We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spatious rooms, but too old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grange Holborn Hotel
Ranked #409 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Spatious rooms, but too old”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed two nights in a single room. It was OK, but nothing amazing. Quiet.
The gym is small with the essential machines and I got locked in at 10pm. The pool is nice but I was put off by the staff of the wellness centre.
Overall, this is not going to be my choice next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denitsa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Holborn Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
I am sorry to learn your expectations were not fully satisfied on this occasion, although you did find the room spacious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    795
    416
    148
    85
See reviews for
297
801
101
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A nice start, with a room upgrade and the room was lovely. A good size, air con worked very well (and was much needed), great bathroom. Bed was king sized and comfy, nice view from the 8th floor. Breakfast is buffet style and there is quite a good choice, although not as extensive as some other hotels. It's best feature is the rooftop bar. Why oh why do they close it so early! Staff were excellent; friendly and helpful. The location is good for Kings Cross, 5 minutes in a taxi (best if you have cases) or a couple of stops to Holborn on the tube. This area is central London but quiet and peaceful, comparatively speaking. Plenty of interesting things to do and eating places nearby. Would certainly stay here again. May bring a swimsuit for the pool next time.

Room Tip: We had an 8th floor room facing the main road and slept fine as well as having a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Holborn Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and you liked our Rooftop bar. We do close our public bars at 11pm in order to ensure the comfort of our hotel guests, however we do have 24 hour resident bars available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was my second stay at the Grange.I recommended it to a party of friends and we booked 6 rooms.I was slightly apprehensive as everyone has differing tastes, but I need not have worried.The staff were superb and very friendly. I e mailed to ask for a quiet room and they put is on floor 9 which was perfect. There was no noise except the occasional police siren.
my room was even better than last time.It was very spacious with a 6 foot wide bed which was marvellous in this heatwave.I also had a 2 seat sofa and chair.The bathroom , although small, had everything you could want and was exceptionally clean
This time I did have a swim in the pool.Fruit and juices were provided in the spa area and this was a nice touch
The concierge was extremely helpful both with the luggage and taxis and everyone was so friendly
On my last visit I did not have breakfast as it was so expensive.This time there was an offer of a continental breakfast for £10 and there was everything you could have wanted. There was also an English breakfast option.
I cannot fault my visit There were no little niggles and I will definitely return if the price is right.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank valerie i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Holborn Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
So glad you enjoyed your return visit to the Grange Holborn Hotel and you enjoyed the spa too. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel; everything really clean and beautiful.
Bed was so comfortable and shower was amazing.
Bit disappointed when we woke up thinking We would head to the pool only to be told it was closed till 12. Spoke to the manager and they were very apologetic and happily extended our stay from 11am to 6pm..
Pretty decent gym- Amazing pool, and lovely steam and sauna. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosielew123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Holborn Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to enjoy the spa too. I hope you will return in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Staff is great, although not that well organized as a team. Very helpful with local information.
rooms are very well appointed and easy to use. The breakfasts are ridiculously, almost offensively expensive, but that happens in many business hotels.

Room Tip: Higher up the better, lots of street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Carl2065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Holborn Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Glad you found the hotel to be a great place for business travellers to stay. We hope you will return on your next trip to England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here in the part this hotel has a good check in where the staff are always ready to help
Although the rooms are dated they are more spacious than some hotels in london and at least everything works
The wifi is free
The staff are very polite and welcoming and if you can get a good deal on numerous web sites this hotel is good for high standard of service

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stevewales44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Close to the Holborn tube stop which services a couple of major lines. Our room was spacious and kept clean the entire time. Hotel was situated near a couple of grocery stores, coffee shops, pubs, etc. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#291 of 1,068 in London
795 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#498 of 1,068 in London
532 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#347 of 1,068 in London
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#323 of 1,068 in London
4,216 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#69 of 1,068 in London
1,528 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Holborn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Holborn Hotel

Property: Grange Holborn Hotel
Address: 50-60 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Spa Hotel in London
#246 Family Hotel in London
#268 Business Hotel in London
#284 Luxury Hotel in London
#345 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange Holborn Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegantly composed Grange Holborn Hotel is uniquely placed to satisfy the most discerning visitors to the capital; whether enjoying the local theatres, shops, museums, galleries and parks or maximizing time in the financial heart of the City, the Grange Holborn Hotel, provides the perfect location for any visit to the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grange Holborn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Holborn London
Hotel Grange Holborn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing