We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved it! Defiantly return again”
Review of Windmill Clapham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windmill Clapham
Ranked #95 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Absolutely loved it! Defiantly return again”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

As a young couple and it being our first trip to London we found it hard to find an affordable place to stay. When we came across this hotel we thought it was great value for money. On arrival the staff were so lovely, friendly and very welcoming. The rooms were perfect with the beds being extremely comfortable. We came back from the city each night and sat in the beautiful bar which we loved as it had a great atmosphere. Overall I could not say a bad word about this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    157
    35
    14
    12
See reviews for
109
229
25
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Ives, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This was our second time at the hotel and we will alway book here when we come to London.
The staff really make this hotel. They are so friendly and helpful. They even let us keep our car in the car park after check out for the day while we went into central London.
Our first stay we stayed with our 8 year old which they were more than friendly towards and the second time was just as a couple.
The freshly cooked breakfast was great and they have a good selection of baked goods and cereals too.

The downstairs bar is nicely decorated and becomes very busy at night. We havnt had any problems with noise.

Beds are very comfy but both times we stayed it became very hot at night. So bare this in mind when turning your heating on in the room.

Its a great location. Easy enough to get to via car if you are not a seasoned London driver and the tube station is in Zone 2 and just a 5 minute walk across the common.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed at the Windmill for 4 nights over the past weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location is great, only 5 minutes walk from Clapham Common tube on the Northern Line, and close to a high street of good shops and restaurants. Rooms are modern with adequate space to move around, they're well maintained and very clean. Quality toiletries are provided, there's an ample supply of large fluffy towels and the free wi-fi worked perfectly. Our room was on the ground floor close to the pub which made it a little noisy on Friday and Saturday evenings but it was fine Sunday and Monday nights - next time I think we'd ask for a room on one of the floors above, if we were there at the weekend. The big plus though is the staff - everyone from reception and chambermaids, to restaurant and bar staff were without exception pleasant, friendly and helpful...that's quite rare these days, in my opinion! Well done, Windmill!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are probably a little quieter late on weekend nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJC58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in October 2013. The hotel is attached to a large pub on the edge of Clapham Common. The pub serves food and has entertainment but you could not hear this from the room we were in. It is no more than 5 minutes walk to Clapham South and Clapham Common tube stations which give direct access to central London. The bedroom was very comfortable with a large bed, huge fluffy towels, a brilliant shower, and pleasant decor. Breakfast was very good, the hot food freshly cooked (not left keeping warm as in many big London hotels) and there is a vegetarian option and a continental breakfast as well. The staff were chatty and young and the organisation impeccable.

I would recommend this hotel as an alternative to the big hotel chains like Premier Inn, Hilton and Radisson as it offers the personal touch but is cheaper than most of the big chain hotels and is very handily placed.

Room Tip: Some rooms are family rooms but are let out to couples if not occupied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseyman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is a good little hotel in a nice location, close to London but much cheaper.
The park is lovely and the 10 minute walk to Clapham provides lots of nice little eating and drinking options. Our welcome at reception was wonderful; a very friendly and helpful staff member every time we met her. The room is a little tired and something was wrong with the heating on the top floor; our room was boiling and a little stuffy. The tiny window provided no assistance. But the real disappointment was breakfast. A totally incompetent manager overseeing a grumpy (almost understandably), overworked staff member and the provision of a very ordinary breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Snaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_MrsEdmond, General Manager at Windmill Clapham, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback, as you know sometimes the only way we can improve is through guest feedback. We have investigated when you stayed and who was on shift and why you were led to a disappointing perception. It turns out there was a number of mitigating circumsatances that happened that morning none of which any customers should of been aware of, the usual hiccups of running a business such as a team member not showing up and being unable to replace them is our problem. I apologise that this affected your stay. The team members involved have been briefed and an action plan on what to do if the same thing hapopens again has been implemeted. Again i apologise on behalf of the team. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Very enjoyable stay whilst on business at Clapham Junction.

Friendly, welcoming and helpful staff, nice room with plenty of space and decent television and very comfortable bed.

The breakfast was not too bad neither, thank you very much

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenarmyian83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_MrsEdmond, Front Office Manager at Windmill Clapham, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you very much! See you agin soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

My other half and I stayed here for a weekend break. Receptionist was lovely but had a lack of understanding in the credit card pre authorisation process. This was made worse by a new receptionist on the check out day who tried to charge me again until I explained that they had already reserved funds out off my account and that should be taken or unreserved first! But I've just seen my bank statement and they took the amount and still have funds on reserve !!!! Not good!!!!!
On other notes, location was good staff seem friendly in the bar but not so friendly in the restaurant. The room was ok French doors did not open, the roof in the bathroom required some work due to flaking.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfromdowntheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_MrsEdmond, Front Office Manager at Windmill Clapham, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us. The credit card procedure we operate here is quite a standard operating procedure. When making a reservation on-line guests are required to secure the room with a credit card. It is not always the case that the guest booking the room with their credit card stays in the room, therefore upon check-in either the same credit card or another is asked for to pre-authorise your stay usually to the value of your room plus £25 per night to cover any additional costs.
When checking out the guests credit card that was pre-authorised will be charged with the original code to complete the payment, charging only what the guests have used. If the bill is less than the pre-authorisation amount, those funds are released back into your account, depending on your bank this could take up to 5 working days.
I hope this clarifies things and i apologise for the inconveniance this may have caused, please come agin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Hide London
#58 of 1,067 in London
939 reviews
Star Hotel B&B
#62 of 1,067 in London
392 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#44 of 1,067 in London
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#109 of 1,067 in London
3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Clapham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Clapham

Property: Windmill Clapham
Address: Clapham Common South Side | Clapham, London SW4 9DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Best Value Hotel in London
#122 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Business Hotel in London
#156 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windmill Clapham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windmill is a beautiful 42 bedroom boutique hotel situated right on Clapham Common. All rooms have air-con, mini bar, safe, nespresso coffee machines, full Sky TV package (including movies & sports) hairdryer, iron & ironing board. We are also a historic pub with a lively bar, separate dining areas and a wonderful outside beer garden for those elusive sunny days ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Windmill Clapham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill On The Common Hotel London
Windmill On The Common London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing