We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of The Euro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Euro Hotel
Ranked #428 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel twice on a 6 week trip. It is excellent value for money, the rooms, although small, are spotlessly clean, and the staff are lovely. because the Hotel is historic, there are no lifts, however we requested rooms on the ground or first floor, which we got. The breakfast is excellent, and the location very good, near St Pancras and Russell Square Tube. The Hotel is quiet at night, which is a rarity in London. It is significantly better than the other Hotel we have stayed in (Harlingford) in this street, and much quieter. Will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you have big bags, ask for a ground floor room, as there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joybAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    356
    129
    23
    10
See reviews for
181
191
114
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel is within easy walking distance of St Pancras Railway Station, even with heavy suitcases. We had a warm welcome when we arrived and those same heavy suitcases were carried up to our 2nd floor room for us. Our room was spotlessly clean, bright and spacious with comfortable beds. We would have appreciated more than one bedside light though, we both like to read in bed but not always at the same time.
The bathroom was small but again clean and bright. Unfortunately, as were on the 2nd floor the water pressure was very poor. This lead to a very slow filling toilet cistern, not ideal when 2 are sharing a room. We were also able to get only lukewarm water in the shower, not a problem as the weather was so hot, but could have been difficult in colder weather.
It was very warm and we struggled to get the sash window to stay open. With help from a member of staff it was propped open with a piece of wood. A fan was provided but struggled with the humid conditions.
A well prepared breakfast was served in a bright room on snowy tableclothes.
My travelling companion had a late flight and was grateful for the opportunity to leave the aforementioned heavy cases in the office after checkout.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Good value centrally located hotel. Very clean room and lovely breakfast room. Cot in room as per our request. Not too much street noise. Check in and check out quick and efficient. Plus they looked after baby stroller in reception office so we did not have to take it to and from the room. Would stay again for sure.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank coluforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This lovely hotel is just 5 minutes walk from Kings Cross/St Pancras and is set in a quiet, leafy crescent just off the main road. It is also 5 minutes walk from Russell Street underground (on the Piccadilly Line). It is a lovely looking building, well kept, very clean and comfortable. The room and en-suite were compact but had everything we needed. We only stayed one night but would have been fine staying for a few days as there was a small wardrobe and plenty of drawer space.The road to Russell Square is full of local shops, restaurants and pubs with outdoor seating. It felt alive and is a nice area. The staff are friendly and helpful and we were made very welcome. The inclusive cooked breakfast was an absolute treat and it's the first time I have experienced this in a budget hotel. I'm really pleased I found this hotel and it will certainly be my first choice on my next visit

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenSummerof69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Nice, reasonably priced facility within a 10-minute walk to St.Pancras International Station and Kings Cross Station and Tube Station. Clean, adequate rooms. Friendly service and excellent breakfast. Adequate supply of nearby restaurants. From Heathrow, take the Heathrow "Connect" (not "Express") Train to Paddington Station (10L, buy tickets right on the train; 30 minute trip to Paddington); from Paddington, take taxi to hotel (15L; 10 minute trip); no problem, even for seniors with luggage.
TIP: if planning to use the Chunnel Train, spend a few minutes checking out the large Pancras International Station layout, and the Chunnel Train security gates in advance; they can get fairly busy, so show up for your train 45 minutes early, and you can get checked through and find a seat in the nice lounge. There a a couple of good bakery-sandwich shops in the main station to buy your lunch for the train prior to checking through security.

Room Tip: Most rooms face Cartwright Gardens, but no problem with street or park noise after sundown. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpha26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed in 3 different rooms in this hotel and all were comfortable, clean, and had great amenities. When my husband was with us we had a large room for 3, on the ground floor looking out onto the park. This room was a bit noisy (pub around the corner and FIFA games on), but we would not have heard anyone had we shut the windows. We were very comfortable and slept well. Then my son and I stayed a few days on our own and had to move to a double room (which was fine because it was cheaper). This time we were on the 2nd floor looking out the back. Again, lovely room, very quiet, had a shower instead of a bath. We came back to the hotel for our last night in London and had a room on the first floor, looking out the back, again with a shower stall. The breakfast was very good (toast, eggs, sausage/bacon, beans, cereal, fruit, yogurt). The staff was very caring and friendly. And the location was superb - being a few blocks from Kings Cross station and Euston station we could get absolutely anywhere we wanted to go! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed in triple room in basement for 1 night, room ok. Hotel and Breakfast great.with being in basement you could hear everyone walking above, which was often.Plus must have had main water and toilet out let running through our room,as every toilet flush and shower throughout hotel came through our room.Was kept awake right up till 2:30 am with guests coming in (foot steps above our room). would stay again but not in basement.

Room Tip: Doo not stay in basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Maxine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#560 of 1,069 in London
562 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#537 of 1,069 in London
253 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#254 of 1,069 in London
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#256 of 1,069 in London
1,985 reviews
Bloomsbury
Avonmore Hotel
Avonmore Hotel
#891 of 1,069 in London
148 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#85 of 1,069 in London
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Euro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Euro Hotel

Property: The Euro Hotel
Address: 51-53 Cartwright Gardens | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #428 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Euro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable friendly 3* bed & breakfast hotel in the Bloomsbury area of London close to British Museum, Covent Garden, Camden Market ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Euro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing