We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and comfort on a budget”
Review of The Euro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Euro Hotel
Ranked #432 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent service and comfort on a budget”
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Good location in a student suburb of London. Rooms decent quality which are comfortable and clean. Note free breakfast with your room! Service was amazing with the team there very happy to help and were responsible for making our stay excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    354
    126
    23
    10
See reviews for
179
190
110
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Chose this hotel for its close proximity to St Pancras station which was only a 10 - 15 min walk away and also in a back street away from the main road. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff very helpful. As we had a triple room off the main street the noise was not a problem. The only negative was the lack of a small lift to get to the upper floors with heavy suitcases. This was easily overcome by having 1 person lifting the suitcase at each end thereby decreasing the risk of a back strain.
There is also a laundromat within a 5 min walk for guests who are staying a few days. The complimentary breakfast was sufficient for good start to the day. Overall this was a reasonably priced hotel for its location to St Pancras.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed here for six nights while in London in late October - early November. The Euro Hotel lived up to the promise as noted by previous travellers on trip advisor and then some. The proximity to St. Pancras Station, the British Library, the British Museum and a number of underground stations was closer than anticipated. Also the hotel is within easy walking distance of the theatre district. Our room was on the first floor and having a recent hip replacement found this was no impediment. The room faced onto Cartwright Gardens and the park and tennis courts. The staff was friendly and the english breakfast was of sufficient quantity that little food was required until later in the day. In any future visits to London we plan to stay at the Euro Hotel and highly recommend those travellers seeking an excellent location and good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deltabc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I stayed here for 1 night whilst on a course in Euston. Very close to 3 tube stations ( Euston, Euston Square and Warren Street ). Staff at reception and breakfast friendly and polite. Downstairs modern looking and clean. My room ( i had a single ) was small and on the 3rd floor. Not sure if there was a lift. Decor on upstairs levels dated but clean. Toilet and showers (X2) short distance down the corridor, sink in room. This was not a problem apart from a little noisy at night. Walls of rooms seemed thin so was able to hear talking and shower. Large gap between floor and door meant light came in easily from corridor but didn't bother me too much. My room was very clean and tidy. Bed was comfortable. Tea/coffee, 2 towels, soap and shower, alarm clock, kettle, hair dryer and TV provided in room. Breakfast was very good. Full English breakfast and toast, 4 x cereal, 3 juices, tea and coffee and yogurts available. Plenty of butter, jams, sauces on table.
Overall very nice hotel. Ideal for overnight stop. Would probably use with family also if visiting London.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights before our cruise from Southampton. We were hoping to see the sights in London as well as get some rest and we were able to accomplish one of our goals. We saw the sights of London. Unfortunately, getting a decent nights sleep here proved to be difficult.
We were given a room facing the entrance to the property and the main street. We were kept awake at night by loud party goers leaving the local pubs near the hotel. Once we were finally able to get to sleep, we would be jarred awake by the road construction crews that were busy repaving the streets out in front. In addition, on each of the three evenings, there was a strong smell of cigarette smoke coming into the room. At first I thought it was coming from outside as we left our window open so that we could have some fresh cool air, however closing the window did not solve the problem. I then thought that maybe it was coming from the hall and so I placed a towel at the bottom of our room door, but this did not help either. I finally realized that the smoke was coming through the vent in the bathroom and so I closed the bathroom door and this prevented the smoke from entering our bed area. As breakfast at this hotel is only served for 90 minutes, between 7:30am and 9:00am, we would drag ourselves out of bed and head downstairs to eat. We felt the breakfast was quite good, with a nice selection of both hot and cold items along with eggs cooked to order. No complaints here other then the fact that they only serve breakfast for 90 minutes. After breakfast, we would head back to the room and attempt to get a few more hours of sleep, but this was futile as well as the breakfast staff are also the housekeeping staff and they would start cleaning rooms as soon as breakfast was finished. The walls at this property are thin and we could hear lots of noise as they cleaned the adjoining rooms. On one of the mornings of our stay, they had a fire alarm bell go off for about 30 minutes! It was a loud piercing noise and we actually laughed it off and decided that someone didn't want us sleeping in too late!
There were some positive things here. The staff were all very nice. The breakfast was good, and the location is very convenient to central London. I just think that there were other less expensive options located nearby and given what I now know, I think I would opt to stay somewhere else for less money, should I return to London again.
One more thing, cruisers with heavy suitcases beware! This property has no lifts so if you are given a room on one of the upper floors, you will have to lug your cases up several flights of stairs.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirkinKailua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

My mom and I stayed at The Euro Hotel for 2 nights. The location was great--about a 5 minute walk to the Russell Square Tube Station. We arrived in the early evening and staff offered a friendly greeting and smooth check in. There is no lift (elevator) and our room was on the 3rd floor so it was a bit of a hike with 2 suitcases. We stayed in the En Suite Double Room which had it's own private bathroom. The bathroom was clean and spacious with a shower, sink, and toilet. The room overlooked the Cartwright Gardens and a tennis court. We were there in early September so the weather was very mild, no need for AC or fan.

In the morning we walked downstairs for the complimentary breakfast which was more than needed to fill up for a day of sightseeing. I snagged a picture of the menu which includes cereal, juice, coffee, and hot breakfast items like eggs and bacon/sausage. For dinner our first night we walked down to the Brunswick shopping center and picked up some groceries from Waitrose. The following night we had dinner at Nandos at the same shopping center.

Overall a pleasant and safe stay for a reasonable price. I would definitely book another stay at the Euro Hotel next time I'm in London!

Room Tip: If mobility is an issue, choose to a room on the ground floor as there aren't any lifts(elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CurlyTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here when going to watch a concert in London. The staff we friendly upon arrival and they quickly got us to our room and didnt mind us coming back late. The rooms were clean and tidy. (We stayed in the room which slept 4 people) It was equipped with a TV and had an en suite. If we wanted to we could have access to the private gardens/tennis courts opposite. In the morning they accommodated all of our needs with our breakfast and there was a range of things to be had, and choice is always very welcome! Over all very pleased with the stay, and are returning later this year!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacksplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#564 of 1,067 in London
559 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#539 of 1,067 in London
251 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#247 of 1,067 in London
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#242 of 1,067 in London
1,728 reviews
Bloomsbury
Avonmore Hotel
Avonmore Hotel
#893 of 1,067 in London
148 reviews
Bloomsbury
Harlingford Hotel
Harlingford Hotel
#554 of 1,067 in London
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Euro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Euro Hotel

Property: The Euro Hotel
Address: 51-53 Cartwright Gardens | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #432 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Euro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable friendly 3* bed & breakfast hotel in the Bloomsbury area of London close to British Museum, Covent Garden, Camden Market ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Euro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing