We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little pricey but pretty good”
Review of Windmill Clapham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windmill Clapham
Ranked #96 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A little pricey but pretty good”
Reviewed 11 August 2008

Stayed here last night and was favourably impressed. The reception and corridors looked a bit tired and I was fearing the worst but our room, a superior double, was well appointed and stylishly decorated. The bed was large and comfy and the bathroom, while fairly petite, was modern and spotless. Breakfast, which was included in our room rate, was fair if not outstanding. The price for the room was at the high end of reasonable but fair enough given the quality and location but beware of drinking in the bar which is actually just a pub, albeit rather a good one. £16 for a large and a small glass of fairly OK Pouilly Fume isn't unacceptable but £9 for a pint and a single g&t is verging on insulting.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    157
    35
    14
    13
See reviews for
110
231
25
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2008

If you are looking for clean, comfortable , spacious and reasonably priced accommodation in London, The Windmill has got to be on your list. The Windmill is a popular pub on Clapham Common, a wonderful big green space close to Central London. The tube station is 4 minutes walk away, and buses stop close by, or if you have a car, there is a special car park on site. The high street has many good eating places and pubs. Rooms are on 3 floors at the rear of the building, which means noise from the pub is not a problem. Rooms appear newly renovated (we stayed here on 2 occasions in different rooms) and are quite spacious with an armchair and writing desk . Like most hotel rooms in Europe, they are well heated, but if too hot, there is air-conditioning to override it.
Breakfast is generous and served in the large conservatory eating area inside the pub. The staff (who seemed to be nearly all Australian) were helpful and if you stay a weekend, you get a special reduced tariff. We loved this hotel!

  • Liked — spacious, clean, newly renovated
  • Disliked — overheated
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank barbrajayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2008

The Windmill is a long established pub which sits alongside just a few houses in the middle of Clapham common. The position is something of a feature which sits roughly midway between Clapham Common and Clapham South tube stations each of which are around 500m away. I’m guessing that around 15yrs ago, someone had the bright idea of building a three storey extension at the side which is where all the accommodation is located.

The rooms are clean, have good bathrooms, TV and tea and coffee etc, with all meals being taken in the pub itself. I only had one breakfast there which was more than adequate although the stale smell of the pub from the night before was noticeable.

My thoughts are that the whole set up is in my view little different to a Travel Inn or similar. From my perspective the only difference between the two is the fact that the prices here start at £110 for bed and breakfast and I believe that you can get the same for much less, or something significantly better for only a little more expenditure elsewhere.

No real complaints but I feel that this place is only in the region of the £60 - 80 per night bracket and is therefore presently overpriced.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The cost
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NorthamptonHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2007

WE stayed here for four nights in September, it was just fantastic and made our stay in London. The room and ensuite were vvery good the bed comfortable and the towels and toiletries changed every day. There is both bar and restaurant food also very good and breakfast either continental or full english is included. The staff were all excellent,cheerful and nothing was to much trouble. It is only five minutes walk from two tube stations and the same from several restaurants and supermarkets. They gave us a late checkout and we could also have left our bags longer.

  • Liked — room location staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AucklandSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2007

This place was as expected for a 3 star 'Youngs' establishment so no shocks there. We had just got married so we arrived in the early hours and just needed the room for a night as our relatives were in our house. We overslept and arrived at breakfast at 5 past 10 and were told the kitchen was now closed for breakfast.

Fair enough, we were 5 minutes late after all, but there was absolutely no allowances made for the married couple. We tried to reason and the only response from the waitress was a flash of her wedding band in a 'So What' manner. Right on cue 2 cooked breakfasts wafted past that had obviously been done at 5 to ten. The excuse being was that they were now getting ready for Lunch (do me a favour - it was five past Ten).

Anyway as shocked as I was that they couldn't go the extra distance for the married couple we went to pack and return the mile and a half home. Only to find we couldn't wash because the could tap in room 304 doesn't work and on the way out to put a cherry on top there were 2 chefs enjoying a ciggy break in the waste area. (Clearly rushed off their feet).

If you want a classic 'Youngs' approach to hospitality, heres where to find it - Woeful for £100 for 8 hours sleep in a cigarette smelling room with no cold tap in the bathroom.

  • Liked — convenience
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank travellingalec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, FR
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2007

What a weekend!!! We were victims of the fire that disrupted the Eurostar service on March 16 and the hotel (guesthouse) that we had booked was evacuated. So, we were homeless and didn't know the zone at all. Someone recommended us to check out the Windmill Pub on Common.

Wow, what a place, I loved the concept...it is a Pub + Restaurant + Hotel and they don't get mixed at all. You have people drinking and listening to semi loud music at the pub but still the people at the restaurant are having a nice meal and you at the hotel can relax without listening to a thing! Nice! True, the price is a bit high (100 pounds) but they have specials and you can get two nights for 160 pounds, not bad at London. Our old place wanted 65 pounds and that was without a private bathroom!

The rooms are pretty well decorated though you can tell they are getting old. TV works fine, you get the normal channels, automatic heater/AC and obviously coffee/tea in the room. The bathroom was the part we liked the most.. The tub was huge, I am 5'7 and could almost submerge my whole body. Toiletries were provided. The bed was fine, I particularly liked it compared to other hotels. The only kind of annoyance was that the wooden boards creaked when you walked on them.

Breakfast was included in the price and is not your regular corn flakes/muffins breakfast. They will cook eggs, sausage and other traditional English items for breakfast. We would have stayed another night but they were fully booked. Still, Caroline at the front desk was kind enough to phone at least 15 hotels to find us a room for that night. I would recommend this place to anyone who can afford it. It is close to Clapham Junction which takes you into Central London. Clapham is south of London.

  • Liked — The Concept and the staff
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ShakesDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 June 2006

overpriced for overheated rooms with Eastern European service, but still the best hotel in Clapham you can get.

  • Stayed May 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Hide London
#59 of 1,068 in London
951 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
The Gateway Hotel
The Gateway Hotel
#567 of 1,068 in London
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Star Hotel B&B
#89 of 1,068 in London
400 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#51 of 1,068 in London
229 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#101 of 1,068 in London
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Clapham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Clapham

Property: Windmill Clapham
Address: Clapham Common South Side | Clapham, London SW4 9DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Business Hotel in London
#156 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windmill Clapham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windmill is a beautiful 42 bedroom boutique hotel situated right on Clapham Common. All rooms have air-con, mini bar, safe, nespresso coffee machines, full Sky TV package (including movies & sports) hairdryer, iron & ironing board. We are also a historic pub with a lively bar, separate dining areas and a wonderful outside beer garden for those elusive sunny days ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windmill Clapham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill On The Common Hotel London
Windmill On The Common London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing