We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (656)
Filter reviews
656 results
Traveller rating
394
187
40
19
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
187
40
19
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roll top bath master suite sky tv nespresso machine northern line little touches lovely room mini bar home from home breakfast was amazing high street comfortable rooms a lovely stay wonderful hotel the ground floor cooked breakfast west end
Filter
Updating list...
610 - 615 of 656 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2007

WE stayed here for four nights in September, it was just fantastic and made our stay in London. The room and ensuite were vvery good the bed comfortable and the towels and toiletries changed every day. There is both bar and restaurant food also very good and breakfast either continental or full english is included. The staff were all excellent,cheerful and nothing was to much trouble. It is only five minutes walk from two tube stations and the same from several restaurants and supermarkets. They gave us a late checkout and we could also have left our bags longer.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AucklandSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2007

This place was as expected for a 3 star 'Youngs' establishment so no shocks there. We had just got married so we arrived in the early hours and just needed the room for a night as our relatives were in our house. We overslept and arrived at breakfast at 5 past 10 and were told the kitchen was now closed for breakfast.

Fair enough, we were 5 minutes late after all, but there was absolutely no allowances made for the married couple. We tried to reason and the only response from the waitress was a flash of her wedding band in a 'So What' manner. Right on cue 2 cooked breakfasts wafted past that had obviously been done at 5 to ten. The excuse being was that they were now getting ready for Lunch (do me a favour - it was five past Ten).

Anyway as shocked as I was that they couldn't go the extra distance for the married couple we went to pack and return the mile and a half home. Only to find we couldn't wash because the could tap in room 304 doesn't work and on the way out to put a cherry on top there were 2 chefs enjoying a ciggy break in the waste area. (Clearly rushed off their feet).

If you want a classic 'Youngs' approach to hospitality, heres where to find it - Woeful for £100 for 8 hours sleep in a cigarette smelling room with no cold tap in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank travellingalec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2007

What a weekend!!! We were victims of the fire that disrupted the Eurostar service on March 16 and the hotel (guesthouse) that we had booked was evacuated. So, we were homeless and didn't know the zone at all. Someone recommended us to check out the Windmill Pub on Common.

Wow, what a place, I loved the concept...it is a Pub + Restaurant + Hotel and they don't get mixed at all. You have people drinking and listening to semi loud music at the pub but still the people at the restaurant are having a nice meal and you at the hotel can relax without listening to a thing! Nice! True, the price is a bit high (100 pounds) but they have specials and you can get two nights for 160 pounds, not bad at London. Our old place wanted 65 pounds and that was without a private bathroom!

The rooms are pretty well decorated though you can tell they are getting old. TV works fine, you get the normal channels, automatic heater/AC and obviously coffee/tea in the room. The bathroom was the part we liked the most.. The tub was huge, I am 5'7 and could almost submerge my whole body. Toiletries were provided. The bed was fine, I particularly liked it compared to other hotels. The only kind of annoyance was that the wooden boards creaked when you walked on them.

Breakfast was included in the price and is not your regular corn flakes/muffins breakfast. They will cook eggs, sausage and other traditional English items for breakfast. We would have stayed another night but they were fully booked. Still, Caroline at the front desk was kind enough to phone at least 15 hotels to find us a room for that night. I would recommend this place to anyone who can afford it. It is close to Clapham Junction which takes you into Central London. Clapham is south of London.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ShakesDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2006

overpriced for overheated rooms with Eastern European service, but still the best hotel in Clapham you can get.

  • Stayed: May 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Climber7658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenEvans-GM, General Manager at Windmill Clapham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews