We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Windmill”
Review of Windmill Clapham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windmill Clapham
Ranked #108 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for one night at the hotel in May 2014. The entrance from the main road deceives as it's really the entrance to the pub which shares the same building as the hotel.
The rooms have been very tastefully updated and they are quite luxurious. The period charm of the hotel has not been lost with the upgrades and the rest of the hotel and bar all have very nice decorative features.
The hotel sits on the edge of lovely Clapham Common and is a mere 10 minutes walk from the nearest tube station. There is some space for parking if you're arriving by car.
The staff are all friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed a very nice breakfast with plenty of choice. We didn't have an evening meal here due to other commitments but would liked to have done. The menu looked quite inviting and hopefully w would sample this next time we stay.
We found the bar lively and characterful and felt quite inviting.
It really is a very nice building and a pleasant stay all round.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the park (Common) for a green view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holdontite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for work and was very pleasantly surprised with the rooms (beautifully decorated, with quality toiletries which always helps!). Not keen on the shower curtain though, lowers the tone a bit - is this really necessary? Breakfast was really delicious and staff were super friendly. The pub itself is also great with great beer. The main issue of my stay was the terrible wifi, which wasn't ideal as I was there to work. The engineer was due the next day which wasn't much good for me, but they did offer to let me use the hotel reception PC to access some important mail. They also offered a discount on the rate as a result. The building work was going on but didn't bother me too much- room tip is avoid room 2 (?) nearest the bar as it was a little noisy - fine for partying no so much for working! I hope they get all the little glitches worked out as this place deserves to do really well.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank beckahodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We have just come back from a stay at the windmill on clapham, and hand on heart can honestly say it was fantastic. The nature of our stay was difficult for us as we were there due to the loss of a very close loved one, however we found the staff amazing. Nothing was too much trouble, every member of staff was polite, more than helpful and made our stay bet comfortable. Even the management went out if there way for us and made us all very welcome.

The standard of the rooms is excellent and they are extremely comfortable. The stay was more than pleasant and helped me and my family through a very difficult time.

The location of the hotel is excellent and we found we spent quite a bit of time on the common which is right next door. Everything you need is within walking distance and the tube station is just down the road.

The food in the hotel is excellent as well every meal we had was beautiful and my daughter loved breakfast!!
I can't thank the management and staff enough and I hope to go back one day and have another stay.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The pub is a great venue for a nice weekend drink, but it's not great as a hotel. The noise was a bit too much for us, it smells of stale booze and the "hotel" bit also had a terrible damp smell. The room was nice and comfortable, but it certainly wasn't worth the price we paid.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

What could be better than a lovely old building with a great pub turned into an inn…marvelous wood…nice location…excellent daily rate with hot and cold breakfast included. While the building in whole was very charming (the bar and dining room areas in particular), the staff very friendly and the breakfasts excellent (Try the English breakfast, or the Eggs Benedict or Smoked Salmon on scrambled eggs), we did have some issues with the hotel. Also, this is Europe. So, unless you are staying in a large chain or modern hotel, expect the rooms to be small.

Firstly, when we made our reservations, we were not told that they were undergoing renovations. Maybe this is why the rate was so low. This turned the building into a bit of a maze as a result of detours and dodging of workmen (NOTE: All the workmen were extremely helpful in helping us find our way). After the first day, we could not get our toilet to flush properly. The two men’s toilets in the inn were not working for the duration of our whole 5 night stay, either. The carpet in our room was a grey colour and looked dated, if not in need of a thorough cleaning. Calls to the reception desk were answered only after a dozen or so rings. It’s too bad really. There’s so much potential. I’d like to give it another try.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed at The Windmill for 2 nights as was involved in the Moon Walk.on Clapham Common with a group of friends The rooms were beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. . The attention to detail in the rooms made the stay an enjoyable experience.
The staff were very welcoming and friendly, in particular Jasmine on reception who could not do enough for our party, extremely professional and helpful.
The food and service on both nights was again very good and the service of the restaurant staff very efficient, again particular thanks to Francesca and the restaurant manager.
Location wise for the Moon Walk perfect, 2 minutes walk across the common, absolutely ideal.
I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 1 and it was extremely comfortable for our 2 night stay and no stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I recently stayed at The Windmill and found it a very pleasant experience. The room was spacious and very clean and tastefully decorated, I assume it was one of the recently refurbished ones. The bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfast menu was extensive, I had some of the best eggs florentine I have ever tasted. There was building work going on but this was not allowed to spoil my stay and had been clearly flagged up on the website. This is a pub as well as a hotel and was very popular but this made for a good atmosphere rather than a nuisance. Iwould definitely stay here again and would recommend it to friends and others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Premier Inn London Clapham Hotel
The Hide London
#55 of 1,078 in London
970 reviews
The Half Moon
#162 of 1,078 in London
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#45 of 1,078 in London
281 reviews
The Fox & Goose Hotel
#217 of 1,078 in London
1,065 reviews
St Paul's Hotel
#77 of 1,078 in London
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Clapham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Clapham

Address: Clapham Common South Side | Clapham, London SW4 9DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £106 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windmill Clapham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windmill is a beautiful 42 bedroom boutique hotel situated right on Clapham Common. All rooms have air-con, mini bar, safe, nespresso coffee machines, full Sky TV package (including movies & sports) hairdryer, iron & ironing board. We are also a historic pub with a lively bar, separate dining areas and a wonderful outside beer garden for those elusive sunny days ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windmill Clapham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill On The Common Hotel London
Windmill On The Common London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing