We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel & close to all sight seeing attraction`s”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange Holborn Hotel
Ranked #416 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here recently on a `hen-do`. We all had a great time. The Hotel is excellent. All staff....reception, concierge, spa staff, waiter`s/waitress`s, bar staff, cleaner`s ALL very helpful and very friendly. The staff also recommended a restaurant nearby for us to eat on our first night. They arranged taxi`s for us as and when required. The room was very nice, clean and spacious with everything we needed. The breakfast buffet was also very good with a large choice of hot and cold food. The spa treatment I had was fantastic and the pool is lovely too and wasn`t at all busy. The hotel is very close to Holborn tube and within walking distance of many attractions...British museum, Westminster, Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace, Downing Street, London eye and lot`s more. All-in-all a very enjoyable stay with excellent staff making it all the better. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 3rd floor overlooking the back. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Tilly188113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Holborn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your hen party - I hope the wedding went well too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,095 - 1,101 of 2,241 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights. It's close to Gt Ormond St Hospital and offers easy access to Covent Garden and the West End. The bedroom was bigger than at the Doubletree which is also very close and a similar price. Very comfortable 6ft bed, sofa and a couple of chairs. Nice bathroom. Free wi-fi with easy access and great signal. The hotel is rated 5* but most people would rate it 4* - very similar to a standard US Marriot hotel. Staff all friendly and professional. Odd check-in. They charge credit card on arrival and take a second deposit on a card for other charges. I have never known a quality hotel do this anywhere in the world. Public rooms were disappointing but lots of restaurants and bars close by. Breakfast room and food was 3*.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are noisy. View from the 9th floor over the City is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CJMDebyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Location: Southampton Row is not the most obvious choice for west end shops and theatre but is actually very convenient, close to Holborn tube station, walkable to Covent Garden and Oxford Street.

Staff: Reception at check in were bright and helpful- on enquiry about late check out they offered us midday at no extra charge, concierge were also friendly and helpful.

Amenities: Room was comfortable with two comfortable standard sized double beds, nice linen, good quality bathroom and excellent shower. Our room at the back was very quiet until the rubbish collection around 7.30 though that was brief! Swimming pool and leisure facilities are good, though sauna could have been hotter and showers in changing rooms need a re-grout, but nice overall. Restaurant looked good but we skipped on breakfast because at £23 for English we thought this was too pricey, whereas mini bar in the room and coffee and cakes in the lounge were well priced. Various other eateries nearby but you need to go a bit further (like 15/20 minutes to Covent Garden) for a really good choice. Hotel has a Japanese restaurant on site as well as the first floor restaurant but we did n't try either.

Ambience: The lounge was quite busy when we returned at about 11.30, maybe needs a bit of a re-think, had to catch a waiter to get served, though he was then quick and helpful enough, but the decor/ furnishings, not quite sure what there does n't quite do it. Pleasant enough for a late coffee though.

Value for money: I was tempted to book this hotel anyway but what clinched this over one nearer to Covent Garden was the fantastic last minute deal on Hotels.com which for a five star hotel was amazing. For the price we paid it was unbeatable but I would stay here again for more money, providing the deal was reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Travelfromhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Holborn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

So pleased that the hotel and facilities lived up to your expectations and you enjoyed all the local attractions too. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel is lovely and clean and all staff very helpful. I forgot my phone charger and they took my phone to reception and it came back with full battery free of charge! Spa very nice although a jacuzzi would have made it better we were here as a hen party and I would def recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't stay on floor 3 as most hens are on this floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Holborn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Glad your hen group enjoyed their stay - enjoy the wedding!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here for my partners 40th at the beginnin g of May. The location is brilliant really central to everything and I drove in amd parled over the road at the underground NCP and got a good dicount from thehotel. The staff were very friendly etc but they said they had upgraded us but the bedrooms are smaller than a travel inn and do indeed look very very dated and there are no sockets to plug in a phone charger etc and i definately think its overpriced.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank 64rachels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Holborn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Sorry to hear that your expectations were not fully satisfied on this occasion. I hope however your partner had a good birthday and that you will come again and maybe try one of our other hotels or room types.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Excellent hotel for a quick short break in London. Location is superb within easy walking distance of the west end and the busy Covent Garden. Booked a very last minute stay one Saturday afternoon for that very evening and was very pleased with our hotel choice. We will go back for sure when next in London.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank WarrenandHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I booked this hotel as I was very pleased when I stayed at The Grange St Pauls hotel. Unfortunately this hotel is not of the same standard even although it is advertised as such. Our bedroom was very tired looking. As a previous reviewer has mentioned there is a lack of usable sockets in the bedroom. The breakfast was very disappointing as the hash browns were not cooked well and the pastries were very dry and not enjoyable to eat. The concierge staff were very helpful and pleasant but most of the other staff were quite cold and unfriendly.
On a positive note the hotel is well positioned for access to the underground and for local amenities.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank zed1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#349 of 1,076 in London
4,467 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#364 of 1,076 in London
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Grange City Hotel
Grange City Hotel
#373 of 1,076 in London
2,956 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#244 of 1,076 in London
3,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Holborn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Holborn Hotel

Address: 50-60 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Spa Hotel in London
#267 Business Hotel in London
#286 Luxury Hotel in London
#343 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £100 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange Holborn Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegantly composed Grange Holborn Hotel is uniquely placed to satisfy the most discerning visitors to the capital; whether enjoying the local theatres, shops, museums, galleries and parks or maximizing time in the financial heart of the City, the Grange Holborn Hotel, provides the perfect location for any visit to the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grange Holborn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Holborn London
Hotel Grange Holborn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing