another reviewer, we thought the Polish staff were excellent and trying very hard to please. We would recommend the hotel as a reasonable place to stay in central London.

Room Tip: Although it had no view, number 1 on the ground floor was larger than most moderately priced hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Leonie G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Great location, close to city links. Hotel rooms are clean and comfortable but remind me of a 70's Blackpool guest house which is not a bad thing or negative point. Breakfast is good, which was bacon eggs sausage and toast. In a nice quiet location close to some good pubs. Certainly will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chariotchoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012 via mobile

Service was really average. Polish receptionist with inadequate english standard. Small room but that's typical London. Value of money was pretty poor. Location is good though as it's only 10 minutes walk from kings cross station.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markchanchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This could be a really nice little hotel for the visitor to central London - but they'll have to make big improvements to how they treat their guests first.

We checked in early afternoon, went out for the day, and came back late in the evening to find someone else in our room. All our personal belongings, once discovered in the room by the other guests, had been removed from our room without our permission, taken downstairs and left in an open reception area all day. No attempt made to contact me via the contact details given at time of booking - instead they'd looked in my partner's diary, which also contained private financial information, to get her mobile number and tried to ring us on that (couldn't answer the calls as we were in the theatre).

Turns out that we'd been given the wrong room on check-in and should've been in the room next door - but rather than give the other guests the room that we ended up in (right next door to the original one - why couldn't our belongings at least have been put securely in there, instead of left in reception?) we'd been bumped to the other room.

The young girl who was manning reception when we got back was unable to provide an acceptable explanation, neither was the other receptionist who appeared a short time later (who just scowled at me the whole time I was talking to her). Neither of them knew when the hotel manager would next be on the premises. We also discovered that an iPhone charger had gone missing (this was later found by hotel staff when I asked them to check the other room again).

On check-out we finally got to speak to someone (who may or may not have been the manager - she didn't bother to introduce herself) who was able to explain the situation a little more adequately, and offer a minimal reduction to our bill to make up for the inconvenience. It's only the sincerity of the apology we received from this last staff member which has saved this review from being a 1/5 rating.

Apart from that ... the hotel is in a really good location, in a residential crescent a few minutes' walk from Euston station. The rooms are a decent size for a budget-priced hotel in central London, looking like they've been fairly recently refurbished with adequate furnishings and pretty clean. The bath towels are too small for anyone bigger than a three-year-old. Breakfast was included in the price of the room, but was not particularly impressive - warm orange juice, scrambled eggs with the consistency of rubber, coffee which was freshly-brewed but tasted like it had been made with very cheap beans, and we were waiting for ages before anyone came to take our order for cooked food.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuroHotelManager, Manager at The Euro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Disappointed that mistakes by our reception team soured your stay at the hotel.

You were checked into one room but given the wrong key in error for which we apologise. The junior receptionist who was working her first shift on reception alone panicked when she realised the mistake. When she saw that you had not unpacked your cases and had only left a book on the side she moved your luggage from the incorrect room to the reception office for safe keeping. In her confusion she looked at the front page of the book to see if she could contact you to let you know what had happened. She hoped to meet you at reception before you went to the wrong room and to explain the mistake.

You were not bumped from one identical room to another. Your allocated room was available only for the night you were staying. The other room was needed for guests who were staying for several nights.

The junior receptionist, as you know, was totally devastated when you expressed your intense irritation again in the morning to both her, the senior receptionist and the assistant manager.

You were offered and accepted a very generous discount to apologise for the error.

We have learned from this problem. In future we will arrange for a notice board to be placed near the entrance to the hotel asking any guest for whom we have an urgent message to contact the reception staff upon arriving at the hotel. If the situation had been explained to you when you arrived back from the theatre I am sure that you would have had no cause for complaint.

The junior receptionist will be given further training. We have a policy of trying to promote from within. Obviously, in this instance we have failed to give the training necessary to ensure that guests receive from us the level of service they deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This hotel is a hidden gem in a lovely neighbourhood but so close to Kings Cross and underground stations. Bedroom spotless and breakfast good although we weren't asked if we wanted top-ups of tea/coffee or toast but that is the only small niggle we had. We will definitely stop there again when we next visit London.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#570 of 1,077 in London
588 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#258 of 1,077 in London
2,052 reviews
Bloomsbury
Harlingford Hotel
Harlingford Hotel
#554 of 1,077 in London
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#533 of 1,077 in London
265 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#302 of 1,077 in London
1,778 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#555 of 1,077 in London
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Euro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Euro Hotel

Address: 51-53 Cartwright Gardens | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #444 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £81 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Euro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable friendly 3* bed & breakfast hotel in the Bloomsbury area of London close to British Museum, Covent Garden, Camden Market ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your The Euro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing