We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable accom in the heart of Camden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Christopher's Inn Camden
Ranked #128 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed it.
The staff on reception were very helpful and welcoming. Ichi helped me when I was sick with directions to the nearest clinic that would see foreigners.
My room was spacious...the other girls friendly.
I loved the location which was close by the tube station and Camden Lock markets.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank That-redhead-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Had a great stay at this hostel! It's really small for a St. Christopher's (I have stayed at several) but that just makes it all the more awesome! The staff were really personable and friendly, making me and my friends feel right at home. The dorms are all ensuite (at least i think they are all ensuite) which is nice. Camden is a really cool part of London, and the markets, the music, and the bars are all basically on the same street as the hostel! If you're into the rockstar scene, you'll love it here! haha! Make sure you meet Chris, the manager! Great guy and always has time to chat!

Room Tip: If your squeamish about noise, you probably shouldn't stay here. Didn't bother me, but don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanuki_highway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Great wee place to stay, staff were lovely and so helpful! the only thing I would say is the shower in the room cut off every 5 seconds so couldn't have a good shower but apart from that brill! will defo be back

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

booked a room for six friends as we didnt wanna share with strangers so booked whole dorm however when we got there they told us this wasnt the case and we had to sleep wherever and with whoever.....paid 2 pound for a keycard which didnt work for outside or inside had to knock on window to get in then wake everybdy up in room 2 and 3 to get in room.........cold showers in morning .....no jam for toast .......local drunks waiting at door at 8 am to get in for a drink as its the only place that serves beer in camden that early.........only plus two girls behind the bar one from oz and one called peggy were friendly

Room Tip: dont do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowmadiddy, Manager at St Christopher's Inn Camden, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

I'm sorry, but you did not book a private dorm, and although we do go out of our way to keep groups together, sometimes the nature of the hostel business means this isn't always possible.

However, if you book a private dorm you are guaranteed to be put together as we have never split up a group that booked a private dorm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Good value for money, location amongst Camden's vibrant markets and entertainment venues will bode well with any visitor looking to shop, eat and enjoy the sites whilst indulging in a beer or two.
The rooms are a little cramped and the power sockets are few, especially as all visitors seem to have multiple devices and don't share very well! Access and security were good with 24 hour reception available. The facilities could do with more storage and hanging space for clothing, especially in the washroom area. The keycard deposit of £2 is stupid, if you are losing money by replacing them, then surcharge the room cost and give a discount voucher for services/food or change to digilocks!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarlonMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Room Tip: far too hot in the rooms. went to the wrong entrance at first but clearly the buzzers weren't wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Josie M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Absolutely horrible in every way. We booked to stay at St. Christopher's Inn Camden location from Friday February 14th to Monday February 17th. The booking was made for four of us on Friday night and we made a separate booking for Saturday and Sunday night for six of us. This was done to ensure our beds would be together, on the same booking. We were wrong.

When we arrived on Friday morning, we were told that the booking for Friday night was for one person (despite paying 101 pounds). After looking a little further, the receptionist was able to find that it was four people. Even though we had paid extra and booked all the beds together, we were told that they absolutely cannot accommodate the four of us in one room and instead we would be split up 3 and 1 for Friday night and 5 and 1 for Saturday and Sunday night. Without any attempts to fix this, the receptionist was convinced that this is the only we would be able to stay there. At this point we asked for a manager. The manager told us that she will work on the room situation and that she will try her best to accommodate us all in one room. It's hard to understand why this wasn't planned in advance, especially since their website showed 4 beds available in one room for Friday night and 6 for Saturday and Sunday. This was the main reason we stayed at the Camden location. If we wanted to be split up, we would have stayed in a location closer to the city and a lot cheaper.

While we were waiting for the manager to sort things out, we decided to have breakfast at the hostel's pub, Belushi's. Two of our friends ordered Eggs Florentine. After waiting for our food for 25 minutes, the manager informs us that the 'chef' does not know how to make poached eggs and they have to switch their order. There were about six breakfast items on the menu and the chef could not even make at least two of them. An hour later when we finally received our breakfast, the manager comes back and lets us know that she was able to fit the four of us in one room for the Friday night but the six of us would be split up for Saturday and Sunday, 3 and 3. This was still unacceptable but a step up from the 5 and 1 that the receptionist claimed was the only solution.

Finally we were able to check into our room. Aside from the fact that the room smelled disgusting, completely filthy and over crowded, there was only one cage available for the four of us with three clean beds. It turns out that the chef was staying in this room and they had asked him to switch rooms for the night to fit the four of us in there. Again, not sure why this wasn't planned in advance. The chef was asked to switch rooms, but all of his belongings stayed. We had to go back downstairs and ask for one of the beds to be cleaned and the four of us had to share one cage. Not wanting to sit in the filth of the room, we left for the day.

Our two friends joined us on Saturday under a new reservation. Apparently it was too complicated for the hostel to check if at least three of us will stay in the same room, so we were forced to check out, pay for a locker to keep our belongings, and come back at 2 pm to check in. Ridiculous. When we arrived we found that indeed, 3 of us are staying in the same room and the other 3 will be in another room. The manager apologized for this mess up but did not offer any type of compensation for us having to pay more to ensure our beds are together and the major inconvenience. After having to ask, she offered free breakfast for the next two mornings.

Needless to say, I will not be staying at any location of St. Christopher's and will certainly never recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mahdis26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Camden
York & Albany Hotel
York & Albany Hotel
#668 of 1,076 in London
308 reviews
Camden Lock Hotel
#435 of 1,076 in London
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
PubLove at the Exmouth Arms
City of London
St Christopher's Liverpool Street
Home London
#497 of 908 in London
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Inn Camden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Inn Camden

Address: 48-50 Camden High Street, London NW1 0LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £16 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Inn Camden 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Christopher's Hostel in Camden serves up a taste of North London like no other. Surrounded by rockers, city hipsters, young professionals and artists alike, everyone's welcome in this neighbourhood. You'll find the best hostel in London between the Camden Town and Mornington Crescent stations on the London Underground, mere minutes away from of all the must see tourist attractions in the area. This youth hostel is super easy to get to from anywhere in London, it's close to the famous Camden Locks and markets, and when you've had enough of the big city, you can make yourself at home in our relaxed chill out room, fully equipped with TVs, Internet access, couches and cushions. Camden has always been a haven for artistic types and in addition to the fantastic Belushi's bar attached to the hostel, there are plenty of pubs, clubs and bars in the area with the best live music in the city to keep you entertained - including the legendary KOKO! From this backpacker base you also have access to the many local markets selling everything you could possibly imagine and the Camden Locks, where you can stop for a drink, people watch, and see the barges pass by. You can also walk from the hostel in Camden to the London Zoo in Regent's Park and to Primrose Hill, which offers the best cityscape view over London, anywhere in the city! With one of the original Doc Martin shops nearby and exciting events at the MTV London studios just around the corner, there's so mush to see and do around this North London hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your St Christopher's Inn Camden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher`s, Camden Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing