We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly little budget hotel.”
Review of The Dover Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dover Hotel
Ranked #638 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A friendly little budget hotel.”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I do feel guilty about being critical about this hotel as the staff have tried their best. They were kind and attentive. It is a budget hotel so you get what you pay for. Sheets and towels freshly laundered. Good supply of tea and coffee.

Breakfast starts too late at 7:30 most of the day is done. If you want to be in the area ok place to stay, but no frills.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your response.

Over the years we have come to the conclusion that for the vast majority of our guests in the hotel of our size, our breakfast time of 7.30 to 10.30 am is ideally suited to them and hence we have kept that time.

We have provided tea and coffee facilities in the room for those who leave the hotel early.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    159
    189
    70
    34
See reviews for
112
174
34
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I had to stay one night at this hotel as it is close to the places I wanted to visit in December , The hotel was little expensive compared to other hotels , also it's rooms are very tight , I was single in the room , and it looks very tight for one person Specially the bathroom !! I checked in, went to the room , and then found no internet access which was offered for free at the hotel , went back to the receptionist and he said it is a problem that he can not deal with , and the engineer is not coming until tomorrow morning , and he did not try to help at all , he did not even feel sorry that , was like normal to happen !! then I went with anther guest at the hotel needed the internet to Mcdonalds to use their internet ..

Was good that they kept my bag in the next day after I checked out till late time at the day.
They have a great location but they have to provide better services !! It was okay but the internet point made it bad experience with the place .

Room Tip: second floor , overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbdoShawky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
We thank you for taking the time to write the response. Our internet supplier's server was unfortunately down on that day and we did mention that to all our guests. We also offered them two alternative sources where they could get free internet.

We can not control when the servers will break down but at least, as part of our our service, we do recommend alternatives.

We pride on our friendly service in an excellent location at reasonable prices and the vast majority of our guests are happy with that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

It was small but the whole street was converted row houses. We had two comfortable twin beds in our room and managed. The bathroom was very small but it made us laugh. We had breakfast in the basement and it got us on our way. We were very close to Victoria Station which made it great for us coming in and leaving London. We found George's Tavern down the street which suited us nicely. It was close to the Hop on Hop off bus which we used for two days. The front desk was always helpful. Wi-Fi was quite usable. We needed a first floor room and it was waiting for us. When you are using a space to primarily sleep in what is really necessary?

Room Tip: Converted homes rarely have elevators. Request first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivypoison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Many thanks for your kind word and highlighting the positive points of our hotel.

We are very centrally located and have tried to maintain a good balance between space and the facilities that our clients want in the old Victorian buildings in Central London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I stayed at the Dover Hotel the week before Christmas and paid £45 for a single room. Yes, the rooms are small, but this is standard for London and would be expected in a hotel double this price. The bed was very comfortable, the guys at reception were very helpful and friendly, the wifi signal was strong and consistent, the room was comfortably warm but also had fully opening window and patio door, and the bathroom and bedding were clean. Reception was 24 hours and I felt completely safe walking the 2 minutes down the road from Victoria station.

No, this is not the best hotel I have ever stayed in, but I give this place 5 stars as finding a room for less than £100 in such a great zone 1 location which is clean, warm, safe and comfortable is a very difficult task as anyone who knows London should be aware. If you require a spacious room and 5* amenities, you won't find it for anywhere near this price (from my experience at least). Great value for money and will go back if I'm traveling on a budget again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
We take this opportunity to thank you for your kind praise for our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We provide clean and comfortable room in the hear of London at very reasonable rate. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stopped over here on the 26th of November, only paid £65 for the room so it was very cheap for London. I was in the basement level, the room was clean and tidy, but did smell a bit stale. There was a window, not sure why this was never opened. The toilet is so small you can touch all 4 walls at the same time. Did not want to face breakfast. I would not stay here again.

Great location, shame about the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhamken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
We are sorry to here your experience while staying with us. We could have changed your room if you had informed the reception while your stay. Every day, we keep open each and every window for at least 2 hours for fresh air to flow. We shut the windows before check in, so on arrival customers can enjoy nice and warm room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Just not nice. Had no plans to submit a review until I saw some of the hotel responses to other reviews.
I stayed here in summer and from a moment I walked in a knew I'd made a mistake. Rooms are tiny, the room I had only just seemed to fit a bed within, and the bathroom was the smallest I've ever seen in a hotel.
Dated and tatty throughout. Someone else mentioned fire regulations and escape routes. The hotel say they meet all requirements and I'm sure they do but if this is the case then I think the fire regulations need updating!
Breakfast was very poor, served in the stuffy room in the basement. I sit down for a minute, had a look around and then got back up and went elsewhere.
I decided I would never, ever go here again.
I honestly don't know how anyone would score this hotel 5 star on Trip Adviser - really!!!
I've sure the hotel was respond and downplay this review - but you have been warned.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Team_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoverLondon, Manager at The Dover Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We respect your opinion and while there is a bit of truth in what you say, there is also a lot of exaggeration.

We have taken note of your comments and will address them even though they are 6 months old.
We will be starting a refurbishment programme next year and that will sort out most of what you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Stanley House
Stanley House
#705 of 1,067 in London
1,144 reviews
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#557 of 1,067 in London
427 reviews
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Vegas Hotel
Vegas Hotel
#900 of 1,067 in London
43 reviews
Pimlico
The Melita
The Melita
#601 of 1,067 in London
284 reviews
Pimlico
Huttons Hotel
Huttons Hotel
#629 of 1,067 in London
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dover Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dover Hotel

Property: The Dover Hotel
Address: 42-44 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 1RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #638 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dover Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dover is a hotel near Victoria Station in the heart of Central London offers quality inexpensive accommodation, where you can base your visit to London, whether it be for business or pleasure. At the Dover, our advanced booking rates offer a significant discount over our standard rates, so to get the best deal, always choose our Advanced Booking option. We are conveniently located near Victoria Rail, Underground and Coach Station (just 3 minutes walk), as well as the Gatwick Express for Gatwick Airport and other major transport links to provide easy access to all tourist and business areas. We’re also well located for shopping in Central London. We are within walking distance of Buckingham Palace, the Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre, Whitehall and Parliament Square, as well as the London Eye, River Thames and Westminster Abbey. With friendly staff, excellent service (free Wi-Fi for all guests – connect up to 4 devices per room!) and an ideal location, Dover Hotel is the perfect place to stay if you need a hotel near Victoria Station on your next visit to London. Please explore our site for more details and our discount rates, suitable for any budget, and feel free to contact us with any questions you may have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Dover Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing