We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Freezing cold, wouldn't recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Nayland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nayland Hotel
Ranked #355 of 575 London B&B and Inns
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Freezing cold, wouldn't recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

A friend and I stayed here in February and it was freezing cold all week, you could put your hand on the radiator when it was on max!!! It got so cold we got given a extra portable radiator but this still wasn't much help by the time it heated up it was to late we was asleep, extra blanket didn't do much either, the heating then stopped working completely but no one informed us, this then meant it was freezing cold in the bathroom which made showering unpleasant. The toilet made constant noise all night too keeping us awake. Wifi wasn't free and it wasn't cheap either!! Breakfast was awkward with the manager standing around watching you eat making you feel uncomfortable, with orange juice being squash. Other than that breakfast was enjoyable with it being continental having toast and cereal to fill you up for the morning. On the plus the beds where comfortable with bedding being clean, our room was tidied every day and we was given fresh towels. There was a tv in the room with plenty of Chanel's to keep us entertained on the all it was liveable but just VERY cold.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Illingsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    144
    172
    61
    66
See reviews for
98
164
34
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The only good things about the hotel are its price & location. Otherwise not to be recommended - hotel staff members were not friendly, the rooms are not well cleaned during the day, breakfast is very modest, rooms are small, walls are VERY thin, etc.
All in all does not inspire a "holiday" feeling.

Room Tip: do not get a room outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephiebephie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

If you are looking to have a room to sleep in and refresh yourself during your non-stop, action-packed London city trip, this is the place to be.
We planned a weekend getaway filled with activities during our visit to London and selected this hotel for its location, affordability and might I also add, parking.
What a wonderful trip it was, since we were very close to Paddington station, where buses and the underground was just 5 minutes walk away, and this allowed us the possibility of reaching Oxford Street, Picadilly Circus, Hyde Park, V&A, Natural History Museum and many other attractions were about 20 minutes away! You will also be pleasantly surprised with the amenities that are available in the vicinity.
Pluses: Clean toilet, clean sheets, clean air, basic breakfast (non vegetarian though).
Minuses: If you are on the top floor, hot water will be a small issue. No wifi so you won't be very well connected unless you're willing to pay.

Room Tip: Get a room on a lower floor, if you need parking make sure you pre-book the space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed here for a one night with work, it was handy for the tube station. The rooms were clean but really small. the bathroom was more like an adapted cupboard but on the whole it was fine for one night. They did have some trouble finding an iron for me but i got one eventually. Breakfast was the usual continental but it was fine. All in all small but cheap an pretty good location.

Room Tip: Good for a night out in london.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel. We were 4 adults travelling and we had booked 2 rooms. Check in was very speedy, however when we entered our room we discovered that the toilet would not flush, I did wonder how they managed to sanitise it and place a label across it, if it wouldn’t even flush. I telephoned to report it and the manager came straight to the room to check and stated that someone must have gained access to the room and used the loo. He apologised and moved us to another room immediately and offered us a complimentary tea or coffee!! First impressions were fine, but that night I discovered a rather large stain on the pillow case, I didn’t bother to report it, but swapped it with another pillow from the wardrobe. The beds were comfortable enough. However, I was not too happy with 6:50 am wake-up call, we had both mornings with what I can only describe as central heating/piping, which sounded as if it was coming from outside the room. It only lasted for approximately a minute, only for it to happen again about 45 minutes later.
Following the first morning of our stay, our friends had to complain to the hotel about how cold the room was, even the extra blanket supplied in the wardrobe was not enough to compensate for the cold. This was a complete contrast to our room which was warm enough to sleep with only a sheet over us. The manager said that they would send someone up to check. On arrival at their room that night the room was warmer, but through the night the temperature dropped again.
In addition the shower cubicle in their bathroom did not have a curtain or door attached, which meant the bathroom was flooded after each shower, they had to use their towels to mop the water up. Surely the management would have noticed this.
There were no tea/coffee making facility in the rooms, which I find is unusual for a British hotel. Breakfast was included, but we didn't bother with this, as it was only continental style.
I would expect more for £79 and £90 per night (Fri & Sat).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malnads1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

The room was awfully small. We had to climb onto the bed to get into the bathroom. We got back in the evening at 11.30pm and the radiator was making a horrific noise. We called reception and a bloke came up and started shaking it aggressively which obviously didn't work. Then they turned off the heating so that the room was FREEZING. Then the radiator started making noise again at 3am and woke us up. It then woke us up at 7am. Awful bed, so uncomfortable. Good location though & free parking. 5 min walk to padding ton station.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exetergirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We booked this at the last minute and were thrilled with the price and the location. This is an excellent value for a quick visit to London. I agree with other reviewers that the food was middle of the road...but for my daughter and I it was enough. We were able to fill up with toast cheese and cereal. At this price, I thought it was a great deal and our tummies were full as we began a day of sightseeing.
Overall this hotel provides an excellent value, clean, welcoming and well located. I would recommend this to all but the fanciest of travellers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Mitre House Hotel
Mitre House Hotel
#549 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.0 mi away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#675 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kingsway Park Hotel
Kingsway Park Hotel
#834 of 1,090 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Olympic House Hotel
Olympic House Hotel
#823 of 1,090 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#659 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Omega Hotel
The Omega Hotel
#649 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayland Hotel

Property: Nayland Hotel
Address: 132/134 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #355 of 575 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Nayland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nayland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nayland Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing