We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem in South London”
Review of Windmill Clapham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windmill Clapham
Ranked #98 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Little Gem in South London”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I booked my (very fussy) parents in there for one night as it was convenient for me. I booked one of the feature rooms (Room 27). We were delighted with the room - beautifully decorated, extremely clean and had pretty much EVERY single amenity you could ask for. Nothing was missed! Breakfast was very good the following morning too. The staff were all very friendly. I'm so glad I've found this place, I will be booking everyone in who come and visits me now!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nurette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    157
    35
    14
    13
See reviews for
109
231
25
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed here on a business trip earlier on this month and I was very satisfied. Upon arrival reception staff were very polite and helpful, my room (Room 9) was very well furnished and very clean, didn't want to get out of bed in the morning (it was that comfy) but unfortunately I had to as I had an important meeting to attend. My evening meal was lovely and the bar/restaurant staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was also lovely, I choose the royal cooked breakfast that included fresh salmon with eggs benedict, just what I needed to kick start my day. Can't wait until my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights whilst on a course in Abbeyville Village. Asked for a quiet room and got one. Perfect in every way. Double aspect windows with fab view. Felt like I was staying in someone's home. Shabby chic room, comfy bed and crisp linens. Reception staff welcoming efficient and friendly. Food in glasshouse nice, service efficient but not so friendly. Young man on reception when I left on Sunday 8th June at 2pm who was helpful and a credit to Youngs. Would definitely stay again, in a 3rd floor room

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sallyanne199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We spent one night here whilst visiting our daughter who lives in Clapham. We were very impressed with the standard of the accommodation. There were 6 of us in 3 rooms. All the rooms were slightly differently decorated. They had recently been refurbished and were done to a very high standard.The rooms ere very clean, the beds were comfortable and the shower was powerful. There was fresh milk in the mini bar fridge for tea and coffee in the room, which was so much better than UHT milk in containers, and chilled water.
The breakfast was informal with a buffet and excellent choice of cooked food. Good atmosphere in the dining room. I can recommend The Windmill for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: We liked the upstairs rooms overlooking the common.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here for one night on business. Locations is amazing, great set up with common next door, tube station 5 mins walk (Clapham South), and the pub looks good on approach.

The hotel and building are on a shabby chic style, a tad modern twee, but amazing in detail, design and layout.

Check in at reception was ok, needs to maybe calm down the reminders of fining you for losing this (£200 for a room card), fining you if you do the other, that sort of thing.

There is still some building work taking place at the property, but this did not effect our stay in any way. The entire hotel side is amazing and well worth a visit.

The Breakfast was very relaxed, well set out and food was great.

We were told the bar was open until 1am, however getting served was a tad laborious, having to be told the bar is closed, then to go to reception to place a drinks order, where you cant see what they have at the bar!

The only real negative point was one member of the group being informed that an item had gone missing from the room, of which needed to be returned This was later found to be incorrect and left a slight bad taste with our group. Don't get me wrong, there are lots of nik naks, decorations and vintage style items, which make the rooms and settings what they are. So keeping track must be difficult, however having some facts and contacting the guest and not the travel company to raise incorrect problems may show the hotel to be slightly up tight, when you add this to the fines mentioned at check in.

Overall, go and try this hotel, great place, just a few tweaks and it will be perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheeksontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

very noisy wooden floors and even noisier Hen Parties managed to keep me awake all night. The room was very comfortable and the facilities in room very good also. the Hotel is let down by the noise I'm afraid. Ive never understood why when designing a hotel they opt for wooden or hard floors. We were right next to the reception and all I heard all night was people coming and going waking me up at regular intervals. I could even hear the night porter making his cup of tea. Other wise a really once appointed boutique hotel.

Room Tip: choose a room as far away from the reception area as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazyhorse3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for one night at the hotel in May 2014. The entrance from the main road deceives as it's really the entrance to the pub which shares the same building as the hotel.
The rooms have been very tastefully updated and they are quite luxurious. The period charm of the hotel has not been lost with the upgrades and the rest of the hotel and bar all have very nice decorative features.
The hotel sits on the edge of lovely Clapham Common and is a mere 10 minutes walk from the nearest tube station. There is some space for parking if you're arriving by car.
The staff are all friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed a very nice breakfast with plenty of choice. We didn't have an evening meal here due to other commitments but would liked to have done. The menu looked quite inviting and hopefully w would sample this next time we stay.
We found the bar lively and characterful and felt quite inviting.
It really is a very nice building and a pleasant stay all round.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the park (Common) for a green view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holdontite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Hide London
#59 of 1,068 in London
951 reviews
Star Hotel B&B
#91 of 1,068 in London
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
The Gateway Hotel
The Gateway Hotel
#566 of 1,068 in London
152 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#53 of 1,068 in London
220 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Clapham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Clapham

Property: Windmill Clapham
Address: Clapham Common South Side | Clapham, London SW4 9DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Best Value Hotel in London
#122 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Business Hotel in London
#156 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windmill Clapham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windmill is a beautiful 42 bedroom boutique hotel situated right on Clapham Common. All rooms have air-con, mini bar, safe, nespresso coffee machines, full Sky TV package (including movies & sports) hairdryer, iron & ironing board. We are also a historic pub with a lively bar, separate dining areas and a wonderful outside beer garden for those elusive sunny days ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windmill Clapham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill On The Common Hotel London
Windmill On The Common London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing