We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest value and comfort”
Review of Windmill Clapham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windmill Clapham
Ranked #112 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We have stayed here twice, as it is very handy for visiting family in Clapham. Each time, we took a superior double room.
The 1st room was I renovated and definitely tired, but comfortable. The 2nd room had been renovated, and looked much fresher, but for us it was neither as comfortable or as practical. For example, the chairs were not comfortable and there was no drawer space for clothes. It's a nuisance living out of suitcases for a week!
However, the rooms were clean and (despite the very active bar scene downstairs) quiet.
There's no lift, so take light luggage if you can't secure a ground floor room.
The staff were very helpful (including with luggage).
The included breakfast was ample and adequate. We didn't try the evening meal choices, but there are so many good places to eat nearby that you are spoiled for choice.
Location is very handy, with buses virtually at the front door, and a tube station 10 minutes away in either direction. A really good feature is the expanse of Clapham Common just outside. Great for walking, running etc, although not so great when some overamplified event is conducted there from 8 am on a Saturday morning.
One complaint is the absurd heat level in the corridors, which seeps into the rooms and makes them very hot. There is room air conditioning, but its not quiet (at least, in our room). You can open the windows, but again probably would want to. Close them at night for quietness.
It's good honest value accommodation, without too many frills but with a decent level of comfort. They must be doing something right, because it is regularly booked out.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank troypolyboutsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_MrsEdmond, Front Office Manager at Windmill Clapham, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thanks for taking the time to right as much detail as you have, we are having a full hotel refurbishment starting in October this year, we are adding 12 more rooms and your comments are vital to pass to the designers of the rooms, we have already requested wardrobes with chest drawers, the air-conditioning is being replaced in the whole venue, but we do aim to please and we want your stay to be comfortable. Again thankyou for taking the time to write and we apologise for any inconveniance. We hope you come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

We have stayed at the Windmill twice. Once when our son got married in Clapham and the other time for our grandson's christening. Both times we stayed in a superior double room. The first stay our room was excellent, spacious and well furnished with a reasonable sized bathroom. The second stay the room was not as nice, furnishings a bit tatty and a very small bathroom. This room had double doors which opened onto the garden which, sadly was unkept and no area to sit out.

Service at the hotel was good and the breakfast was fine. Included in the price of the room were morning papers, mineral water and the usual tea, coffee and biscuits.

At £159 a night this was not exceptional value for money but there is a scarcity of hotels in the area and it is in a very convenient spot. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 789JulieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_MrsEdmond, Front Office Manager at Windmill Clapham, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thanks for comments they are well received. We know the price can sometimes creep up there, the best option is to book in advance our room price is governed by our occupancy. We have a full hotel refurbishment planned in stages starting in October.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Our daughter has recently moved to Clapham and my wife and myself went to visit, staying in this hotel on Sun 7th July.On arrival, our first impression of the reception was that it was so dark and not welcomming.This was just the decor, the man on reception was very polite and cheerful and we had a quick check-in. We were very pleased with our room which was spacious and very clean and had patio doors to open to let some air in on what was a very hot day.The bathroom was big with plenty of towels and containers of shower gel etc.
The bar was full the whole day with music playing and a bbq on the go and as it was the tennis final, the atmosphere was fantastic.The range of drinks was very good and reasonibly priced.The hotel is close to 2 tube stations and right beside the common and only a 10 min walk to the high street where there are numerous bars and restaurants.The only fault we found was at breakfast.We went down to the room for breakfast at 9.25 as it is served until 10am. We were met by a female who asked our room number and then walked away, not showing us to a table. Some of the tables remained uncleared and no-one explained what way breakfast worked.On going up to the table, there was little left and nobody asked if we wanted tea or coffee.I found a breakfast menu myself and it was at least 15 mins before anyone came near us.The food itself when it finally arrived was very nice so no complaints there.We were still finishing our coffee at 10.20 when the staff member came over and asked us to leave the room as it needed to be set up for lunch.Considering breakfast is served until 10am, we found this very annoying at being asked to leave(how long does it take to set up for lunch).Despite this, we liked the hotel and would deff stay again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scooter683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Lovely large clean room. Wonderful bath/shower combo with great amenities. Free cookies, water, coffee and tea in the room. Free wi-fi. Excellent breakfasts. Delightful walks on the commons and to the nearby underground stations. A dresser in the room would have been helpful. Not a luxury hotel but a comfortable well-maintained facility.

Room Tip: Room 210 was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickiesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We used this hotel/restaurant when we went Wimbledon on Monday. We stayed 2 nights, and it was buzzing on the Sunday in the restaurant, but quiet in the hotel, thankfully. We had all we needed, and the breakfasts were great!
Would go again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila_atty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Very well situated in front of a park: therefore quiet and cosy. No luxury but you get everything you need at the right price. We loved the terrace and the atmosphere. Staff is very friendly and the beefburger in the restaurant is worth a recommandation.

Room Tip: Room facing the hotel parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lopachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I stayed here a couple of weeks ago as a treat to myself before competing in the Race for Life on the common the next day. Sadly I was bitterly disappointed. I had heard (and read) great things, maybe I just chose a bad weekend - granted there was a wedding on the night we stayed, but we did not have a good stay. Upon arrival the staff member on the desk was not very friendly. The room was down a dingey corridor and left a lot to be desired. It was dark, the bed was rock solid and the bathroom needed a refurb 20 years ago. It really was a disappointment, especially for the price I paid and the good things I had heard, I thought I was really in for a treat. The bar/dining staff were useless and made us feel very unwelcome at dinner. Maybe everyone was preoccupied with the wedding, but if that was the case then the other rooms should not have been occupied or at least for a more reasonable price. For the common the location is great, but I wish I had paid half the price for the Travel lodge down the road, I am sure it would have been higher quality with better service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_MrsEdmond, Front Office Manager at Windmill Clapham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are dissapointed we did not meet your expectations and take your comments seriously. We are about to go through a major refurbishment, re-doing all of our rooms and corridors and bringing them all to the same level. I apologise but make no excuse for the staff - this is clearly unacceptable and this will be addressed, we generally pride ourselves on our service and are mystery shopped every 6 weeks to monitor and measure ourselves. We hope you did well in the race and encourage you to try us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Hide London
#61 of 1,081 in London
976 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Premier Inn London Clapham Hotel
The Half Moon
#136 of 1,081 in London
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St Paul's Hotel
#78 of 1,081 in London
544 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#46 of 1,081 in London
296 reviews
The Fox & Goose Hotel
#207 of 1,081 in London
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Clapham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Clapham

Address: Clapham Common South Side | Clapham, London SW4 9DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Romantic Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £96 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windmill Clapham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windmill is a beautiful 42 bedroom boutique hotel situated right on Clapham Common. All rooms have air-con, mini bar, safe, nespresso coffee machines, full Sky TV package (including movies & sports) hairdryer, iron & ironing board. We are also a historic pub with a lively bar, separate dining areas and a wonderful outside beer garden for those elusive sunny days ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windmill Clapham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill On The Common Hotel London
Windmill On The Common London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing