We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel”
Review of The Dover Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dover Hotel
Ranked #638 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Budget hotel”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I was traveling with my sister and only needed accommodations for two nights in the Victoria area - the location is the hotel's best feature. The rooms are small, which we were prepared for, but we felt like we were tripping over each other getting ready in the mornings. Our room was also on the top floor, which meant a lot of stairs to get to the room - luckily we were traveling with backpacks but I could imagine some serious struggles with a large suitcase. No area is particularly clean, so I was skeptical of the true cleanliness of the washroom. The beds were not comfortable, and earplugs are recommended to help block out the noises of people going up and down the stairs and opening and closing doors as well as the noise coming from the street. The breakfast is nothing special - cereal, yogurt, milk, white toast, coffee/tea and juice - though the juice machine wasn't working and we had to wait until someone went to the store to purchase juice in the morning. The front desk staff were nice, but not incredibly helpful. One morning I came downstairs to find the receptionist asleep at the desk and when he awoke he wasn't very knowledgeable about the surrounding area. The complimentary wifi is deceiving - only basic internet (only email access and messaging worked) was provided though you could purchase full internet access. Overall, it was okay for two nights, but we were so happy to leave and enjoy better accommodations at our next location. Only recommended for the budget traveler wanting a private room rather than shared hostel space.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim4189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
The guest has booked the cheapest room with Double bed, Flat screen colour tv, hairdryer, coffee bar and shower in the room which is located on 3rd floor and not on the 5th floor as described by the guest. We are inspected every year by the Visit England and we have fire inspections carried out throughout the year. It has been clearly advertise that WIFI is available throughout the hotel and charges apply. We have not smoking policy throughout the building. We cannot control smoking outside the hotel building. We are running this hotel for more than 20 years. If the guest has said was correct, we would be out of business by now. We provide clean and comfortable rooms at a very reasonable price in the heart of the London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    159
    189
    70
    34
See reviews for
112
174
34
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
S-Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Me and my wife weren't expecting too much of this hotel but was told by lastmin.com that this was a 3star Hotel. We are not stuck up or posh we always stay at 2-3 star hotels and never seen anything like this before.
Firstly this is not a hotel, it should be classed as a B&B. Check in was fine. Staff polite. gave details of breakfast time etc. We had room 25 on the first floor. As we walked up to our room we noticed that the lower half of walls were carpeted. Yes thats right walls carpeted!
Room was small but thats expected. Very shabby in need of a lick of paint and some new furnishings.The bathroom is laughable. Its basically an old cupboard that they have fitted a shower in, toilet and wash basin. I understand space is limited but it just dosent cut it i'm afraid.
We checked in at 6 and had theatre tickets for 7.30pm so we were in a rush to get out. I went to make a cup of tea while my wife got ready and noticed the kettle didnt work. I thought I would mention it to staff on out way out. However when i went to charge up my phone I noticed that didnt work either. There was no power to any of the sockets. As we were in a rush leaving I forgot to mention it at reception.
However on our return I told the man at reception the problem. He told me there was nothing he could to now and to report it in the morning. We were happy to do this until we realised, upon returning to our room, that our phones desperately needed charging. So i returned to reception and he agreed to take a look. The trip switch (located in the hall) was off and he flicked it back on. Great we thought, until I plugged in the charger and it blew up in my face! The plug pins were still in the socket, sparks flying, everything black, including my hands. Luckily I was ok. Just shook up, could have been a lot worse.
My wife ran back down to reception. The man came up and just looked at the socket and basically did not know what to do. We requested a change of room because obviously it was not safe. To be honest I wanted to get the hell out of there. We were told there were no more rooms and when we requested a refund he amazingly found another room!
Unsurprisingly my wife and I did not sleep well at all. Half expected the place to catch on fire! The bars on the windows didnt help and also the fact that the window did not close properly added to it.
Onto breakfast. It is not a full continental breakfast. Honestly would you constitute 3 pieces of toast and some cereal with warm milk a full continental breakfast? oh and the warm yogurts left on the table. However I wouldnt call them tables, they are actually cheap plastic patio sets in a tiny room - not at all spacious as described.
After breakfast we went to check out and wanted to make a formal complaint. Only to be told by a different member of staff to basically prove that it was their socket that caused it. He was rude, not one apology, he looked bored to be honest. not at all helpful. I asked what he was going to do about it and he said he would get his electrician to look at the socket to determine fault. I will tell you now that I have used the very same charger at my house for 4 months without a problem. My children use it to charge their Ipods, my wife and I charge our Iphones and Ipad with it. Never a problem. We were offered a £10 refund by this member of staff. Which I refused.
I informed them i would be contacting my solicitor and they would nt give the socket as its their property. I took photographs and had a signed declaration from that member of staff that the socket can be passed to my solicitor for testing.
Now I have read some reviews on here and the responses from the hotel and I am shocked that the hotel has been so rude and dont seem to take any responsibility for their actions. For me an apology would have been a good start but i did not even get that.
I am afraid its only a matter of time that some one could get seriously hurt if these issues are not addressed. The place needs rewiring. Wish I read the reviews before I booked. Please for your safety do not go!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S_WalesDavidParnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
This guest has basically exaggerated everything. They came to the hotel with a faulty charger and now want to blame every thing on the hotel. We changed their room and even offered to pay for a new charger but all he wanted was a full refund and a free stay.

On numerous occasion he threatened us that he will post a bad review on TripAdvisor if he does not get a full refund.

We take the health & safety issues very seriously indeed and the hotel wiring and all its appliances are tested every year and we have got a clean bill of health every time.

It is not worth commenting on the other issues expect to say that they wanted a free stay and we were not prepared to be blackmailed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

l stayed here last week with my 10 year old daughter for four nights and was very happy. The room was small (as expected from previous reviews) but it was comfortable and absolutely spotless. We were in London to see the sights and the room was perfect for us. The staff are so nice and helpful. We dealt a lot with Luci and he was a fantastic help to us with everything such a lovely friendly young man. We had a room in the back and it was very quiet at night time which was another bonus. The hotel is about five minutes from Victoria and only a few tube stops to all the main sights. lf you want a good clean budget hotel and save your money for food and shopping then stay here. if you want more then pay double elsewhere.Well done to all at the Dover Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thanks for your review.We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We provide very comfortable rooms at very reasonable price in the heart of London. We are just few minutes walk from all the major attractions. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarawak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed in a family room for three nights in this hotel. The receptionist are very friendly and ready to assist us with our request.the hotel is just 10 mins walk from Victoria station. The area is quite far from the city noise and quite surrounding... We already expected the room is small based on others review before we check in so we were emotionally and mentally ready when it come to small space toilet. However the room is very clean and everything we need were there, boiler, hair dryer, etc except for iron, we need to request it. Only one comment is we can hear the steps, and whenever people replace their chair or whatever next to us or stay upstairs.... The breakfast was quite simple and need to wait for others to finish their meal because of the limited space at the dining area... However, for those who go for a budget hotel I think it's worth for a stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieJenggut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
We take this opportunity to thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed here for 1 night as a solo traveller. I booked with the hotel and on talking to other visitors, had paid more than them. However, my basement room, although small with a very tiny shower room was extremely quiet and airy. The room was very clean and the bed really comfortable , the staff were most pleasant. It was a very good option for a quick visit to London

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boyes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
We take this opportunity to thank you for reviewing and staying with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We provide clean and comfortable rooms at very seasonable price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My wife, daughter, and I stayed here for 8 nights. The rooms are small, and the bathrooms are tiny, but it was clean, the beds were comfortable, the TV worked, and it offered us a great location. If you would rather spend your money on fun stuff (sight seeing, food, drink, etc), then this is the perfect hotel for the budget conscious.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arthur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
We take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and your generous praised for our hotel.
We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My Wife and I stayed for two nights a week ago, in order to visit the Chelsea Flower Show. The location is good - a short walk from Victoria station/ Underground in a nice locality. We had the option of Basement or 3rd Floor Room, and chose the latter; accessible by a narrow, awkward stair (especially with luggage) - there is no optional lift! The Bedroom/ Toilet was 'compact', clean and tidy but functional; provided with fresh towels daily; Yale lock but no secure double-lock. Everything worked fine - TV, Kettle, Shower, Window opening. Instructions were clearly posted. Continental Breakfast in Basement from 7.30 hrs was acceptably good. All Staff were polite and helpful during the stay.
Overall our assessment would be Good Experience, but slightly overpriced for the facilities.

Room Tip: Intermittent drone from (plumbing?) Motor, from waking until late at night. Prefer lower floors to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnigmaReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
We take this opportunity to thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We provide clean and comfortable rooms at very reasonable price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Stanley House
Stanley House
#705 of 1,067 in London
1,144 reviews
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#557 of 1,067 in London
427 reviews
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Vegas Hotel
Vegas Hotel
#900 of 1,067 in London
43 reviews
Pimlico
The Melita
The Melita
#601 of 1,067 in London
284 reviews
Pimlico
Huttons Hotel
Huttons Hotel
#629 of 1,067 in London
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dover Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dover Hotel

Property: The Dover Hotel
Address: 42-44 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 1RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #638 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dover Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dover is a hotel near Victoria Station in the heart of Central London offers quality inexpensive accommodation, where you can base your visit to London, whether it be for business or pleasure. At the Dover, our advanced booking rates offer a significant discount over our standard rates, so to get the best deal, always choose our Advanced Booking option. We are conveniently located near Victoria Rail, Underground and Coach Station (just 3 minutes walk), as well as the Gatwick Express for Gatwick Airport and other major transport links to provide easy access to all tourist and business areas. We’re also well located for shopping in Central London. We are within walking distance of Buckingham Palace, the Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre, Whitehall and Parliament Square, as well as the London Eye, River Thames and Westminster Abbey. With friendly staff, excellent service (free Wi-Fi for all guests – connect up to 4 devices per room!) and an ideal location, Dover Hotel is the perfect place to stay if you need a hotel near Victoria Station on your next visit to London. Please explore our site for more details and our discount rates, suitable for any budget, and feel free to contact us with any questions you may have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Dover Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing