We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean but very noisy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Christopher's Inn Camden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Christopher's Inn Camden
Ranked #132 of 827 Speciality Lodging in London
Helsinki
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean but very noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

My experience is based on one night only, I went to St Christopher's Inn to sleep and took off early the following day. I stayed in a female-only dorm with five other girls on the third floor. I had checked the price of the bed online but had not yet booked my stay before arriving at the hostel. It turned out that the online price was 10 pounds less than if I had booked my bed at the hostel, and the member of the staff I spoke with was very kind and advised me to sit down and book the bed via my phone so I saved ten pounds. I paid 15,90 for my stay.

They were singing karaoke at the bar and I thought it would not be a problem, however the noise was terrible even on the third floor. Fortunately they stopped at midnight. The room itself was clean and nice but the en suite "bathroom" was really small and only had a tiny stall with an overhead shower, and it took lots of time before the water got warm. So if you don't want to get cold standing under a cold shower waiting for the water to get hot, you should maybe open the door of the stall, turn the shower on, quickly close the door, and repeat this about five times (you need to press the button every 20 seconds or so) before you can actually enter the stall itself. But the shower and toilet were very clean, which I appreciated.

The wifi was okay, the breakfast was just what you would expect from a hostel: toast and some cereal, not much else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    71
    45
    15
    11
See reviews for
3
11
74
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the dorms at this hostel for just one night in July. After having had a great experience staying at St Christopher´s Oasis in the centre of London, we booked this hostel assuming all St Christopher Inns were on par. We were sadly disappointed. We arrived in the evening and had to wait quite a while until the bar staff were free to check us - although they were friendly enough it was clear the customers in the bar were the priority. We were told breakfast finished at 9, but we were still surprised to see everything completely packed away a few minutes past 9. Thus we had to opt for a hot breakfast, which took a long time coming and wasn't exactly what we ordered. The girl on the morning shift was very rude and acted like it was a hassle to serve us. We were going to leave our bags at the hostel while we went out for the day but in the end just couldn't wait to get out of their. Such a shame as its clear not all St Christopher´s Inns are like Camden.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

The Hostel is in a perfect location for Camden and all it has to offer, let alone access to sight see the rest of London.
My friend and I stayed in November as we had tickets for a gig in the forum. I love the buzz of the hostel and personally like the bar downstairs and the entertainment, though I can see this would not suit everyone.
We stayed in a small 6 bed dorm with ensuite, but when we got there 4 girls were already in situ and appeared to spread all over the dorm and the ensuite, making it seem messy and and not as clean as it could be. As we were only staying one night we decided not to say anything, but if we were there for longer I would have had to. Our room mates didn't seem to be aware that there were others in the room, particularly when they got up at 6am. However since is a hostel I do expect this to a certain degree and to be honest it is rare to experience that level of inconsideration.
I personally have never been disappointed when I stay in a St Christophers hostel and this will not put me off booking St Christophers, either here or elsewhere, in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the top if late night noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in a 6 person girls dorm. It was a very large room with doors linking to ensuite shower and toilet. The sink was in the room. There was a small sitting area in the bay window that looked onto the Camden High Street which was lovely in the afternoon. The room is clean and comfortable and the bathroom is cleaned every day. The street can be a bit noisy late at night and in the morning so if you are a light sleeper take note. If you are looking for a hostel to meet people outside of your room this is not for you. The 'chill out' room is tiny and in the basement, no one ever went down there . The bar can be fun at night, but if you are on the floor immediately above it I would imagine it can get very loud and difficult to sleep. Breakfast is basic and only goes for two hours so if you like to party late you will still need to get up by 8:45 to eat. The key card system was great as it proved very secure and let us come and go as we pleased. The hostel itself was in a terrific location, a two minute walk to the markets where you can eat every night as there is no where to cook at the hostel. For someone who has limited experience with backpacking I found my experience comfortable and safe as well as good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Australia123girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

I loved Camden and the location was fantastic. The staff is very hip and cool, but some came across as too good to help us. The hostel rooms were nothing special. When comparing to other hostels of that quality, it was quite expensive. We were served breakfast without cutlery and care, the menu was really not that great. Pub crawl was so much fun! Go on a Friday to end at the bar KOKO! Overall it was fine.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank candy160vt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in December in a private twin room. The room itself was very small and basic with a bunkbed and a tiny en suite bathroom. Had everything we needed though.
Location is amazing. Two minutes walk from Mornigton Crescent Tube station or 7 minutes from Camden Town tube station. Surrounded by bars and restaurants. Short walk to Camden Lock market. Bar downstairs is pretty good for food and reasonably priced drinks.
Woudl definately go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SilkSpectre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

If you're up for some fun and don't want to spend too much money, then this hostel is ideal for you. Perfect location between Camden Town and Mornington Crescent stations. Although the street is always busy and crowded, crammed with pubs and cafes, I had a good sleep. It gets a bit noisy and shaky in the mornings because of the underground, though. The building isn't new and has no lift but it wasn't too much of inconvenience for me. Loved karaoke and pub downstairs. Staff is really friendly and nice. If you don't plan to spend your holidays in and want to explore the city and have a good time, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica1251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
York & Albany
York & Albany
#623 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Camden Lock Hotel
#435 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camden
No photo provided
The Pack and Carriage
#388 of 827 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
PubLove at the Exmouth Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Inn Camden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Inn Camden

Property: St Christopher's Inn Camden
Address: 48-50 Camden High Street, London NW1 0LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 827 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Inn Camden 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Christopher's Hostel in Camden serves up a taste of North London like no other. Surrounded by rockers, city hipsters, young professionals and artists alike, everyone's welcome in this neighbourhood. You'll find the best hostel in London between the Camden Town and Mornington Crescent stations on the London Underground, mere minutes away from of all the must see tourist attractions in the area. This youth hostel is super easy to get to from anywhere in London, it's close to the famous Camden Locks and markets, and when you've had enough of the big city, you can make yourself at home in our relaxed chill out room, fully equipped with TVs, Internet access, couches and cushions. Camden has always been a haven for artistic types and in addition to the fantastic Belushi's bar attached to the hostel, there are plenty of pubs, clubs and bars in the area with the best live music in the city to keep you entertained - including the legendary KOKO! From this backpacker base you also have access to the many local markets selling everything you could possibly imagine and the Camden Locks, where you can stop for a drink, people watch, and see the barges pass by. You can also walk from the hostel in Camden to the London Zoo in Regent's Park and to Primrose Hill, which offers the best cityscape view over London, anywhere in the city! With one of the original Doc Martin shops nearby and exciting events at the MTV London studios just around the corner, there's so mush to see and do around this North London hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your St Christopher's Inn Camden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher`s, Camden Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing