We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star service but rooms a bit tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange Holborn Hotel
Ranked #396 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Bewdley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 star service but rooms a bit tired”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Quick check in at this 5?????star hotel in a great location , Close to tube and Covent Garden a short walk away. Quiet area in the evening. Traditional rooms ,tiny bathroom . Breakfast -didn't try ,too expensive, but nearby Patisserie Valerie ,Cafe Nero and Pain Quotidien. Iron didn't work, but soon remedied by arrival of new iron + board within 5 mins of call to Reception. 3rd floor corner room facing front but quiet and bed comfortable, slept well. Very friendly and helpful staff. 5 star staff ,but rooms a bit tired.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have great, light, people watching views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnsuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Holborn Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you found the room to be quiet despite being in a busy area of central London. I hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    783
    402
    147
    83
See reviews for
291
784
98
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kosmos, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed 5 nights with my husband and small daughter and were upgraded to a room with 2 queen beds on arrival. The room is MASSIVE for London. Given that our ave rate per night was GBP200 I think you'll be hard pressed to find such value anywhere else in London. St James Hotel is ca. GBP650 per night for a matchbox sized room.
Bathroom was very small with a single basin only but the bath was great and I was able to stretch out full length. Water was hot, fixtures all Grohe so nothing to complain about there. Towels were changed regularly and appeared clean but had an odd smell...
Not a kid friendly hotel as the pay tv had only one movie - Planes. For those with little kids, there is a kids menu available on Room service. Food was good and arrived hot after 15-20 mins.
Honestly, this is NOT a 5 star hotel. The beds are not very firm, the decor is "ugly English", the tv isn't good (limited channels), the room was noisy (on a busy rd with ambulances and police cars chasing up and down all night) BUT it was really great value, clean and very big. Located quite close to Holborn tube which takes you any where you want in London within the space of a few minutes. Staff were pretty friendly and aside from one lady at the bar who struggled to communicate in English, everyone was always very helpful. Would usually prefer to stay in a true 5star but honestly, for what we paid, no one should be complaining that they didn't really get it here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the main road....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank 00Caro2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Holborn Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to make a review and I am pleased that overall you were satisfied with your stay and felt it to be of good value. Your comments have been noted. I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Booked this the day before I was due to arrive via Lastminute.com and I stayed during a bank holiday. It is close to Holborn underground staiton (approx 10 mins walk). Easy to spot.

Rooms were really clean and I did appreciate the number of pillows, number of towels and necessary items such as shower gel, shampoo, conditioner (surprisingly good compared to others), and body moisturizer that has been provided.

I loved the way they provide a nice looking jar for cotton wool and the "wet-room" style shower head - would be good to have toothbrush and toothpaste as well but it's not bad.

Two beds makes it good and spacious too esp for those that may not want to share a bed. Good choice of food on the menu and the complimentary wifi and use of spa facilities makes it a plus.

Would be back. Nice 5* hotel.

Room Tip: Lastminute.com would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Wing T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Holborn Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review, it is good to hear from happy customers. We hope you will be able to come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Ideal hotel for night in london didn't have breakfast 23 pounds pp weather spoons 2 min walk away ! Nice shower smallish bed but clean and comfortable , on 9 th floor good view across london 10 mins walk to london eye staff polite couldn't open doors for safety reasons and no window so air condition was used

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nickynoodless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Holborn Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you found it clean and comfy. We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

The price is good for London and it was a great location for us as our child is in Great Ormond Street but the rooms are very tired. One of the chairs in our room had a large obvious stain but they decided to just leave it.

The gym and pool are good (pools are hard to find in this area).

One of the low moments came when my in-laws were staying there. In the morning they came to the hospital. My mother in law was feeding my daughter so I telephoned the hotel and asked if they could check out 30 minutes later. I was told there would be a £20 charge if they did. I guess it's the kind of impersonal service you get from some places nowadays.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank d10brp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Holborn Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Sorry to hear your little one is not well - hope they are better soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The courtyard is extremely unwelcoming and I was amazed at the state of this hotel considering it was supposed to be 5*
The concierge was not the most helpful and neither were any of the other staff to be fair. Breakfast was £23 per head so going on the rest of the hotel we gave that a miss and went elsewhere.
Our room was alright but nothing to shout about. The bathmat was hidden in the wardrobe! The bath had no rails to assist getting in and out and for elderly or visually impaired it's a problem.

Once housekeeping had been in, we were left without towels and face cloths. The late night barman struggled to understand what we wanted and when he got our drinks wrong seemed to find it difficult to discard them and give us correct ones. He even argued that my friend had ordered diet coke which she never had or would.
The bar has no atmosphere at all.
We asked them to remove all the service charges as we didn't think the service was worth tipping.

I had called in advance to ask them to clear out the fridge so that I could store medical stuff without disturbing the mini bar items and although this was agreed it had not been done.

The tea and coffee making facilities in the room were ok but the cupboard where it's kept is very warm and that is where the milk is also stored!

I liked the firm bed, nothing worse than going away and having to sleep on a soft mattress. The best thing about this hotel is it's location but there are plenty of other hotels in the area that are much better quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Holborn Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
So sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Please do contact our Guest Relations team, we would like to discuss this with you further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was a trip for my wife's birthday; we wanted somewhere close to the theatre but affordable.
The booking procedure was very easy and the staff very helpful.
Once we arrived the staff could not have been more helpful.
The decor is very 1930's style but of modern quality - even the orchids in the baskets dotted around had been chosen well and clearly tended. The bedroom was clean, spacious and very comfortable.
The location is fine - a short walk from Holborn tube station, but also only a few minutes from Covent Garden, Chinatown and Shaftesbury Avenue.
We will be using this hotel again if we need to stay in London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Elliott3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Holborn Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and felt the hotel was well located and the decor good. Hope you enjoyed the theatre. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#295 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#485 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#338 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#324 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,122 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Holborn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Holborn Hotel

Property: Grange Holborn Hotel
Address: 50-60 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in London
#246 Family Hotel in London
#268 Business Hotel in London
#277 Luxury Hotel in London
#345 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange Holborn Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegantly composed Grange Holborn Hotel is uniquely placed to satisfy the most discerning visitors to the capital; whether enjoying the local theatres, shops, museums, galleries and parks or maximizing time in the financial heart of the City, the Grange Holborn Hotel, provides the perfect location for any visit to the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grange Holborn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Holborn London
Hotel Grange Holborn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing