We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A legendary Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Christopher's Inn Camden
Ranked #128 of 946 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have heard/read about St Christopher´s for many a year and was delighted to get a bed. So, what is it? A series of dormitory rooms above Belushi's a large music pub on the legendary Camden High Street. In fact, it is smack in the middle of Camden High Street. 100 meters from Mornington Crescent tube and a little more from Camden Town tube. You can walk to Euston in 10 mins and KingsX/St. Pancras in 15. Busy, busy area 24/7 and not a "get away from it all" inn on a village green! But for most travellers the location is as good as it gets (although I am not sure I'd want to be here with a car!)

Security inside the hostel seems good (efficient keycards, heavy duty left-luggage lockers and quality cage/lockers under each bed), dormitories were a little on the small size and top bunk was quite close to ceiling but all in all great value.

Downstairs there is (quality) live music and food available in the bar. There is a free (yes!) continental breakfast every day and looooong happy hours!

The hostel guests and pub-goers were an interesting eclectic mix. This is not a place for hermits or misanthropists.

I enjoyed it ....... hope you will

(Incidentally, it is part of a group with half a dozen hostels in London including an all-women hostel south of the river - somewhere for everybody)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank thisisspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Only stayed one short night, live in South London but we were doing the Camden Pub Crawl (great btw!! See my other review), the discounts the hostel offers for Belushi's downstairs are really good, and the food they offer is of good quality and value too. I was visiting with two other friends, so we had different reservations, but because I called earlier that week we got a room together and the girl at reception knew immediately who I was. Will definitely stay here again if I'm planning a big night out in Camden..

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosannevH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Clean, good nights sleep in a 12 bed mixed dorm. My room was full of travellers who were early to sleep early to rise and was nice talking to them as i was on my own after a gig at the Roundhouse.
Easy check in, key card was a bit dodgy but worked just about. Breakfast was good the next day. I also got given vouchers to use in the restaurant/pub below which was nice!

Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJBURT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Really enjoyed my stay here. I stayed in a six be dorm and it was a very spacious room with an en-suite shower. It was airy and the beds had cages underneath in which you could lock your belongings (you need to bring a padlock, or they sell them cheaply on reception). All staff were very friendly and the hostel felt very secure. Location is great - 2 mins from Mornington Cresent tube station and close to plenty of Boris Bike places too. I will definitely stay here again when I'm in town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Petejobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Only stayed one night but the staff were friendly and it was comfortable. Good value for money, not too far from a station and a nice area to wander. Breakfast is simple but provided. There is a cage per bed in each room which fits a large backpack and can be locked. The room was also spacious enough for the 4 bunk beds (8 people in total). There were basins in the room and the shower (though small and scalding hot!) had good pressure. Toilets are located outside the rooms. There is no lift so will need to carry luggage up many stairs. Cheap lockers available for luggage storage. There is also a chill out room downstairs with a tv, couch and chairs. I'd be happy to stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Chiquita_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Good location very central to all cafés, bars and tube station. Rooms are standard enough and clean . shower was leaking but powerful. Food was average but was cheap enough. Staff were poor enough, maybe new as they didn't seem to know a lot. Overall not too bad

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank william q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Southwark
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
PubLove at the Exmouth Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Home London
#521 of 946 in London
287 reviews
City of London
St Christopher's Liverpool Street
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's Inn Camden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Inn Camden

Address: 48-50 Camden High Street, London NW1 0LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 946 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £17 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Inn Camden 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Christopher's Hostel in Camden serves up a taste of North London like no other. Surrounded by rockers, city hipsters, young professionals and artists alike, everyone's welcome in this neighbourhood. You'll find the best hostel in London between the Camden Town and Mornington Crescent stations on the London Underground, mere minutes away from of all the must see tourist attractions in the area. This youth hostel is super easy to get to from anywhere in London, it's close to the famous Camden Locks and markets, and when you've had enough of the big city, you can make yourself at home in our relaxed chill out room, fully equipped with TVs, Internet access, couches and cushions. Camden has always been a haven for artistic types and in addition to the fantastic Belushi's bar attached to the hostel, there are plenty of pubs, clubs and bars in the area with the best live music in the city to keep you entertained - including the legendary KOKO! From this backpacker base you also have access to the many local markets selling everything you could possibly imagine and the Camden Locks, where you can stop for a drink, people watch, and see the barges pass by. You can also walk from the hostel in Camden to the London Zoo in Regent's Park and to Primrose Hill, which offers the best cityscape view over London, anywhere in the city! With one of the original Doc Martin shops nearby and exciting events at the MTV London studios just around the corner, there's so mush to see and do around this North London hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your St Christopher's Inn Camden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher`s, Camden Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing