We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grange Holborn Hotel
Ranked #409 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“poor !”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We booked afternoon tea here as a treat on our way home from a theatre weekend.
The normal price would have been £24 per person but we had a 2 for 1 so it cost £24 for two.
What a dissapoinment! The sandwiches were going hard and were uninspired. The scones were freshly baked and lovely but the 4 tiny cakes I'd say had visited Mr Kipling.
We were not offered a top up of tea or indeed if we needed anything else at all and our table was set next to the wide screen TV which was
Loudly showing rugby which the staff were obviously watching.
We paid the £24 plus service of £2.50 that was automatically added but I would have been devastated to have had to pay full price of over £50 for a very poor afternoon treat.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank poshscouser2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    795
    416
    148
    85
See reviews for
297
801
101
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I stayed here with business for one night and would not choose to stay again. There was nothing wrong with it as such, it is just looking a little jaded and felt impersonal. It is a good location if you don't mind a 10 - 15 minute walk to things. There are tonnes of restaurants and bars around this area if you don't want to stay in the hotel. The room itself was a decent size for London with a very comfy settee. The room and the hotel was clean and the toiletries were very nice. Breakfast the next morning was usual fare. My biggest gripe was that there was no iron in the room which I would have expected for this level of hotel. Also check your bill when checking out - work had settled my room and breakfast but they tried to charge me again and when I pointed out that I should only be paying the £12.50 for room service, the lady checked and represented the bill but I have now come away and when I checked the receipt for what they had charged my car, it is for £158.00! Everyone that I met in the hotel was not from the UK and language was a bit of a barrier.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joby69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Nice location. Main streets are in walking distance. The hotel appearance is aged with little bit disappointing first impression, not a four star level. But the interior and room facilities are enough to get four or five stars. Staffs are friendly, and the concierge knows good restaurants (We enjoyed an Italian restaurant. Very good recommendation). Curtain pattern is too vivid. Little distractive.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jinwoo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Very welcoming staff on arrival, lovely room and facilities. Swimming pool area relaxing and enjoyed the beauty treatments. Decided to eat in restaurant rather than wander round london looking for somewhere. Food was fantastic and great set menu price. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Well located with comfortable rooms - and good food and bar service. Price not bad for London - with easy tube access and nearby car parking if needed. Friendly reception staff who coped efficiently with a large group arrival.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UKtraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I only stayed one Saturday night with my wife for a getaway. It was a good deal through Lastminute though I could have got the same deal by going directly. The Secret Hotel deal through Lastminute claiming big savings - not true.

The hotel was a great position for the West End, 10-15 minutes brisk walk to Covent Garden. Rooms were typical of the 'English' style and would be great for those looking for that effect. Everything worked, service excellent, continental breakfast was great.
We didn't have time to use the spa but it looked pretty good too. Free internet (well done) and very comfortable beds.

At the price it was great for a city break and would be good for business I am sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I arrived in London with nowhere to stay and went to the booking service at St Pancras who sent me here. Whilst not cheap my rate did include breakfast and was not unreasonable. I was welcomed at reception by friendly cheerful staff and soon was in a spacious comfortable and spotlessly clean room. Good toiletries and an excellent selection of teas helped me recover from the trauma of being in a strange city with no accommodation. I was just sorry not to have time to use the spa (maybe next time for I would certainly stay here again). Breakfast was of good quality (a good selection of fresh fruit and lovely little croissants) tho' I didn't try the cooked offerings. It is just a short walk from the tube and on a well lit main road but I was not aware of much noise despite being at the front. Comfy bed. Only gripe would be small pillows but they were comfy and I slept well. I stayed here alone, returning post theatre and felt quite safe. Sainsburys on hand for supplies if needed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anon551746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#284 of 1,068 in London
795 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#490 of 1,068 in London
532 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#347 of 1,068 in London
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#324 of 1,068 in London
4,215 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#68 of 1,068 in London
1,527 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Holborn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Holborn Hotel

Property: Grange Holborn Hotel
Address: 50-60 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Spa Hotel in London
#246 Family Hotel in London
#268 Business Hotel in London
#285 Luxury Hotel in London
#345 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange Holborn Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegantly composed Grange Holborn Hotel is uniquely placed to satisfy the most discerning visitors to the capital; whether enjoying the local theatres, shops, museums, galleries and parks or maximizing time in the financial heart of the City, the Grange Holborn Hotel, provides the perfect location for any visit to the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grange Holborn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Holborn London
Hotel Grange Holborn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing